Customer Reviews for

The Harvest

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    VERY well done

    Set in the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina. Dr. Tamara Leon teaches down at Westridge. She has always had the 'gift' of being clairvoyant. She called the darker feelings 'the Gloomies'. She lived in the little town of Windshake with her husband and two small children. Her marriage is a bit rocky, since her husband HATES hearing anything about the Gloomies. He did not believe in the mess at all. Yet the Gloomies were getting stronger lately. In fact, ever since the weird object fell from the heavens and landed somewhere in the mountains. Things and people began to change. Whatever landed in those mountains was growing and assaulting Tamara's mind in a psychic invasion. ................ Chester Mull KNEW something was going on! His dog has been turned inside-out, literally! People he used to call 'friends' have drastically changed too. Their eyes glowed an eerie green and their skin seemed to be melting. ............... The zombies sought out other living beings to 'convert'. Their master, Shu-Shaaa, was hungry and must be fed. It was assimilating itself into the biosystem of the planet, slowing learning and eating everything. As it fed, it searched for the meaning of one set of syllables that seemed to nag at its core. The syllables called 'Taa-maaa-raaa.' ................ ***** Stephen King and Dean Koontz fans need to sit up and take notice of this talented author. Scott Nicholson has created a new terror that will keep you up late into the night! (Don't say I did not warn you.) Nicholson seems to be destined for fame. Highly recommended reading! *****

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    If you like good suspense...

    then I would read this book next. I like being exposed to people and places I've never seen before, and I left my easy chair and was transported to the Appalachians. Great characters, fast moving story, great settings, and skin-crawling creepiness. If you like King, Koontz, Saul, Laymon, any of those authors, I recommend Scott Nicholson highly. Hope he becomes a household name.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Another GREAT Nicholson Creep-Fest!

    Once again, Scott Nicholson does not fail to delight! I couldn't put this book down.

    Again, we find unimaginable horror in the Appalachian Mountains. (Where most of his stories take place).

    Telepathy, an other-worldly evil malevolence that meticulously infects one human after another , infidelity, moon shiners , a greedy real estate developer, but most importantly, non-stop gore, just the way that I like it!

    Mr. Nicholson has an amazing command of the English language and is one of the most descriptive writers out there today. He reminds me a bit of Peter Straub, who I also adore.

    I HIGHLY recommend this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    more Appalachian thrills

    Scott Nicholson shows the Southern Appalachians in all their glory, the good and the bad and even some of the ugly. This is a fast-moving story with an old B-movie flavor and plenty of quirky characters. I'm looking forward to everything he writes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy, eerie, fantastic!

    Ok – you know the story don’t you. Alien crash lands in Appalachia, starts converting humans into shambling death units, pollutes the landscape and starts messing with people’s minds using telepathy? Or that only a doubting Psychology Lecturer, a Yankee turned unwilling local and a moonshine drinkin’ real local are all that stand in the way of certain doom?

    This story roughly follows the plot above – but it’s eerie, twisted beauty lies in the way the tale comes together. From the beautiful and harsh mountain fastness of the setting, to the various intertwinings of the community, as we see a range of characters; some with fingers in the wrong pies, others with more than a little ambition, a few happy to exist off the grid and others just trying to fit in. As we delve into their inner workings and desires, the Alien creature slowly exerts control over the Town, and, as the climax approaches, you realise that the many separate strands of the townsfolk are the very weapon to conquer their impending dissolution and save themselves from a horrible, squelchy demise.

    As usual – Scott tells a disturbing tale with far too much realism for comfort: I get shivers just imagining what is up there in those mountains…

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2014

    The town of Windshake, located in the Appalachian Mountains, has

    The town of Windshake, located in the Appalachian Mountains, has a visitor. It is alien and very hungry! It will consume the people of Windshake one person at a time until it's army of dead people become plant like with glowing green eyes. Anyone who ingests the alien plant like creature - whether is through a kiss or a swig of homemade moonshine with polluted water, they will become one with the alien and one another moving towards the same purpose - consuming everything in its path.

    The alien begins to learn from the souls of the folks it has absorbed into it's army thus igniting the connection between a psychic psychology professor who is well aware of the gloomies (her psychic gift), a moonshine drinking old man and one businessman. They each have their own demons to deal with during their trek to destroy the "gloomies" who have materialized into this alien plant being.

    Not your typical zombie book, but one could easily identify it as such - instead of eating flesh, they consume the life thus spreading the infection or disease that converts the receiver into a green eyed zombie.

    Throw in a mayor who wants their festival to go well exposing thousands of vendors and visitors to the alien and it's army - you have a major event that could enable the infected and further world consumption easily.

    Scott Nicholson writes in a clear concise manner. His plot development as is his character development excel. You can visualize his characters and follow his thoughts from the beginning to the end. There are no "huh?" moments in his books. Everything connects. He makes the town real and the people just as real.

    Nicholson ranks right up there with Koontz, King, and Tufo

    Audiobook provided for review by the author.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book loved it 

    Excellent book loved it 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Pulp Fiction Would Be a Compliment

    Effective writing treats the reader with consideration and creates good feelings, too. The Harvest, by Scott Nicholson is the ideal example of how not to write a novel. This overly written, prosaic book is riddled with continuity errors, frustratingly bad dialog, pathetic clichés, and contains zero suspense. Ultraliberal clichés pop up around every corner from characters such as: the oppressed African-American, the evil capitalist, the fanatical Christian, and the feminist protagonist. Notwithstanding the notion that every southern, mountain dwelling person is a trailer park trash, Jerry Springer episode waiting to happen. To be candid, this prose is the prototype of cheese. It makes one ponder as to how it ever got published. Then again, it¿s usually not a good sign when a book is no longer in print, despite that fact that it¿s only three years old. I¿ll save space by not dwelling too much on the synopsis, which has already been provided. The Harvest is your run-of-the-mill alien invasion story, with a ridiculous, southern twist. This book makes similar tales such as Invasion of the Body Snatchers and The Tommyknockers appear to be literary legends. I have a conviction that I¿ve always lived by, to always finish a novel through. I feel it¿s insulting to the author to grade a piece of work without getting ¿the whole story¿. The Harvest propelled me further than any novel before into breaking that sacred vow. Not to suggest that it¿s a tough read. We¿re not talking about Dickens or Melville here. The problem is it¿s riddled with basic grammar and usage errors. Organization and visual impact was apparently given the boot. The 350 plus pages could have easily been trimmed to the point of classifying this as a novella. Reading through this book was much like having to sit through a bad opening act where you don¿t want to be rude and walk out. Even the character names are downright silly: Tamara, Don Oscar, Sylvester, Shu-Shaaa. I¿ve seen better character names derived from my high school creative writing class. And apparently Tamara, the protagonist, is subject to some sort of telepathic/psychic ability called the ¿Gloomies¿. It sounds like a name a six year old would come up with. Another annoying aspect about this novel is the character of Delwalt. The man constantly talks to himself is some sort of club meeting format, that¿s not only confusing but exasperatingly bad. If I can deliver one optimistic note, it would be that The Harvest is the first novel that I¿ve had the chance to read by Nicholson. I figure everyone is entitled to a ¿bad book¿ now and again. Even the great ones such as King, Koontz, Rice, etc. have had their share. That said, I will give one more of his books a try and see how everything pans out. However, I can not (in good conscience) recommend this novel to anyone. The only positive feeling I could conjure after reading The Harvest is that I¿m glad I checked it out, vice buying it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1