BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Haunted

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another great Bently Little book

Great book with a great story. Full of typical Little wackyness but with a well told and beautiful story. Little's work seems to have evolved wonderfully from pure chaos to well defined characters, plot, and true emotion. Great read recommened for fans and anyone intere...
Great book with a great story. Full of typical Little wackyness but with a well told and beautiful story. Little's work seems to have evolved wonderfully from pure chaos to well defined characters, plot, and true emotion. Great read recommened for fans and anyone interested in a little something different.

posted by 1530263 on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Generic Horror Story

Not very good, you can anticipate what's going to happen and the characters are very under developed, would pass on this one.

posted by 4173317 on October 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Another great Bently Little book

    Great book with a great story. Full of typical Little wackyness but with a well told and beautiful story. Little's work seems to have evolved wonderfully from pure chaos to well defined characters, plot, and true emotion. Great read recommened for fans and anyone interested in a little something different.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Good one!

    I thought it was one of the better Bentley Little books, less graphic gore and more story, but still frightning- great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    All the horror are great

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    This was a wonderful book.  It kept me on the edge of my seat th

    This was a wonderful book.  It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.  I enjoy a good ghost story
    and this book clearly had all of that and more.  It has a few scenes which I had to sort of rush through, but 
    overall, excellent read.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Generic Horror Story

    Not very good, you can anticipate what's going to happen and the characters are very under developed, would pass on this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Great book

    If you like scary books or movies get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Really good story. Finally a book with no grammar or spelling e

    Really good story. Finally a book with no grammar or spelling errors that I could tell.
    My only complaint is that he doesn't really need to put his political views in his horror books. If you want to put politics in a book then write a politcal book. A person just out to read a horror book should not have your political views rammed down our throats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bentley Little has a tried and true formula - take an ordinary s

    Bentley Little has a tried and true formula - take an ordinary situation, insert weirdness, creepy atmosphere, kinky sex and stir. In a lot of his books it works really, really well (The Store), others not so much. This is one of the better ones, I read it in 2 long late night sessions because I kept saying "just one more chapter". A haunted house obviously isn't as original as some of his premises, but he does a great job with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Nope

    Typical "twisted Bently" as I like to call him. However, I did not like the ending. A little disappointed. DM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Meh

    While The Haunted is not as bad as Little's two previous novels; The Disappearance and His Father's Son, it is not on par with the author's earlier works. When I began the book it seemed as though Little was back to his roots and was excited, but unfortunately the book fizzled out. A few bizarre out of place irrelevant political rants was the beginning of where the novel started to run astray. Sadly, the last three novels by the author have convinced me that Little's reign of terror is at an end.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Decent action, but not well explained. I have read many of Litt

    Decent action, but not well explained. I have read many of Little's books and this one is not his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Not one of his best, slow, boring.

    Not one of his best, slow, boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Loved this spooky book

    Dont read at night, i really enjoyed it n cant wait to read his other books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good book

    Good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book hard to put down from the first page on throug

    I found this book hard to put down from the first page on through the end. He's a great writer and I really look forward to any of his books coming up. I've been a long time follower/reader of his - and highly recommend him for suspense/horror!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Not one of his best

    I have read all of his novels and loved them. Not so much on this one. Too many directions taken to try and form a theory. It did not seem well thought out and the sexual situations did not even fit the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2