Customer Reviews for

The Hazards of a One Night Stand

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Good read

    I liked this book. It was a fun read. I just wished we were able to know what was in Colt's letter to Mallory. This one one part of the story that wasn't explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     Mallory is home for the summer after spending her freshman year

     Mallory is home for the summer after spending her freshman year away from college.  She couldn't wait to get out of the small town she lived in, and even hated having to come back for the summer months.  When she runs into her ex-boyfriend's younger brother, Colton, who she has secretly had a crush on for years, what begins as two friends getting reacquainted winds up as a hot, passion-filled roll in the hay. When it's all said and done, Mallory wants to make it a one night stand, but Colton has other plans, plans that Mallory soon finds herself face-to-face with back at college.  Turns out her roll in the hay just got way more complicated than she bargained for.




    I loved Colton.  He was just dreamy with a killer smile, charm, and enough cockiness to make him adorably sexy.  There was just one problem, at least for Mallory, and that was the fact that he was her ex-boyfriend's younger brother.  Though only 3 months younger than Mallory, Colton was a grade behind her in school, and for some reason she had a real problem with this, which was one of the major issues she battled with throughout the book.  While I did like her, I just want to shake her and tell her, "get a grip girlfriend and learn to embrace your inner cougar cub and go for it."  Though she tried to deny it, she couldn't deny her attraction to Colt, who was also one of her best friends.  The chemistry between them was sizzling, but they have a lot of issues to overcome if they want to be together, the biggest being Mallory's hang-ups.  Colt was impressive in the way he handled everything that goes down in the book though. I enjoyed getting to know the other characters in the book, and also getting to see some of the characters were originally met in The Hazards of Skinny Dipping, especially Juliet and Reed. 




    Overall, I found The Hazards of a One Night Stand to be a fun, entertaining, and enjoyable story.  I love Alyssa Rose Ivy's writing, and she provides another wonderful contemporary romance for her fans.  If you are a contemporary romance fan, then The Hazards of a One Night Stand is something well worth checking out.  I'm looking forward to seeing what Alyssa Rose Ivy has in store for us all next. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Hazards of a One Night Stand was a sexy, flirty new adult ro

    The Hazards of a One Night Stand was a sexy, flirty new adult romance and I enjoyed every minute of it. It's part of Alyssa Rose Ivy's Hazards series, but you wouldn't have to read The Hazards of Skinny Dipping to enjoy this one. Of course, I think you should read both, anyhow, because they're enjoyable in their own way. 

    In this book, older gal Mallory hooks up with her younger neighbor Colt one night. He wants more, she likes him and enjoyed the sex, but worries just a little more than necessary about what everyone else would think about her dating a freshman. I liked Mallory, but I still found myself wanting to smack some sense into her. Again with this novel, I had a difficult time connecting completely with the main character because of the sorority mindset, but it didn't really hinder my enjoyment of the book. Colt was amazing. He more than made up for any of Mallory's shortcomings from my perspective. He was a sweet, genuinely good guy who cared about her and she kept pushing him away. Silly girl. You find one like that, you hold on tight. It's not that big of an age difference. 

    This was just a fun read all around. It wasn't angsty and while there was drama, it wasn't overdone. The main character was a bit frustrating, but the love interest was damn near perfect. They had a ton of chemistry and the book was both steamy and sweet. Though it was a little over 300 pages, I still devoured it in a couple of hours. It was also nice to get another glimpse into what's going on with Juliet and Reed (<3<3) after The Hazards of Skinny Dipping. 

    I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    I enjoyed The Hazards Of A One Night Stand.  Although Mallory se

    I enjoyed The Hazards Of A One Night Stand.  Although Mallory seemed indecisive quite a bit, her and Colt made a cute couple.  And
    when Mallory put her mind to something she didn't let anyone stand in her way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    3.5/5 stars After reading and loving The Hazards of Skinny Dipp

    3.5/5 stars

    After reading and loving The Hazards of Skinny Dipping, I was thrilled when I saw Alyssa was writing another novel in the series. I really enjoyed her fun writing style, as well as the fact that I felt like I was right on campus with the characters as they are navigate their way through school, relationships, and sorority life. While I didn't enjoy The Hazards of a One Night Stand quite as much as its predecessor, I still found myself completely engaged and was happy to see some familiar faces in this novel.

    It had been awhile since I read the first book so I didn't really remember much of Mallory, Juliet's sorority sister. We do learn that she hasn't had the best of luck in the relationship department, having had her high school boyfriend dump her and tell her she wasn't good enough and the last guy she tried to hook up with too busy mourning over his ex-girlfriend. Having returned home for the summer, the last thing Mallory ever expects is to reunite with her high school crush and younger brother to her ex-boyfriend. She can't help but notice how sexy Colton is or how he can't stop flirting with her. She also can't help the fact she drank a bit more than she planned and now finds herself in the hayloft with this incredibly sexy and willing boy. Mallory writes off that night with Colton as a one time thing never expecting him to want more. Heading back to school, Mallory is ready to start her sophomore year and forget that night. Easier said than done. Colton is NOT ready to let what happened between them just die. At first Colton annoyed me because of how clingy he was and how he didn't seem like he was acting his age. He almost seemed more juvenile than he really was and giving off that puppy love vibe.

    Don't get me wrong- while I felt that way about Colt in the beginning, he definitely grew on me and there was no other option for Mallory. I could not stand Tanner and I wanted to smack her for even indulging him after that one horrid date. I got very frustrated with Mallory because she refused to see what was right in front of her. Her reasons for not wanting to date Colton were really weak and I didn't like that she was so concerned about what other people would think or what she was 'supposed' to do. She kept trying to force herself to like Tanner, who is self-absorbed, boring, and way too serious. He's one of those guys who doesn't even bother to listen to you because he's going to make decisions that he feels are best. Gag.

    Colt cares deeply for Mallory and has way more patience with her than I can see most guys having. He likes spending time with her and is fun and confident (but not in that arrogant way). He is thoughtful and when she needs someone to be there for her, he is no questions asked. He is hurt when Mallory finally agrees to give him a chance, but wants to keep it a secret. Talk about a blow to the ego!

    I get that Mallory has some issues that stem from her father and he's a real piece of work. He is too concerned about appearances and what he thinks is best for his kids. Finding out what he did to Mallory really angered me and it was just low, especially given how crushed she was afterwards. Mallory craves her father's acceptance and lets his ideas ruminate in her mind and makes her doubt what she believes. I hate that this man has this much power over her, but he's her father and she just wants to be good enough for him.

    I love that we got to see Juliet, Reed, Cara and Aaron again! Juliet and Reed are as adorable ever, but I was a little concerned about Cara and Aaron, as they are having some issues concerning an ex-girlfriend. They are great friends to Mallory and aren't afraid to call her on her crap either.

    Overall, I thought this was another cute, fun read and I enjoyed myself despite my issues with Mallory. I did feel there were a few plot threads left unresolved and that the ending wrapped up a bit too perfectly. I'm glad Mallory finally realized that she alone could decide her own happiness and not let others try to control it for her, but it all just felt kind of fast. I wouldn't mind seeing another book in this series about Mallory's brother Davie, or even Jade, the sweet new pledge in their sorority!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    IT ALL STARTED WITH A ROLL IN THE HAY ¿ Mallory hooked up with h

    IT ALL STARTED WITH A ROLL IN THE HAY –
    Mallory hooked up with her high school crush, who was a year younger than her and who happens to be the younger brother of her ex-boyfriend who left her heart shattered in gazillion pieces. It was supposedly a no-string, uncomplicated, just-for-fun sex. Or so she thought.




    WHY DOES EVERYTHING HAVE TO BE SO COMPLICATED WITH YOU?
    ARGGGGH. A little bit frustrated on Mallory. INDEED, why it has to be COMPLICATED?! She likes him, he likes her – 
    so what if he’s one of the pledges of a fraternity her sorority always encounter? So what if he’s a freshman? So what if he’s a farm boy? The attraction was very much palpable in every pages, the re-enactment of the barn-scene is very much anticipated, and even the people around them notices.




    AND TANNER - nevermind Tanner.




    I hate watching her with Tanner, trying to like him in order to fit in with the rest of the group. I didn’t like Tanner primarily, not just because he stands in the way between these two lovebirds, but there was already something wrong about this guy.  




    WHY ARE YOU SO EMBARRASSED ABOUT COLT?
    HE WAS FOREVER IN LOVE WITH HER.




    He may be younger than her (by three months!!!) – but he’s sexy, HOT, SWEET, and thoughtful. He’s very determined to have her without really being pushy or annoying. He was really patient, and a good sport. She may shove him away, but he keeps on coming back to her. I was hoping she’d realize he’s a keeper before he changes his mind about her.




    IF SHE DOESN’T WANT HIM – I’d have COLT anytime of the day. Her friends already had an inclination and they didn’t even care about it – so why should she?




    HAS ANYONE EVER TOLD YOU HOW JUDGMENTAL AND HARD YOU ARE ON PEOPLE?
    I wasn’t really a fan of Mallory at first, nor at the middle. Trust me, it was difficult to like her. I can’t fathom why she was embarrassed by Colt and had to pretend about stuffs. It took a while before I warmed up to her character. She has trust and daddy issues – and don’t get me starting about her dad… I was happy about the change in her character, just when I was about to lose all hope with her – she realizes things, and does things I never thought she’d think or do. It was a relief that she had redeemed herself big time by the near -end of the novel. I really didn’t want to hate her for THAT long.




    I love her friends – they are an amazing bunch. They were patient with her, and they support her – not really with her decisions, but more of what was good for her.




    TO END.
    Patience is a virtue. Colt waited, and he was (including me) was greatly rewarded. There were some people who tried to hinder their HEA, but both of them were already invested in it. Mallory was wise enough to hold on to the best thing that happened to her.




    I enjoyed reading this novel by Alyssa Rose Ivy – with all the interesting characters, great plot and surprising turn of events, no wonder I finished it in one sitting.




     Sometimes, to be happy, you need NOT TO CARE about what other people think about you, as long as you’re happy and you’re not making anyone miserable, why not do it?




    ¿ARC Copy was given in exchange for an honest review.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1