Customer Reviews for

The Headmistress of Rosemere (Whispers on the Moors Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything

After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything she can to keep the Rosemere School for Young Ladies running while caring for her grieving mother and hoping against hope that her brother Rawdon will return from London soon. But after six months, and stil...
After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything she can to keep the Rosemere School for Young Ladies running while caring for her grieving mother and hoping against hope that her brother Rawdon will return from London soon. But after six months, and still no word from him, Patience believes he won't be returning after all. Left with twenty nine girls, a handful of teachers and a small staff to manage, Patience is living up to her name. She has come to a decision that this is her lot in life and marriage and family are a thing of the past.

However she didn't expect William Sterling, her landlord to wind up on her front doorstep battered and bruised. Believing he was thrown from his horse, she tends to him as she would anyone who has been injured even if he is the most handsome man she has ever seen. She knows however all to well the rumors and reputation of William and it's best she keep those romantic thoughts out of her head and her heart.

All William knows is that after being warned in no uncertain terms that the money he owes to Rafferty is due in three months, he is thankful he is still alive with only bruises to show for it. His men could have left him dead but then again, how would Rafferty collect on the money he is owed. Believing there has to be an answer somewhere besides selling of the land his father has left him as an inheritance, he knows he cannot force Patience Creighton out of her home and the young girls out of the school she tends to. All he knows is that somehow he is drawn to Patience in a way he never dreamed would be possible after the women that claimed and then broke his heart again. Does God have a bigger plan in mind for all of them?

I received The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the second book in the Whispers on the Moor series, and my first one for author Sarah E. Ladd. This novel is set in the early 1800's when it was considered that any woman over the age of twenty five who remained unmarried without a suitable gentlemen caller or interest in her life to be labeled as a spinster. How very different society is today, yet Sarah takes the readers into the strength and courage of Patience Creighton who is doing all she can to manage the boarding school established by her father, while her mother remains trapped in her grief. She finds solace in the caring of the young girls she teaches while believing her brother has abandoned them. She does what she has to do when faced with survival while maintaining all the propriety of a young woman who still has romantic notions at heart. I rate this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to reading The Heiress of Winterwood, the first novel in the series. While it has been compared to Jane Austin's novels, I didn't get that same impression but the story is still a great historical romance in its own rights.

posted by Heart2Heart on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wildly Predictable.

Wildly Predictable. This is an easy, afternoon, read if you just want something to pass the time; it's harmless, but I found it too incredibly predictable to r...
Wildly Predictable. This is an easy, afternoon, read if you just want something to pass the time; it's harmless, but I found it too incredibly predictable to really enjoy. There is only one big surprise, or twist, in the plot--and any reader who is paying even a minute's of attention to the text will be hit over the head with it immediately. While the story does have some little bits of Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte-like elements (mysterious, powerful men; spinsterish yet lovely women; both at the mercy of restricted societal expectations) this is obviously no comparison to those masterful storytellers. The writing/literature teacher in me not only screamed at the obvious nature of the plot but the mind-numbing repetition of story details and language; I cannot understand why the author and/or the editors did not edit out countless instances of repeated language (over and over and over) often in the same paragraph. For example, I counted a horse referred to as 'the animal' no less than 12 times in one, very short, paragraph! Given that the horse had a name, the absence of pronouns like 'he' or 'it' is mind-boggling not to mention that the briefest sentence editing would have corrected it. This goes on throughout the entire book in all sorts of different way. While I realize I am cursed with the writing teacher's 'nose' for such elements and not everyone is, I still get furious that editors continually allow books to be published with such sloppy oversights. Plus, it just drives me crazy. A surprising facet of this novel is that it is considered 'Christian Literature' to some degree, and while I am not typically a fan of such pieces, anyone who is will find that part of that novel probably satisfying. It is not heavy handed and one of the most subtle elements of the text; many readers might enjoy that. However, I was simply turned off by the clichéd plot turns and 'you can see it coming from 20 miles' predictability. Yet if none of this is concern, this is an easy way to pass the time.

posted by irishclaireKG on January 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Wildly Predictable.

    Wildly Predictable. This is an easy, afternoon, read if you just want something to pass the time; it's harmless, but I found it too incredibly predictable to really enjoy. There is only one big surprise, or twist, in the plot--and any reader who is paying even a minute's of attention to the text will be hit over the head with it immediately. While the story does have some little bits of Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte-like elements (mysterious, powerful men; spinsterish yet lovely women; both at the mercy of restricted societal expectations) this is obviously no comparison to those masterful storytellers. The writing/literature teacher in me not only screamed at the obvious nature of the plot but the mind-numbing repetition of story details and language; I cannot understand why the author and/or the editors did not edit out countless instances of repeated language (over and over and over) often in the same paragraph. For example, I counted a horse referred to as 'the animal' no less than 12 times in one, very short, paragraph! Given that the horse had a name, the absence of pronouns like 'he' or 'it' is mind-boggling not to mention that the briefest sentence editing would have corrected it. This goes on throughout the entire book in all sorts of different way. While I realize I am cursed with the writing teacher's 'nose' for such elements and not everyone is, I still get furious that editors continually allow books to be published with such sloppy oversights. Plus, it just drives me crazy. A surprising facet of this novel is that it is considered 'Christian Literature' to some degree, and while I am not typically a fan of such pieces, anyone who is will find that part of that novel probably satisfying. It is not heavy handed and one of the most subtle elements of the text; many readers might enjoy that. However, I was simply turned off by the clichéd plot turns and 'you can see it coming from 20 miles' predictability. Yet if none of this is concern, this is an easy way to pass the time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything

    After losing her father, Patience Creighton is doing everything she can to keep the Rosemere School for Young Ladies running while caring for her grieving mother and hoping against hope that her brother Rawdon will return from London soon. But after six months, and still no word from him, Patience believes he won't be returning after all. Left with twenty nine girls, a handful of teachers and a small staff to manage, Patience is living up to her name. She has come to a decision that this is her lot in life and marriage and family are a thing of the past.

    However she didn't expect William Sterling, her landlord to wind up on her front doorstep battered and bruised. Believing he was thrown from his horse, she tends to him as she would anyone who has been injured even if he is the most handsome man she has ever seen. She knows however all to well the rumors and reputation of William and it's best she keep those romantic thoughts out of her head and her heart.

    All William knows is that after being warned in no uncertain terms that the money he owes to Rafferty is due in three months, he is thankful he is still alive with only bruises to show for it. His men could have left him dead but then again, how would Rafferty collect on the money he is owed. Believing there has to be an answer somewhere besides selling of the land his father has left him as an inheritance, he knows he cannot force Patience Creighton out of her home and the young girls out of the school she tends to. All he knows is that somehow he is drawn to Patience in a way he never dreamed would be possible after the women that claimed and then broke his heart again. Does God have a bigger plan in mind for all of them?

    I received The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is the second book in the Whispers on the Moor series, and my first one for author Sarah E. Ladd. This novel is set in the early 1800's when it was considered that any woman over the age of twenty five who remained unmarried without a suitable gentlemen caller or interest in her life to be labeled as a spinster. How very different society is today, yet Sarah takes the readers into the strength and courage of Patience Creighton who is doing all she can to manage the boarding school established by her father, while her mother remains trapped in her grief. She finds solace in the caring of the young girls she teaches while believing her brother has abandoned them. She does what she has to do when faced with survival while maintaining all the propriety of a young woman who still has romantic notions at heart. I rate this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to reading The Heiress of Winterwood, the first novel in the series. While it has been compared to Jane Austin's novels, I didn't get that same impression but the story is still a great historical romance in its own rights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2015

    This story was definitely an interesting continuation of the Whi

    This story was definitely an interesting continuation of the Whispers on the Moors series.  The very first chapter is filled with danger and suspense, giving the book a tone that’s carried throughout the storyline.  I love how it’s both similar and different than the first book in this series. It has more of an overlaying suspense and anxiety rather than an out-right dangerous situation to be fixed. And the characters are very well written. I love the focus on William. He’s a bit of an annoyance in the first book, but I love watching him change in this one, watching him grow and change, and also learning what made him the rogue he was in the first place. Then there’s Patience, the headmistress who loves the school, loves the girls under her care, and is a very capable woman. She singlehandedly runs the school even while dealing with a deeply grieving mother. The sparks between these two are quiet, but I love how there’s not just an admiration for the physical beauty they have for each other, but also for their compassion, and a mutual respect for each others’ intelligence. I really do love how William respects Patience for her mind, rather than believing her to be frail and needing to be taken care of, as most other men do. Each faces their own obstacles, and each is threatened with losing everything, and only when they turn to God and let go do they realize just what gifts are waiting for them. This was certainly an enjoyable read, with a heartwarming love story, and a regency tale that I highly recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Great Love Story

    This was a great love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2015

    Highly recommend

    I enjoyed this book, it was a page turner. Sarah Ladd is an excellent story teller. I look forward to reading more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Nice easy weekend read.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    quick read....very romantic

    This book caught my eye...a wonderful cover and back cover summary that was interesting. Reminded me of the basic premise of "pride and prejudice." I normally read murder mysteries and was looking for something different.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! A quick easy read. Very romantic build-up between 2 characters. Patience was a wonderful main character. A strong, hardworking headmistress for her family's school. Mr Sterling is a bad boy turned caring and compassionate who is the landlord for the school.

    I enjoyed the dialogue between characters, the setting descriptions and the flow of the story. I finished it quickly and went back and re-read it again the next day. Think I will be picking up my copy of pride and prejudice again to seek out Mr Darcy. Really good romance!!!

    I think this would be great for a bookclub read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    It has a commentary stating that if you like Jane Austen and Jan

    It has a commentary stating that if you like Jane Austen and Jane Erye then you will love her work and I'd have to agree. THose are two favorites of mine and I can gladly add this book to the same equivalence. The book keeps me intrigued from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Sarah's writing is poetic and flows effortlessly. Her characters

    Sarah's writing is poetic and flows effortlessly. Her characters are intriguing with struggles we all could encounter. I have to admit, one of my favorite persons in this book was that of the secondary character Cassandra. Sarah weaves so many truths into Cassandra's words, and the don't feel forced at all.




    The pacing of the story progresses in such a manner that had me turning pages, not feeling rushed and yet eagerly anticipating what would happen next. I enjoyed watching Patience and William grow in their relationship and as individuals too. And, of course, I was rewarded with a very happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    What a lovely, sweet romance, with a little mystery and suspense

    What a lovely, sweet romance, with a little mystery and suspense thrown in....a real page turner :) Cant wait for 
    Sarah E. Ladd's next book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    An Excellent Read!

    This story captures the flavor of the 19th century, has a little mystery, and romance without a lot of fluff! Sarah Ladd did an excellent job of putting this story together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sarah E. Ladd in her new book ¿The Headmistress of Rosemere¿ Boo

    Sarah E. Ladd in her new book “The Headmistress of Rosemere” Book Two in the Whispers On The Moors Series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Patience Creighton.




    Darbury, England, 1816




    From the back cover:   Patience Creighton has devoted her life to running her father’s boarding school. But when the enigmatic master of the estate appears at her door, battered and unconscious, the young headmistress suddenly finds her livelihood—and her heart —in the hands of one dangerously handsome gentleman.




    At twenty-five, Patience Creighton is already a spinster. The busy headmistress of Rosemere always expected a dashing man to sweep her off her feet and take her away . . . but that man never came. And since her father’s death, keeping the school running and her mother happy has been plenty to keep her occupied.




    William Sterling dallied his way into financial trouble and mortal danger. When he is assaulted by his creditors’ henchmen on the road home from a tavern, he guides his horse to the doorstep of his tenant, the Rosemere School for Young Ladies. After being tended to by Patience, the wounded William rides off into the dawn—but makes a point to learn more about the lovely headmistress.




    As he spends more time at Rosemere, something delicate begins to develop between William and Patience. But that will not deter William’s creditors. With little money to repay his debts, and less for the upkeep of his estate, it becomes clear that sacrificing Rosemere may be the only way to preserve his legacy. But it may also cost him his happiness.




    William is a character.  He has led a life on a downhill path and now, it seems, all his debts are catching up to him.  He has a past and he has his secrets and they almost get him killed.  But Patience gets to take care of him as she takes care of Rosemere Hall for the children.  Now the dreams of both of them are put to the test as they have to learn to trust each other to forge ahead.  And on top of everything this is a romance.  I think Ms. Ladd has done a great job with this story.  Yes, there are moments when it seems a bit slow however we do need time to sit back and breathe a little before the story takes back off again.  Great characters, great plot with plenty of twists and turns equals a great read.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great story. Kept me reading until done!

    Nice love story. I love the Regency setting. Good to know bad guys can reinvent themselves when love prevails. I greatly emjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    I was a slow convert to books set in Regency England, but au





    I was a slow convert to books set in Regency England, but authors like Julie Klassen and now Sarah Ladd have shown me how truly delightful this time period can be. In this novel Patience Creighton is the headmistress of a school her father started almost by default. Her mother is overcome by grief, her brother has disappeared, and she is doing all she can to keep everything working. Then she has an encounter with their landlord, after he is attacked on the moors. Maybe her safe corner of the world isn't so safe after all. The book is rich, with the redemption of William Sterling, but more than that it is Patience's story. A story of coming to grips with the reality she was doing what she thought was expected of her rather than what she was called to do. And when those burdens were lifted, she was left wondering who she was. I think many of us can relate to that struggle to learn who we really are and where our identity is truly settled. 




    I enjoyed this novel, and found myself squeezing in 15 minutes here and there, because I wanted to know how the characters fared. This book is a slight continuation of some characters from her debut novel because William Sterling takes the lead. A historical that will transport you back to another time and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Wow oh wow! The Headmistress of Rosemere is another beautiful st

    Wow oh wow! The Headmistress of Rosemere is another beautiful story from Sarah Ladd! This review will most likely come across as gushing ... but I don't know how else to write it!

    I was blown away by Sarah's debut (The Heiress of Winterwood) last year, but I think her latest offering is even better! The story is rich and came alive to me. It's not often that a historical novel becomes real to the point where I can almost see it playing like a movie in my mind, but this one did. I could easily imagine what the characters looked like, how their voices sounded, what Rosemere and Eastmore looked like, and the scenes played out before my very eyes. The neat thing, though, was that I didn't feel like the author over-described things. She just wrote in such a way that the story came to life for me.

    The romance in this book is also one of the most beautiful I can recall reading in recent months, perhaps years (and I read a lot of romance!). It's very understated, but somehow a touch, a glance, a conversation were thoroughly romantic! I was completely giddy at points.

    I loved Rosemere and wasn't nearly ready for it to be over when I turned the last page. I know it's only January, but this book is a serious contender for my "Best Of" list for 2014!

    Readers who enjoy historical fiction, regency-era novels, or sweet romantic stories will surely enjoy this story. The Headmistress of Rosemere is an incredible book, and I would highly recommend you check it out for yourself! [5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    I found The Headmistress of Rosemere to be a sweet story with lo

    I found The Headmistress of Rosemere to be a sweet story with lots of conflict to keep the reader wondering what is going to happen next. I like that Patience doesn't really live up to her name.




    The romance is secondary to the story, which made it seem a bit slow to me, but the excellent writing made it interesting enough to keep me reading.




    ***I received this novel from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Those readers who have ever felt like their hard work has been s

    Those readers who have ever felt like their hard work has been slighted, not taken seriously or even ignored, will relate well with Patience, the acting headmistress of Rosemere. And having a novel start with the hero being followed is a sure way of creating suspense. Sarah Ladd's novel tugged at my emotions from the very first line and kept me turning pages until the very end. 
    While reading this novel, I felt I was in the school, enjoying the many antics, frustrations and exuberance of the young girls who had been placed in the school. The idea of sending young children to a resident school is very foreign to me, yet I relish the idea of the growing friendships that would result in this. The customs of the day, including the fact that a woman unmarried and over the age of 21 was considered a spinster seems unusually harsh in our day when a lot of women choose not to marry until they are older. Sarah, through her story, enlightened me while still entertaining, on what life in England in 1816 would have been like, and what I could have expected to encounter. The lessons that Patience learned, are still valid today.




    I enjoyed this novel immensely, and trust you will as well




    I received this book free from LitfusePulicity Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Thank you Litfuse for giving me this review copy.¿ Myste

    Thank you Litfuse for giving me this review copy.¿

    Mystery and suspense meet in this skillfully crafted novel. While there was romance in the background, it trickled through the book and didn't really become a brook until later in the book. Instead, there was a good deal of trying to figure out who was hiding what and why.

    I love it when the action begins suddenly and quickly on the very first page. It's almost as though the reader was plunged into a climax from the very first sentence. William is fleeing from danger on the moors. He knows he's being followed. His crisis brings forth a chance meeting that will set a whole chain of events into play.

    William is a puzzle. It's hard to decide whether he's a good guy gone bad, a bad guy gone good, or both. His actions and his desires don't always match up because he's acting from desperation. Meeting Patience turns his world on its head.

    Patience is a strange mixture of patient and impatient. She is extraordinarily patient with her 20 students, but a bit impatient with her grieving mother, though she does well to cover it. She is kindness itself, but finds herself worn thin and frustrated by the decisions others are making that are changing her future and her present.

    I do wish that there had been a stronger statement of the Christian faith, but it is made clear that although William and Patience have been struggling with their relationships with God, they have a strong foundation from their parents that they are returning to. A comforting theme for parents of prodigals.

    I truly enjoyed The Heiress of Winterwood, Sarah Ladd's last book. I eagerly agreed to read and review the second book in the Whispers on the Moors series, The Headmistress of Rosemere. You need not read the first book to enjoy the second, but I think if you like one, you'll want to read them both. I find that I enjoy the Jane Austenish feel of books set in the Regency period. The manners and the propriety of this clean romance appeal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading this book, and wanted more at the end.

    I really enjoyed reading this book, and wanted more at the end. Having read the first book, I knew of Williams problems. William has been living a descending life toward Hell. We now find him having to start paying for his sins, and wonder if he will still be alive by the end of the book?
    A tenant on Williams property is The Rosemere School, and since the death of her father, Patience has been Headmistress of the school. She has been trying to find her brother Rawdon, my opinion of him was not good, but there I go again judging. We find out why he doesn't write or let them know where he is for six months??
    We walk the moors and ride around this beautiful countryside. Its sounds so perfect there, but there is a big difference in Patience a working woman...and old maid at 25, and William the aristocrat.
    When her brother returns, and basically has Patience retired, he also brings along a rejected, by Patience, beau. Wow! Talk about matchmaking.
    You will love spending time with the precocious children, especially Emma.
    There are a lot of unknowns here, and a few that are revealed slowly. Once you pick this book, you won't be able to put it back down.
    I cannot wait until the next book in this series is here, wonder who the heroine will be??

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    In The Headmistress of Rosemere, we meet Patience Creighton, a w

    In The Headmistress of Rosemere, we meet Patience Creighton, a woman who has had to take on the responsibility of running her family's school for girls. When her father died six months earlier, Patience's brother left home and her mother withdrew from the world. Patience is doing all she can to keep Rosemere running smoothly.

    William Sterling owns the land that Rosemere sits on. The school has been his family's tenant for decades. After leading a wild and rebellious life, William is trying to dig himself out from under his debts that were brought about by his reckless behavior.

    William and Patience meet under harrowing circumstances and both are drawn to the other. But there are many troubles that could keep the two from ever being able to be together. There are some great twists in this story that keep it very interesting from beginning to end.

    The characters in The Headmistress of Rosemere are extremely well-written. Their back stories are developed nicely, without adding heaviness to the story. I have read a few reviewers compare this book to Jane Eyre, but would I would make the case that this book is not dark and dreary. There are dark things from William's past, but the book is hopeful and the romance sweet.

    The author writes with a beautiful style in both this book and in the first book, The Heiress of Winterwood. Both can be read as stand alone books, and both are very good. As I read The Headmistress of Rosemere, I could feel the coldness and see the snow blanketing the ground. She painted a vivid picture for me that enhanced the storyline.

    I highly recommend this book.

    I received a copy of The Headmistress of Rosemere in exchange for an honest opinion, which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2