Customer Reviews for

Headhunters

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

As with Jo Nesbo's other books, he is great at creating a twist in the story. I found this book diferent from the Harry Hole seires, but loved it!

posted by mayzeesz on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Honestly, I wish I could given this zero stars. I very much lik

Honestly, I wish I could given this zero stars. I very much liked the other Jo Nesbo mysteries, so one without Harry Hole peaked my interest. The plot gets so convoluted that the author has to retell the story so you figure out what he did to get where he wants to be...
Honestly, I wish I could given this zero stars. I very much liked the other Jo Nesbo mysteries, so one without Harry Hole peaked my interest. The plot gets so convoluted that the author has to retell the story so you figure out what he did to get where he wants to be. It has a certain manipulation that I found irritating. The characters are so unappealing I had trouble caring what happened to them. The writing itself is crisp and compelling. I love mysteries, read easily dozens a year, and this is among the worst I have read in a long time.

posted by DianaID on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Honestly, I wish I could given this zero stars. I very much lik

    Honestly, I wish I could given this zero stars. I very much liked the other Jo Nesbo mysteries, so one without Harry Hole peaked my interest. The plot gets so convoluted that the author has to retell the story so you figure out what he did to get where he wants to be. It has a certain manipulation that I found irritating. The characters are so unappealing I had trouble caring what happened to them. The writing itself is crisp and compelling. I love mysteries, read easily dozens a year, and this is among the worst I have read in a long time.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Loved this book

    As with Jo Nesbo's other books, he is great at creating a twist in the story. I found this book diferent from the Harry Hole seires, but loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Not up to the author's par

    The mix of shots of humor with blood, excrement and bullets doesn't blend well. It will be a disappointment for those familiar with the author's more competently developed Harry Hole tales that stick to the more familiar blend of alcohol and murder. The portrait of a highly trained professional killer--a middle aged, remorseless mutation of Jason Bourne--being outclassed by a narcissistic clown is flat and overdone. Settings designed to set up scatological humor, such as the bowels of an outhouse in the Norwegian countryside leave the both the Headhunter and the reader with an unpleasant aftertaste.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly Recommneded!!!

    This is the first book that I read by Jo Nesbo. The reader begins thinking the story is about a headhunter (recruiter), but it is so much more than that. The main character, Roger, goes through many tramatic/emotiional events, but he is used to being in control since he is the headhunter and knows so much about reading people. Roger becomes a new person after all the experiences in the book.
    I think this should be made into a movie. It sort of reminds me of the books by Stiegg Larson, ("The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"). Loved it!!!! 5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Great read!!

    I really got into this one....couldn't put it down! Excellent twists and turns! I was hating the protagonist and then rooting for him. Well done!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Love all his books!

    Is it OK to say a book is funny, when people are killing each other? Maybe not, but it's so true. This book is suspenseful and amusing! After reading all the Harry Hole books, I enjoyed this one where the character's major angst is his height. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Nesbo strikes again!

    It just doesn't get better than Nesbo! Just as absorbing as the Harry Hole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    spellbinding!

    I'll put it up there with "The girl with the dragon tattoo"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Not Harry Hole but- a must read

    Two very smart male egos battle each other over filling an open position at a large corporation. That's what I thought this book was all about when I finished the first couple of chapters. Well keep reading. You won't be sorry. There's a complicated twist to this one that will remind you of Nesbo's Harry Hole series. Just think of a "Harry" working on the other side of the law.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A different Nesoe than his books with Harry Hole as the detective.
    A fun read, with unexpected twists.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Wonderful writing!!

    Nesbo sure knows how to keep you interested in a book!! It was fascinating and what a surprise ending. I highly recommend any of his books. They're wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Bek to chocolate

    Nock told me you wanted to see me if so what is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Good book

    Enjoyed and reccomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Kill CYRUS!!!!!

    I cant kill him d he killed my children!! Ill give you everthing i have!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Boo to person that said KILL CYRUS

    Ill take the job i will have a partner helping me his anem is Reaper we ll get him for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Protecter request

    Protect hush at athenian constitution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    CHOCOLATE ~ JORDAN

    Go to my camp. Meones faking you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    To any Bounty Hunters

    I will give you 500 pieces of silver to harrass, murder, and rape a guy name Kenny/Creon at viking tales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Anonymouse

    3 rl months servitude for the still beating eart of cyrus in a silver box. Location: athenian constitution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Austin

    Dam bounty hunters. No good sons a bi<_>tches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4