BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Heart of Everything That Is: The Untold Story of Red Cloud, An American Legend

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the

Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the middle of history. The authors draw you in and with each page it is more
difficult to put this book down. There is not a dry page in this book and every word counts. I wish I could give this book 10 stars....
Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the middle of history. The authors draw you in and with each page it is more
difficult to put this book down. There is not a dry page in this book and every word counts. I wish I could give this book 10 stars. It deserves
a Pulitzer Prize and every other award out there. 

posted by a_reader25 on November 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the a

Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the authors' grasp of Wyoming geography a little confusing, then I got to Chapter 19 and they said the modern city of Casper, Wyoming, was the capital of Wyoming. Not true, the capital of Wyoming is Cheyenne. Ma...
Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the authors' grasp of Wyoming geography a little confusing, then I got to Chapter 19 and they said the modern city of Casper, Wyoming, was the capital of Wyoming. Not true, the capital of Wyoming is Cheyenne. Made me a little doubtful of their research from that point forward.l I still learned things about the Plains Indians that I did not know from reading other books on the subject.

posted by 18824639 on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the

    Wonderfully written, every page is as if you are standing in the middle of history. The authors draw you in and with each page it is more
    difficult to put this book down. There is not a dry page in this book and every word counts. I wish I could give this book 10 stars. It deserves
    a Pulitzer Prize and every other award out there. 

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Excellent!

    A wonderful history, and non-diluted documentation, of Red Cloud and how the United States went about forcing the Native Americans from their native and sacred lands. Written in a neutral tone that explains both sides of the Indian Wars during the 1800's.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I am a big fan of the history of native America. This books ranks among the best that I have read. The authors did their homework well to document the facts of this part of the history of the West. Their writing skills paint a vivid picture of Sioux's war to protect and preserve the Powder River Country in the Black Hills, or, as they called it, The Heart of Everything That Is.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Good book!

    I love this book and reccomend it

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the a

    Good read, having lived in Wyoming most of my life I found the authors' grasp of Wyoming geography a little confusing, then I got to Chapter 19 and they said the modern city of Casper, Wyoming, was the capital of Wyoming. Not true, the capital of Wyoming is Cheyenne. Made me a little doubtful of their research from that point forward.l I still learned things about the Plains Indians that I did not know from reading other books on the subject.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Authors regurgitated story of Red Cloud's war with little new de

    Authors regurgitated story of Red Cloud's war with little new detail and have very little knowledge
    of the setting of the story. Two errors which come to mind was that Ft. Caspar became capitol of Wyoming
     and that Scott's Bluff monument is highest point in Nebraska.  Sorry i purchased this error ridden tome!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    This book is really interesting!!!

    Great book a lot of facts that are not well know. This book is hard to put down. The story keeps your attention as each chapter is finishes you can't hardly wait to read the next one. The authors did an exceptional job of writing the story of the Indians of early America, and how the native Americans were treated as their land was stolen and their food supply was destroyed. An excellent book to expose the reader to the true facts of the early history of America.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Very good comments about the book by a civics teacher

    Purchased this book after B&N recommendation and reading numerous reviews for my son that has taught high school civics and a college level class for a number of years. He has always been very interested in Native Americans so I thought he should have this for his library. He told me it was very well written and couldn't put it down. A much loved gift. Thank you for your B&N recommendation by your on line staff.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Absolutely great read. Highly recommended.

    The kind of book that I could not put down.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    just a great read about the other ¿Little Bighorn¿    Wonderful

    just a great read about the other “Little Bighorn”    Wonderful insight into an amazing Indian leader and how it 
    affected the western frontier.   Great read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    History as it should be

    Superbly written, the authors do a remarkable job of telling a story only half-told before. A sad chapter in the "winning of the West" that thanks to this book, makes more sense but ultimately ... no sense at all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    It was so nice to be able to read a whole book on Red Cloud and

    It was so nice to be able to read a whole book on Red Cloud and share it with my children who are Native American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    excellent book of early American history also backs up a lot of

    excellent book of early American history also backs up a lot of what I have read on how the government took advantage of the north American Indian there was wrong committed on both sides

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Revisionist history at it's worst! The author portrays the villa

    Revisionist history at it's worst! The author portrays the villains as heroes and the heroes as villains.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    A Gripping Story of America

    This story is compelling and as relevant today as it was +150 years ago. I made so many notes and underlined so many passages that the book now looks like it may have been written contemporaneously to the events recounted.

    Drury and Clavin weave this history in such a manner that it brings to life the trials and tribulations of both our Native American brothers, as well as the Western European immigrants.

    This history is detailed, well-researched, provides unique perspective, and will help you learn a substantially untold story.

    In the end, this is a story of a proud American hero: Red Cloud.

    On a personal level, "The Heart of Everything That Is" gave me a little insight into myself. Having ridden through the Black Hills, as well as the surrounding plains, I feel in my soul the area truly is the heart of everything that is.

    I hope this review helps.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Only for seriously interested individuals

    This book is well researched and provides a historical perspective from a different point of view. But it tends to ramble and becomes easily diverted from the subject. It took me a long time to get through this because I could only read 10 or so pages at a time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    Great book.

    Fascinating history well told.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Good read.

    Interesting history. A must for anyone interested in Native American history.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly recommend¿Great Read

    One of the most comprehensive books on the Indian/American relations I have ever read!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    you bet

    i found it a very interesting book. Now feel i know more or the real events beyond that fool Custer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2