Customer Reviews for

The Headmaster's Wife

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good bookk

Keeps you in suspense

posted by 19303796 on March 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

I just finished this book, while it is a fast read and did have one interesting plot twist, I just felt it didn't have much depth. It seems like the kind of light romance novel I try to avoid, disguised as a "suspense"novel. The characters are unlikable and the storyli...
I just finished this book, while it is a fast read and did have one interesting plot twist, I just felt it didn't have much depth. It seems like the kind of light romance novel I try to avoid, disguised as a "suspense"novel. The characters are unlikable and the storyline is pretty thin. Would not recommend unless you are looking for something quick and simple, not necessarily thought-provoking.





posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Just OK

    I just finished this book, while it is a fast read and did have one interesting plot twist, I just felt it didn't have much depth. It seems like the kind of light romance novel I try to avoid, disguised as a "suspense"novel. The characters are unlikable and the storyline is pretty thin. Would not recommend unless you are looking for something quick and simple, not necessarily thought-provoking.





    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Good bookk

    Keeps you in suspense

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Should've passed on this one

    I read other reviews and it was on a top list so I gave it a try. Uncomfortable at first, then OK, then over. With no ending!! What a waste of time and money ugh

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    I've only started  the excerpt and come across clumsy writing li

    I've only started  the excerpt and come across clumsy writing like," They don’t need to speak, for they are both drinking in the moment, the day, the happiness of their boy, and the gift of this experience"
      or, " A couple of times they suggest they should keep walking"
     
    PULEEEEZE!  

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Did Not Like It

    I did not like this book at all. I think it was a waste of time and only finished it because it was for my book club. The two main characters were unlikeable and a good majority of the book was told from the perspective of an unreliable narrator. It was boring and repetitive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    A really different story, told in a really different way

    This book was something of a revelation. It had me hooked from the beginning and just when I thought I knew where it was going, the author threw in a major development that I did not see coming. A good character study and commentary on the toll taken by unresolved emotional issues and grief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Good story

    Not the best writing but a good story. Predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Now I was completely blown away! Here I thought Arthur was some

    Now I was completely blown away! Here I thought Arthur was someone I love to hate but 'WHAM' I got slammed and my first thought of him flew out the window. This author took me on a ride, falling in love, jealousy, vengeful feelings, separation, desire, obsession, status quo, regrets but the twist to this story just caught me by surprise. I had this palpitation of anger slowly building towards Arthur then the twist of the story made my heart grow heavy with pure grieve. Russell's remembers first love, Betsy remembers being a mother, Elizabeth protecting her love of her life, Arthur remembering how he feel in love and the inevitable "regrets." Mind spiraling until you have no control. We exhibit different ways of coping but sometimes we get lost in them and can't find our way back, huh this book exposed that side of the human emotions. I cannot say more because it would only disclose the book's "twist" but what I can say, the author described Arthur's emotional stress so vividly that I could see it on a screen. Strange how everything came full circle between Arthur, his wife Elizabeth and their son Ethan and Betsy and Russell. I wish I could tell you more but I would completely give the story away, that's how wonderfully good this book is. I felt the emotional pain they were going through, the credit goes to the author. I read the acknowledgement at the end of this book and this is when I realized why this book was an emotional piece of excellence. My heart goes out to the author and his family. I learned a long time ago writing does soothe the soul. Our deepest feelings grasp our hands and as fast as you think of it your utmost feelings is in plain view. "A wisp of a thought brought to life." I won this book on Goodreads, First Read Giveaway. Thank you, Darlene Cruz

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    A fast paced page turner

    This fast paced page turner offers many surprises as the story is told from two perspectives. It's almost impossible to put down so be prepared to read it in one or two sittings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    hi

    Hi

    1 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Just get past the first part of the book - that's my advice.  Yo

    Just get past the first part of the book - that's my advice.  You may want to stop reading, but don't.   The story becomes much more thoughtful and the writing becomes more elegant and nuanced.  There's a reason why the fist part is a but hum-drum.  But it takes off and the writing, the story, the characters, everything changes dramatically.  You'll be rewarded with a richly developed story of loss, grief, and "what might have been."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    anonymous

    Good read......some surprising twists & turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2