BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Harris Men

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Outstanding

    I bought one RM Johnson book, and I've been hooked ever since. Every single one of his stories has great characterization, a smooth plot, and adult scenes without being vulgar and drawn out. I wish every fiction writer would master this craft! Anyway, this book is about three brothers, one an ex-con with a big heart and a hard head, one who would make a mule jealous because he is so stubborn about EVERYTHING including accepting his not-so-dead-beat-anymore Dad, and the third just can't make up his mind what he wants his future to be like--he wants a relationship, then he doesn't, he wants to have his kids around, then he doesn't want kids anymore. They're all trying to reach growing up goals but have a habit of being SUPER immature at times. Marcus reminds me a lot of me so it was funny watching him cause he was dead wrong most of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Pure Empathy

    While not only going into the hearts of so many adults who are not the cause of their continuous unhappiness this book provides confort and understanding to many broken hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Great Book!

    I bought this book based solely on the other reviews I've read online and an excerpt from the book. The book is EXCELLENT. I found it hard putting the book down and I really felt pulled in by the characters. RM Johnson does a great job of getting the reader emotionally involved with the plot and it's characters. I haven't read many books that even attempt to delve into this subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    This is A Winner!!!!!!!

    Once I started reading this book, I found it extremely hard to put it down. Whether walking down the street or riding (train, bus, or car), I was in this book. Mr. Johnson told a story in a manner in which one could definitely relate. With the streeses we as African-American men face with regard to family, it is not difficult to find oneself in the pages. I recommend this book to all African-American men, especially those who have experienced growing up in a home without a father present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Insightful!

    To say I enjoyed this book would be an understatement. I cannot relate to growing up without a father, but I can now understand the plight of those who do. This book shed light inside the soul of men. And although, I don't agree with men ever leaving their seed, I did find myself having sympathy twd the father. This is a great book about family, love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    This is a book for people who grow up without a father.

    I enjoyed this book on so many levels. I laughed, cried. I feel like this book was written for me. I am a black female, about to meet her father for the first time. This book has helped me to understand both points of view. I thank you RM for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Incredible Debut

    Harris gives such a realistic account of the men's actions you almost beleive the book was based on his own life. The characters were intriguing; each in his or her own way. The end was the best because the real world does not offer happy endings everyday. But the end result was not to for everyone to be happy but to have a sense of resolution. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    Excellent!!!!!!!

    This book deserves more then 5 stars. This was and excellent book. The author really made me emotional and uplifted after I read this book. I was very pleased with the writing. I can't wait to read his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    A Great Read !!!!!

    As a African American Male I found the book to be outstanding. Above all through this book one can find a sense of self understanding. Can't Wait till the Next Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2000

    Magnificent

    This author is going places. The book read very well. I enjoyed every moment, every chapter, and could not put this book down. I look forward to reading his next book, Father Found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    Please read this book

    This book was 'THE BOMB'. I had past this book several times in several book stores, for what reason. I don't know. I was sitting at a Braves baseball game reading the book in the stands. That's what I thought of the book. I am glad my brother purchaced it and made me read it. It made me realize their are unneccessary hurts in the world and it's sad. Thanks Mr. Johnson. My Husbands and Sons will be reading your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    Excellent Writing

    This is a must read for anyone who enjoys reading as much as I do. I felt really bad for Caleb, a child lost in this world like so many are. I will be reading Mr. Johnson's next novel and hope to be reading many more books by him in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Very realistic, a must read!

    For this to have been this authors first book, he picked a excellent, yet too familiar subject, that will catch all readers. (Very good job!) I thought the book was very well written and each characters identity was unique in its own way. Its too bad that that absentee fathers is so common in today's society. This is definately going to be on my list as a must read for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Fantastic!

    I have read a lot of fiction books by black authors both male and female but one of the complaints I've had for a while, being a man, is that they don't ever seem to write any books with all men as the 'lead' characters. With that said, I could NOT put this book down. I loved reading how the brothers interacted (and in some cases, DID NOT INTERACT) with each other. I loved seeing their father try to do something that was on his heart and mind to do and that is to attempt to reconcile with the three sons he abandoned 20 years earlier. A fantastic book that men will be able to relate to and it is also a great book for women to read as well. Go out and buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    a must read for all who feel a since of lost for their absent dads

    This book really hit home!!! Having not had a father in my life, it was easy to understand how children can emulate their parents even if they don't want to. A must read for anyone who've lost their dad or did not have their father in their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1