Customer Reviews for

The Healing

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    An inspiring literary work

    Enough is told above about the plot of The Healing. This is easily one of the best books I've read. Period. Odell's Polly Shine is one of the most original and compelling characters every created. This book is so rich in its sense of time and place that you can virtually feel the southern heat and humidity come up off the pages. And the story is so moving, so thought-provoking, so redemptive. This is a must-read!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Redemptive--Not Your Typical Plantation Story

    As an African American I found The Healing redemptive! I usually steer clear of books set in this time period. I'm usually either left depressed or angry. After reading The Healing, I was lifted and felt healed - personally and for my ancestors! The characters are well developed and vividly authentic. After reading the last page, I began hoping Jon O'dell would immediately begin the sequel

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    So much better than THE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved The Healing. The characters are richly drawn, unique, yet recognizable, almost familiar human beings. The setting, itself a character in the unfolding drama, is so vivid that I could feel, hear, and smell the Delta. But it was the language that really drew me in. Jon Odell has a great gift for language. The word choice and rhythm of the spoken language is so apt that it seemed that I was actually listening to a conversation. His imagery creates rich pictures of people and place with such grace that I found myself re-reading frequently, just to savor his words. This story of strength of character and redemption profoundly moved me.
    I know that some reviewers compare The Healing and The Help. To me, that's a superficial comparison, based on them both being "southern novels." I don't think they are comparable; The Healing has much more soul.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    American history to learn from... The Healing takes us into a wo

    American history to learn from... The Healing takes us into a world we wouldn't be able to see first hand. There is much wisdom in this book, set just before the Civil War, Polly is brought to the huge cotton plantation to save the master's slaves from an epidemic of 'black tongue'. A wicked white plantation owner and his wife lose their 12 year-old daughter to the “black tongue” disease. The fragile wife loses it. The wife then steals the newborn of a too young slave and names the child after a city she likes. Granada grows up motherless, and confused about where she belongs until Polly Shine comes along. Polly teaches her to explore herself inside to get herself back and find her true self. She takes Granada on as her apprentice and teaches the young girl the ancient ways of earth healing that goes beyond just making the body well. Polly teaches Granada to open herself up to something that is more grand than herself that was instilled in her by living half in the privileged world of the whites, and looking down on the blacks who are her own blood. This book could give the same effect as THE HELP, which I’m sure the author had in mind. A very enlightening read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Hard to put down

    This was an excellent book with a new look at the old south. I would love to see it made into a movie. The characters were very human. I felt like I was right there with them. I didn't want to put the book down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Odell has crafted his second superbly written novel. Not only a

    Odell has crafted his second superbly written novel. Not only are the characters beautifully developed, but this story, carefully researched, is a sensitive rendition of time and place. The tragedy of slavery is brought to life with heart and appreciation for the African American contribution to our culture. Why didn't this make your list of best books I just received, Barnes and Noble?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    This is one of the best books I have read in 6months,definitely

    This is one of the best books I have read in 6months,definitely the best book this year. It is hard to believe that it was written by a man (and then a white man) WOW. I will never forget this book. I hate to give the story away as so many do but I will just say this....If you liked The Help...you will LOVE The Healing. I thought about PolIy Shine and Grenada all day, I truly hated to end the story but you cant help yourself. I have already ordered Mr Odell's previous book and will definitely look for him in the future. GREAT JOB.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    FABULOUS BOOK! I can't recommend it enough. Jon O'Dell writes wi

    FABULOUS BOOK! I can't recommend it enough. Jon O'Dell writes with such insight that I fully believe Polly Shine is merely telling her story through him. A book for women, for healing, for humankind...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    trees with roots

    Strong short read. Woven beautifully is the story of a healer , Polly Shine who refuses to cow tow to slave status. She chooses one of the house slaves to tutor under her.

    It is earthy, showing the dynamics involved in what I see as survival. At what cost do you betray those around you to get a warm biscuit. And yet, the character and strength in Polly Shine did not waver. Loved her courage and determination.

    I'm not great with reviews but trust me, this novel a has raw brutal beautiful story to weave into your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Good story and good characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Hard To Put Down

    A great read about a black women struggling to find herself in a horrible time in our nation's history

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Anon

    A wonderful page turner. I wanted the story to go on and on

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Black Woman Doctor

    I'm an impatient reader; most novels I start, I don't finish. But "The Healing" is a spell-binder story from the slave point of view just before the civil war. The black woman doctor (who can spit tobacco juice better than any Atlanta Brave ball player) works her magic while insisting there's no magic involved and while training a youngster who is mired in a slave mentality. The slaves are victims to be sure, but in this story, they are much more than that: they are real people. You will love this book. -- Jo Wharton Heath

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Kp tx

    Excellent. I loved how the author goes back and forth in time to tell the unbelievable story of Granada/Gran Gran. Page turner from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Recommended for high school English classroom

    THE HEALING has a plot that pulls the reader further and further into the book, while at the same time Odell does a wonderful job of teaching about slave life and empowerment. I would have loved to teach this book during my 34-year career in the classroom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Amazing story!!

    Once i started it, I didn't want to put it down- and i really didn't want it to end! A must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    I would recommend this book.

    Read this book for my book club. I would recommend this book for book club discussions. Was a very well researched book and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    I loved this novel

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this novel. I thought of healing mostly in the physical sense. This really is a haunting tale of people enslaved so long they no longer know where they come from or what their destiny might have been. In the face of terrible hardship they quietly resist to have their souls completely held captive. Odell tells their story as if he to has lived among them; felt their sorry and pain. The strong women he gives a voice to are characters that one would aspire to be. The tale is told in a poetic way and should hold it's place in Southern literature. A beautiful novel!

    Any reader who loves historical fiction will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like 'The Kitchen House' you will enjoy this book. This b

    If you like 'The Kitchen House' you will enjoy this book. This book is often associated with 'The Help' I do not think that is a proper association. They are both great books, but different type of read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Duskbreeze

    She pulls her tail over the wounds makeing them heal."As Duskkit, noone adopted me. I trained as an apprentice with no mentor. I looked for a clan and put the medcat out. Then the clan replaced me. I am a loner now. I am visiting you thru a dream. When you awake you will be perfectly healed." She starts to fade. ((Meet me at 'dusk' 2))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4