BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Haunted Fixer-Upper

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT!

Oh Rose you have done it again!!! A wonderful second book with the impetious Alabama and sweet Reed who just wants to be a bf to Alabama and had a quiet life till she came along!But as the story progressed you can tell she is going to keep him feeling young or kill him ...
Oh Rose you have done it again!!! A wonderful second book with the impetious Alabama and sweet Reed who just wants to be a bf to Alabama and had a quiet life till she came along!But as the story progressed you can tell she is going to keep him feeling young or kill him in the process ! Cant wait for the next book!Thank you Rose Pressey for the wonderful hours of entertainment!

posted by 10933642 on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good characters

As w/the first book, lots of errors. Is Lou Reed's Uncle or father? She calls Reed his son even though she says he's Reed's Uncle. Also Reed's cousin's husband worked for the murdered man, & then the cousin is the one working for him. Confusing, but best to just ignore ...
As w/the first book, lots of errors. Is Lou Reed's Uncle or father? She calls Reed his son even though she says he's Reed's Uncle. Also Reed's cousin's husband worked for the murdered man, & then the cousin is the one working for him. Confusing, but best to just ignore the errors & enjoy the book. I did.

posted by NJWH on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    EXCELLENT!

    Oh Rose you have done it again!!! A wonderful second book with the impetious Alabama and sweet Reed who just wants to be a bf to Alabama and had a quiet life till she came along!But as the story progressed you can tell she is going to keep him feeling young or kill him in the process ! Cant wait for the next book!Thank you Rose Pressey for the wonderful hours of entertainment!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Second installment in the Alabama Hargrove books. Loads of fun,

    Second installment in the Alabama Hargrove books. Loads of fun, interesting characters. Always a pleasure to read a Rose Pressey book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    Another fantastic story by Rose. I have enjoyed all of her books and this second book about Alabama was another fun and funny story. Highly recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Alabama Hargrove and her boyfriend Reed O'Hara are on their way

    Alabama Hargrove and her boyfriend Reed O'Hara are on their way to Kentucky to visit his family when their truck breaks down on an out-of-the way road. While hiking to his uncle's house, they take a short cut where Alabama sees and falls in love with the local haunted plantation. After some convincing, Reed and Alabama meet with the present owner Gordon and convince him to sell it to them, since he is having difficulty completing his own intended renovations. Weeks later, Gordon requests they meet with him to transfer some additional paperwork to them. However, when they arrive at his office, they find his dead body. Reed quickly becomes a murder suspect, which means Alabama has to switch into investigator mode to rescue her boyfriend. Can she find the murderer before it's too late? Oh, and did I forget to mention that their renovation was again being done to a haunted house! This is a fun series with just enough mystery and paranormal activity to keep your attention. The characters, including her mother and best friend, are quirky and memorable. I am looking forward to the next story in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alabama Hargrove and Reed O┬┐Hara have been dating for about six

    Alabama Hargrove and Reed O’Hara have been dating for about six months.  Reed invited Alabama to his family reunion in Georgia.  About five miles from the reunion Reed’s car breaks down leaving the couple to walk the rest of the way.  As they walked toward the reunion Reed and Alabama discover an old plantation house in desperate need of repairs.  Just when Alabama and Reed get their hooks into a new project they come across another murdered body.  Will the couple survive their haunted fixer-upper or will they die trying?
    Overall, I liked this novel.  I've read Rose Pressey’s Halloween LaVeau Series and her Larue Donavan series.  Out of the seven books I've read this one has the sloppiest editing.  There are instances where there is a bit redundant in Alabama’s thought pattern.   Which is fine, it doesn't take away from the story.  Alabama was also a bit obsessive over the purchase of the house in the first couple of chapters, but after the murder the story really picked up.   Again, I really liked this story.  It was a fast read with a good plot line.  I look forward to reading more of Rose Pressey books.  I just hope that How to Date a Werewolf, and No Shoes, Now Shirts, No Spells will be available on the nook so I can read both of those series too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    This was a cute book.

    I did enjoy this book, but there were a lot of holes and bad editing and proofreading in it. The story was cute, but some of the characters needed to be fleshed out a bit more, and not so stereotyped. Good beach read for the summer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Good characters

    As w/the first book, lots of errors. Is Lou Reed's Uncle or father? She calls Reed his son even though she says he's Reed's Uncle. Also Reed's cousin's husband worked for the murdered man, & then the cousin is the one working for him. Confusing, but best to just ignore the errors & enjoy the book. I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read

    I found Rose Pressey to be a new favorite author. Her books, I've read two, are a fun, clean read and very entertaining..I expect I will read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    good

    not a bad read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    highly recommend

    Very interesting story about ghost!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Another winner!

    I am so glad I found this author!! I read the novel preceding this one and look forward to future stories with Alabama and Reed. The characters are well written and the story line, while complex at times, is easy to follow. I didn't have to go back over any parts of the book for clarification. Good job, Rose!!!! I very much enjoyed reading these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Rose delivers

    Rose created a strong stoy line with suspense and who done it. I did figure it out prior to end. Abrupt end, but enough closure to make the read worth while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommenened

    This one of the best book ive ever read.From the beganing she pull u in.Rose alway has awesome book no matter what book u pick up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2