Customer Reviews for

The Harbinger: The Ancient Mystery That Holds the Secret of America's Future

Average Rating 4.5
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

86 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

A POWERFUL AND RIVETING JOURNEY INTO THE HEART OF GOD

The Harbinger was written for such a time as this-mesmerizing and fascinating from beginning to end. It's obvious that the author is the prophet in the book who has heard the warnings from the One and Only source-God Himself. It took me to a new level of faith in the ...
The Harbinger was written for such a time as this-mesmerizing and fascinating from beginning to end. It's obvious that the author is the prophet in the book who has heard the warnings from the One and Only source-God Himself. It took me to a new level of faith in the God of the Bible and the fact that He still speaks prophetically today because He is not only a God who judges, but a God who loves-a love so deep that He would go to such lengths to give so many warnings to a nation that has turned so far from Him. I would recommend this book to anyone searching for answers in the midst of the chaos, unrest and fear in America and the world. The answer is found in The Harbinger.

posted by 9769274 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

HARBINGER BASED ON QUESTIONABLE HERMENEUTICS......

I WILL LET THE EXPERT IN THE FIELD OF BIBLICAL HERMENEUTICS SPEAK FOR HIMSELF. LET'S BEGIN WITH PROFESSOR ROBERT H. STEIN AUTHOR OF "A BASIC GUIDE TO INTERPRETING THE BIBLE". IN CHAPTER 6 THE GAME OF PREDICTION-PROPHECY FROM PAGES 96-99 I QUOTE: "THE SENSUS PLENIOR OR F...
I WILL LET THE EXPERT IN THE FIELD OF BIBLICAL HERMENEUTICS SPEAK FOR HIMSELF. LET'S BEGIN WITH PROFESSOR ROBERT H. STEIN AUTHOR OF "A BASIC GUIDE TO INTERPRETING THE BIBLE". IN CHAPTER 6 THE GAME OF PREDICTION-PROPHECY FROM PAGES 96-99 I QUOTE: "THE SENSUS PLENIOR OR FULLER MEANING OF THE TEXT": "THERE ARE TIMES WHEN A PROPHETIC TEXT APPEARS TO HAVE A FULFILLMENT OTHER THAN WHAT THE PROPHET HIMSELF APPARENTLY EXPECTED. IS IT POSSIBLE THAT A PROPHECY MAY HAVE A DEEPER MEANING OR FULLER SENSE THAN THE PROPHET ENVISIONED(AS IN MR. CAHN'S INTERPRETATION OF ISAIAH 9:10)? ACCORDING TO THIS VIEW WHEREAS THE PROPHET WILLED TO CONVEY ONE TRUTH, GOD HAD A DIFFERENT TRUTH HE WILLED TO CONVEY BY THE SAME VOCBULARY AND GRAMMAR. IF WE ASSUME FOR THE SAKE OF ARGUMENT THAT THIS DOES IN FACT OCCUR, THIS FULLER MEANING OR SENSUS PLENIOR CAN NEVER BE KNOWN UNTIL AFTER THE FACT! THE WILLED MEANING OF THE PROPHET IS ACCESSIBLE TO THE READER BECAUSE OF THE CONTEXT THE AUTHOR HAS PROVIDED. WE KKNOW THE PROPHET'S VOCABULARY,STYLE, AND GRAMMAR, AND THIS LITERARY CONTEXT ENABLES US TO UNDERSTAND WHAT HE WILLED TO CONVEY BY THE PROPHECY. BUT WHAT ABOUT THE ALLEGED FULLER MEANING OF GOD? HOW CAN WE KNOW THIS? THE LITERARY CONTEXT DOES NOT HELP FOR WE HAVE NO ACCESS TO GOD'S VOCABULARY, STYLE, AND GRAMMAR BUT ONLY THE PROPHET'S. TWO OTHER DIFFICULTIES ARE CONNECTED WITH SUCH A VIEW. THE FIRST INVOLVES HOW WE CAN TODAY DISCOVER A FULLER, DIVINE MEANING IN A TEXT OF WHICH THE DIVINELY INSPIRED AUTHOR WAS IGNORANT. IT SEEMS ARROGANT TO SAY THE LEAST, TO ASSUME THAT OUR KNOWLEDGE IS SUFFIENTLY GREATER THAN THAT OF THE INSPIRED PROPHETS THAT WE CAN KNOW SOMETHING ABOUT THEIR WORDS OF WHICH THEY WERE TOTALLY UNAWARE. TWO ERRORS SEEM TO BE AT WORK HERE. THE ONE DEMEANS DIVINE INSPIRATION, THE OTHER ELEVATES HUMAN REASON TO THE EXTANT THAT THE LATTER IS GREATER THAN THE FORMER! THE OTHER DIFFICULTY WITH THIS VIEW IS THAT PROOF OF SUCH A FULLER MEANING COULD ONLY BE DEMONSTRATED BY EXAMPLES THAT ARE AFTER THE FACT, THAT IS THEY WOULD ONLY BE KNOWN AFTER THIS ALLEGED FULLER REVELATION HAS TAKEN PLACE(WHICH IS WHAT THE HARBINGER IS ALL BASED ON)! BEFORE THE FULFILLMENT OF THIS DEEPER MEANING, NO ONE UNDERSTOOD THE SENSUS PLENIOR. FROM A PRAGMATIC POINT OF VIEW, SINCE WE CAN ONLY PERCIEVE SUCH A DEEPER FULFILLMENT AFTER THE FACT, SEEKING SUCH DEEPER MEANING IS OF LITTLE VALUE. AT IT'S BEST IT IS PURELY SPECULATIVE AND A WASTE OF ENERGY. WE CAN NOT KNOW FOR CERTAINTY SUCH A FUTURE DEEPER MEANING. RATHER THAN APPEALING TO A FULLER SENSE DISTINCT AND DIFFERENT FROM THAT OF THE BIBLICAL AUTHOR/PROPHET, HOWEVER IT WOULD BE WISER TO SEE IF THE SUPPOSED SENSUS PLENIOR IS IN REALITY AN IMPLICATION OF THE AUTHOR'S CONSCIOUS MEANING. IN THE INTERPRETATION OF PROPHETIC LITERATURE WE MUST REMEMBER THAT MEANING IS DETERMINED BY THE AUTHOR/PROPHET. THE AUTHOR IN TURN SOUGHT TO SHARE THAT DIVINELY REVEALED MEANING BY MEANS OF THIS PARTICULAR LITERARY FORM. IN DOING SO HE SUBMITTED HIMSELF TO THE RULES GOVERNING THIS FORM OF LITERATURE WHICH WERE KNOWN TO HIM AND HIS READERS/HEARERS. IF WE WANT TO UNDERSTAND HIS WILLED MEANING WE MUST KNOW THOSE RULES AND INTERPRET HIS WORK WITHIN THE HISTORICAL AND LITERARY CONTEXT OF HIS DAY. IF WE TEAR HIS PROPHECY OUT OF THIS CONTEXT AND NEGLECT THOSE RULES, WE WILL NEVER UNDERSTAND THE MEANING OF SUCH LITERATURE.

posted by GAMALIEL on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Very important to read. I did not particularly enjoy the writing

    Very important to read. I did not particularly enjoy the writing style, but the message contained within the story is prophetic. How many times in the Old Testament did the Israelites suffer because they defied the Lord? In his book, Jonathan Cahn demonstrates: behind every mystery and Harbinger, a voice was calling, calling the nation back to God, and crying out, 'RETURN'." I was moved by the Holy Spirit when I visited St. Paul's Chapel at Ground Zero, but at the time, I had no idea that I was at the very sanctuary where our nation's first president, Senate, and House of Representatives gathered in 1789 to pray. The very first act of our government, after George Washinton's innauguration, as recorded in the Annals of Congress, as part of the first-ever joint session of congress with an acting president was: "to commit America's future to the holy protection and blessing of the Most High." Ground Zero is America's ground of consecration. On this ground is also hidden a national mystery, which the author of this book prophetically unravels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    A must read for all americans

    I read this book in one sitting. It was amazing. There were 96 reviews on my nook so i tead them first before the book. I was encouraged by 96% of the reviews and the 4% i just prayed for especially the one who used big words, capital letters and did nothing but leave a review that was just ignorant and dull. Americans need to wake up and pay attention. We need to research those we put into seats of power. Greed and corruption is rampant in our lawmakers. While i have no problem with different cultures coming here to live and have those rights of freedom we as americans were born with, i do get offended that their religion supercedes our own. Prayer is taken out of school. Christmas parades are now called holiday parades cuz the word christ offends some and the list goes on. Our country was fought for and established on one nation under god. I believe god has given us signs to get this country back to where its suppose to be. This is an election year and our country is in a critical state. " we the people" have a responsibility as a nation to raise our voices and be heard. We are a democracy and we need to fight for our religious freedom. We need to turn back to god and be obedient to his word. Something my dad use to say " that god destroyed sofom and gomorrah for one tenth of the sin that goes on today." I for one pray for forgiveness and guidance. We as a nation are in trouble and a change needs to come. One thing we can agree on all cultures have a god....peace and love are their laws. As a united nation its time to seek forgiveness, repent and especially pay attention. The message of this book is clear as are the warnings. I am so glad i read it. The ties between israel and 9/11 were eerie. I had no idea. In closing let me say this: nowhere in the bible does prophecy tie in with modern events like this one did. It was an awesome book with a vital message.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Take & read

    The hand writing is on the wall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This should be a must read for everyone but especially people who believe in a God that calls for repentance. I learned so many things about 9/11 and the aftermath. It really shows how America is under God's discipline and how we need to turn from the path we are currently on so that our land may be healed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This book is eerie, shocking and a must read! If all of it was f

    This book is eerie, shocking and a must read! If all of it was fictional, the theme will still impact any American. I looked up many of the connections and found them true. It is time for America to repent and return...please read this book, then pass it on for someone else to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    A Book Every American Should Read

    This is an amazing fictional book that is really all about facts. I spent many hours googling the facts in this book, and I have yet to find a discrepancy in what the author says. This is a wake-up call to America. The question is what Americans are going to do with this knowledge!!! It is not an easy read, but it is one worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Do not pass this one up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Every American needs to read this book abpnd really take it to heart.,

    Amazing book that opens eyes and changes hearts. The man who has written this is a modern day prophet and hopefully will save us from ourselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great book!

    This is an easy read yet VERY disturbing. It's sad to see our beloved U.S. following the paths of Israel in the Old Testament :-( Mr. Cahn compares O.T. Scriptures with what in fact has happened and is happening in the U.S. - the Scriptures are very literal and to the "letter"! Mr. Cahn has done an excellent job and has made this reader aware of what is going on in my beloved country!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    A Must Read!!!

    Pick this up and read immediately! The facts presented in this book will stun your mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book! Awesome mix of history in a story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Harbinger is a must read

    This novel was terrific! I was sad when i reached the end!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Causes one to think - could this be!!!

    Book is written as a narriative - not a lot of character development just the narration of what has happend and what could happen. Really gets one to thinking. Bought the DVD - really good too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for everyone

    Those giving The Harbinger a 1 or 2 star review are miserable shills and should be summarily dismissed.

    From the first few sentences, The Harbinger will gently draw you in to a journey of discovery. Once you start reading, you won't want to put it down.

    We may think we know the "reasons" certain things have happened and are happening in America but this book will explain "why" they have and are happening. Think of it this way, reasons are symptoms that we have identified but they do not reveal the purpose. The Harbinger clearly and indisputably reveals the purpose.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    This book blew me away. I highly recommend it.

    I have already recommended this book to many friends. It is one of those books you can't lay down. It was amazing!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Imperative read for all praying US citizens.

    This is an amazing compilation of facts which, when strung together, paint a message from God that we cannot ignore. It drove my family to intense prayer for our nation, our churches, & our family. We are telling everyone we know to please read this book. We have already heard feedback from the first to take our advice. His words were "very ominous". He is now broadcasting the need for people to read this also. You will see facts that have never been exposed in any news reports or documentaries about 9/11, as well as specific links to Biblical patterns & prophecies that are chilling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    WARNING

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ!

    TAKE HEED AMERICA ...... WE ARE BEING WARNED!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book needs to be read by every American. It is awesome and

    This book needs to be read by every American. It is awesome and answers so many questions. If everyone read this book, this country might still have a chance . I would like to go out and buy a copy for everone I know!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Amazing

    I am so happy that a family member of mine thought that I would like this book and suggested I read it! I believe it is factual and inspired by God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Time to wake up America. This book is a must read for everyone.

    Time to wake up America. This book is a must read for everyone. I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 16