Customer Reviews for

The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Haunting of Alaizable Cray

From cover to cover, this story had fast paced action and mystery. I couldn¿t even put the book down during the first few pages. Chris Wooding does a great job at telling the story but also, at the same time mentioning the extras in detail. Just by reading a section of ...
From cover to cover, this story had fast paced action and mystery. I couldn¿t even put the book down during the first few pages. Chris Wooding does a great job at telling the story but also, at the same time mentioning the extras in detail. Just by reading a section of this book you have a picture of what Wooding was imagining. I strongly recommend this book for someone who is looking for a thrill. This is an exciting fantasy and horror story, but also includes plots of friendship. People who get frightened easily should not read this at night. The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray is a good read for people interested in fantasy, horror, and friendship.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Prety good, but needs a little extra...

I thought the book was pretty good. I wish the author had more of an introduction to the main characters though. It seems he smashed several stories into one book. I would like to know what happens to the characters.

posted by Anonymous on October 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    It Haunting Tale

    The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray is awe of a tale. It's setting is a Britian not as we know it.It is frighting, but pleasing, exciting with little gleams of the real meaning of this story. Read it, it's great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    A Read

    I really enjoyed this book it had action and suspense and a little bit of mystery. It was a nail-biter, and some times i got a chill. It was awesome. (maybe a little scary for some)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    super job

    this book is an exelent source of horor and thrills it will keep you on the edge till the very end mr. wooding did an outstanding job

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    The Haunting of Alaizable Cray

    From cover to cover, this story had fast paced action and mystery. I couldn¿t even put the book down during the first few pages. Chris Wooding does a great job at telling the story but also, at the same time mentioning the extras in detail. Just by reading a section of this book you have a picture of what Wooding was imagining. I strongly recommend this book for someone who is looking for a thrill. This is an exciting fantasy and horror story, but also includes plots of friendship. People who get frightened easily should not read this at night. The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray is a good read for people interested in fantasy, horror, and friendship.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    The most amazing book since Harry Potter

    This book was so ingeniously planned out and written that it should be preferred literature in schools. Probably for the older kids. It seems a little gruesome...but I like that in books it makes them more interesting. I'll have to say, this one was my favorite out of all Chris Wooding's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    awesome

    great story! I loved it, finished it in like 3 days! I havent been able to read any more of his, but I will soon. Recommend this book to anybody who likes dark ,mysterious yet at the same time romantic novels!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray - Amazing and very suspenseful

    The title of the book of course refers to a girl who is being haunted. This is the tale of Thaniel and how he tries to save the poor girl with some help while someone known as Stitch face is on the loose. Chris Wooding is a good writer and loved the suspense, I honestly couldn't wait to read what happens in the next chapter. Check out this book if you're looking for something supernatural.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Amazing

    I have only read a few chapters so far, but I have found myself unatlerabley engrossed in this riveting novel. I will always be drawn to the suspensful, origional and thrilling literature of Chris Wooding. I recomend this novel to anyone looking for a new classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    Super Read

    This book is one of the best that i've ever read in my life. I love the setting, the Old-Quarter London clouded with darkness and evil. It's Gothic and classic, and the plot is original. Wooding is a great writer, he creates images i can see in my head and vivid character emotions. I like Thaniel(he sounds cute, lol) and Cathaline, 'cause of how their wych-hunters and are skilled at tracking them down. Sounds like a job i would take. I totally reccomend this book to anyone who likes adventure with a some romance, though for people twelve and up becasue this book is kinda voilent. Either way, READ it and be amazed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Wow...

    I cannot believe how much I enjoyed this book. It was interesting, scary, and, of course, romantic. I highly reccomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    Best book ever!

    I read this book for a club at my library, and didn't think I'd like it that much. I was so mistaken. It turned out to be one of the best and most well written books I've ever read in my 16 years of living. It was amazing! Wooding creates a world that feels real. You actually feel for the charactors, good and bad.I was literally upset when the book ended, and the ending was open, but it left room for you to kind of fill in the gaps yourself. And while it did take a few chapters to really get into the book, I am SOOO glad I kept reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Wooonderful

    words can't describe how great this book was. I read it from the library, but loved it sooo much I had to go out and buy it. Wooding is a fantastic writer, I love his work! A definite 'must read'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Awesome

    I loved the way the story was written. The creatures,the mystery of the whole thing is incredible the read. I wish there were more books like this. The whole battle between good and evil was played out perfectly. If this was madee into a movie that would be awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    Fantastic!

    I believe the reason this book is so thrilling is simply due to the fact that it's...chilling. The plot is this: Thaniel is 17 years old, an orphan, and a wych hunter. What is a wych hunter you ask? Why, it is an occupation were one hunts wych kin, of course. Wych kin are monsters that plauge the streets of London, and gruesomly kill, or attempt to kill, or transform any one who gets in their way. Anyway, one day Thaniel is out hunting wych kin when he comes upon a young women who seems mad. He takes her to his house that he shares with Cathline, his mentor, and finds out that the girl's name is Alaizibel Cray. She seems like an ordinary British young lady, with manners, perfect speech, and extrodinary gracefulness. The only drawbck is that she possesed by an ancient evil sprit named Thatch. And an organization called The Fraternity wants Alalzibel so they can extract Thacth out of her. If you have read Wormwood, and enjoyed it, I urge you to read this book, because Wormwood and The Haunting of Alaizibel Cray are similar. I am 12 years old and loved this book! So, if by any chance you are looking for a book that is suspenful, terrifying, and is disturbingly wonderful, this IS a book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Deeply Enthralling!!

    Ok, i had nightmares for months after i read this book! i couldn't put it down! but it wasn't the common kind of horror thriller you can find anywhere, it was amazing! it kept you guessing until the very end - really kept you thinking days after you finished it. wooding is outstanding at making you feel like you're really there! you really get inside the peoples' heads and feel their pain and fear their fears and love their lovers. he caputures what life is really like so well although its in a world different from our own today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Prety good, but needs a little extra...

    I thought the book was pretty good. I wish the author had more of an introduction to the main characters though. It seems he smashed several stories into one book. I would like to know what happens to the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    This one was creepy. At times, interesting but still creepy. The

    This one was creepy. At times, interesting but still creepy. The writing was also pretty good. Might read more from this author. Still, a read that's perfect for the Halloween mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    This book is well-written with the perfect balance of horror, ma

    This book is well-written with the perfect balance of horror, magic, adventure, romance, intrigue, mystery, steampunk, and fantasy. I read it years ago in high school and it still stands bright in my memory. I'm so glad to have found it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Two thumbs up!!!

    The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray is one of Chris Wooding's best books. It contains a very detailed setting, believable characters, and a great plot. I checked this book out at the library and after reading it had to buy it for my own collection. Definitely a five star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    "BEST BOOK EVER!!!"

    when I read the gondola part (when Thaniel and alaizabel kiss) i ran out the door and screamed! I was sooooo happy. This book is thrilling. there is no "think about readng it." there is only "Heck yah im gonna read it!!!" It is AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2