Customer Reviews for

The Heart's Frontier (Amish of Apple Grove Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Hi

    Love it*:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome! What a fantastic story full of adventure and suspense. Absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    An exciting Amish/English story - highly recommended

    Heart's Frontier is an exiting story of an Amish family who left their home with nothing more than what they could put in their wagon to move to a new homeland. They were robbed - helped by an English cattle driver. You'll have to read the book - don't want to tell you the whole story - then you wouldn't have to read the book. Couldn't believe the story ended. Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Highly recommended, if you like series books!

    This book , The Heart's Frontier, has a great mixture of Amish and English characters. if you read it you will immediately want to follow the characters in the Amish of Apple Grove series into the second and third book. I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Wonderful Read

    A great blend of the old west and my favorite, the Amish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Sweet Story

    I was asked to read this book by one of the authors, Virginia Smith, whose work I greatly admire. Not being familiar with the Amish or having read any Amish fiction, I was unsure how I'd react. However, I have to say with my entire heart that I loved this story. It's so sweet with such likeable characters. The aspect of two different faiths is handled carefully and respectfully. The setting places you in the old west, sweeping you out onto wide open horizons. It has a nicely handled plot and a wonderful romance. If you love a clean western romance with a Christian message, this is a great book to pick up. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    How can you NOT love this book? Or any book by these 2 wonderful

    How can you NOT love this book? Or any book by these 2 wonderful authors.

    We start out with 2 COMPLETELY different people. Luke, a cowboy trying to prove something to himself but mostly his father, that he can do anything, including being a trail boss for cattle drives. Then we have Emma, who is from an Amish community and is traveling with her grandmother, father and younger sister to go live with an aunt for awhile.

    While on the journey, Emma and her family are robbed and left with nothing. They run into Luke and God seems to have something better in store for everyone.

    This book says so many different things, but my takeaway is that we all seem to know what is best for our lives, only for God to poke us in another direction, the direction He wants us to go, even when we drag our feet. We don't always listen and sometimes He has to really get our attention.

    Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith made it feel as if I was traveling with everyone on the wagon and I hated for this book to end. Way too soon, but I can't wait to get my hands on A Plain and Simple Heart due out Sept 1st of 2012!!!

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Interesting characters and setting!

    Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith are two of my favorite authors. When they put their heads and their typing fingers together, it is amazing what they can accomplish. The Heart's Frontier is an exciting story of an Amish family left with nothing who meets a rugged cowboy... will he save the day or something more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A uniquely delightful twist on an Amish adventure!

    Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith are both fantastic authors. I've read both of their works in the past and knew when they co-wrote this book, that their fans were in for a real treat! I was right! This book is awesome. I loved every minute of this read, from first chapter to last. Generally, you either see books about Amish, or books about cowboys, but rarely do you see the two combined. Ms. Copeland and Ms. Smith took fun loving Amish and mixed them up with sweet, hunky cowboys and turned out a wonderful book. The characters were spunky, the plot line unique and well, it's definitely an interesting book. Emma Switzer is a young Amish woman who is setting out with her dad, Maumi and sister to her relatives in another town. Traveling by a very full wagon, Emma begins to wonder what her life holds in store for her. Back home, there is a young Amish widowed father, who needs a woman to marry him and help raise the children. But, Emma is sure she can't marry him for she doesn't love him. She knows the rules of the Amish but she still can't give in, for she refuses to marry for anything less than love. Along the way to her relatives home, they encounter a band of ruffian cowboys who steal their oxen and their wagon, filled with Maumi's dear, dear hutch made by her Grandfather. Her English grandfather. Despite the sadness that her spunky grandmother spreads when she goes on and on about the hutch, they push forward and reach a town. Once there, Emma prays and asks God to send them help. Luke Carson, an adorably hunky cowboy lands at the feet of....nuns. Or so he thought. Once he rights himself he comes face to face with a beautiful young woman dressed in Amish garb. Handing over money to her father, he walks away. But, something nags at him, and he returns to further help them. On the trail, trying to prove himself worthy of being a trail boss, he and his helpers encounter trouble after trouble, especially when the Amish family arrive to help them. But, as Luke spends his time trying to prove himself, he finds himself drawn more and more to the beautiful young woman. Can Amish mix with the trail? Can a cowboy settle down and take on the Amish ways? Or will God have other plans for these two very unique, very different characters? I truly loved the way this story played out. It was an magnificent twist on both the Amish novels and Westerns. It was filled with lovable characters who make their way into your heart to stay. And the best part about this 5 Book worthy novel? It's just the start to a sure to be hit of a series! These ladies are superbly talented and together, they created a fun filled adventure of life on the trail, and trusting in God to show you the way! I can't wait for the next novel, <em>A Plain And Simple Heart</em>, to release in September 2012!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    When the Amish Switzer family is attacked by robbers on the prai

    When the Amish Switzer family is attacked by robbers on the prairie, Emma Switzer loses everything she owns. But in her family’s search for help, love lands right at her feet.

    All tied up in a pretty little bow, right? Hardly.

    Luke Carson is a cowboy. Emma is Plain. How can they possibly find a common path?

    They have one week to find out.

    The Heart’s Frontier is one of the most compelling western romances I’ve ever read. The authors wove fun and laughter into the storyline, along with all the ruggedness and dangers of the frontier—specifically, the famous Chisholm Trail.

    Wonderfully well drawn and diverse characters make for a breathtaking ride on this unusual cattle drive. Emma’s acid-tongued grandmother, soft-spoken Papa, and lovesick little sister stand their ground with humorous aplomb amongst Luke’s collection of die-hard cowhands. Watching two proper Amish lasses learn to rope and ride ensures moments of thigh-slapping humor, but also delivers unexpected touches of heart-ripping angst. Getting a peek into the possible sacrifices their actions might set in motion forces the reader to wonder whether to root for Luke and Emma to be together…or pray they find love elsewhere.

    This is Amish-meets-Wild West at its hoof-thundering, heart pounding, Plain old best.

    Can’t wait for the next offering in The Amish of Apple Grove series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Amish + Cowboys = Great Reading

    Summary: This was a fun and entertaining book of the clashes between two very different worlds. The characters were fun and each played an important role in the story. This is one of the few Amish based stories I’ve read which I found several of the situations interesting. Likewise, it is the first story based in the 1800’s on the Chisholm Trail where cowboys drove cattle to the railheads. This story provided not only a sweet love story but it had humor and the main characters ended the story better people than when they began. (Not that either of them were bad)

    Digging a Little Deeper: Widower Jonas Switzer wants to find a suitable husband for his daughter, Emma. So the decision is made that Emma and her grandmother, maummi, will live with an aunt in a bigger Amish district where a suitable husband can be found. Their journey is hits a rocky spot early on when they are robbed of all their possessions. Soon afterwards they meet Luke Carson who is retrieving one of his cow hands from a saloon. Luke can’t walk away and not help the Switzers.

    As I got to know the characters I feel in love with almost all of them. Emma loves her Plain life, yet she finds herself questioning some of her teaching and loving the opportunity to ride a horse. Luke is one of those guys that is rugged and a hard worker, but has a tender heart for people and not just for the Amish. The no nonsense Maummi comes across as cranky but she has a heart for her family and isn’t afraid to go toe-to-toe with a certain cowboy or two.

    What follows are mishaps and adventures that are both funny and at times a little intense. But the biggest part of this story was two very different worlds learning to understand, respect, and support one another.

    As you can tell I really enjoyed this story. I enjoyed learning about the Amish, I loved the interactions between the characters and the story provided a variety of emotions.

    I want to thank the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book and look forward to future installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    The Power of Faith, Hard work, and Family

    I was impressed with how well this book was written and researched. I liked how the religious sentiments, prayers, and discussion of faith were so integral to the story and the lives of the characters. None of it felt forced or affected. The characters were believable and endearing. I especially liked the Amish grandmother. I understood and accepted her explanation to Rebecca and Emma of why she had married an Englischer, why she was happy with him, and yet why she didn't want her granddaughters to marry outside the Amish community and faith. The descriptions of the scenery and action were vivid and I often became lost in the story. The romance was sweet, innocent, and lovely. The characters' back stories and personalities were revealed expertly over the length of the story. I felt I was coming to know them all as naturally as if I were another character in the book. I definitely recommend this exciting, yet gentle story of the power of faith, hard work, and family in overcoming prejudice and evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    East Meets West Amish Style

    I enjoy reading Amish stories. This one is as different as East meets West, or Amish meets the Old Wild West!
    We are on the trail in Kansas, from one Amish Community to another, when the very unexpected happens. The family is robbed of their belonging, and left with nothing, but their lives. Emma Switzer's Father Jonas, Sister Rebecca, and Grandmother are traveling to Troyer, KS. Hoping that Emma will be able to find a husband, as there are a lot more Amish men available.
    After they are left on the trail, they pray for God's help, and are provided with assistance from Luke Carson. He is on a cattle drive, and anxious to get to Hayes Ks with his animals.
    You are going to love Grandmother Switzer...wait until you see what she does on the wagon ride!! To funny!!
    This story has some really sweet moments, and some tense and terrifying times. I really enjoyed this, and hope you do to.

    I received this book from the publisher, Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "the Lord could have cleaned him up first."

    Bestselling authors Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith weave an entertaining and romantic tale for devoted fans and new readers. The story begins with a typical Amish family group loading their wagon for a move and having an assist from family and friends in the community. The Amish are a tight knit community of believers. Kansas is the stage for this story and it is 1881. The Amish family undertaking this move (involving a history making handmade hutch) consists of grand mama, son (father), and two daughters as they begin their trek to a new community. They set out alone. No wagon train, no guide, no protection. Down the road away, they are accosted by a band of renegades who taunt them, steal their wagon and oxen, and all their food and possessions leaving them to manage on foot. They arrive in a small town penniless and in much need of help. Then a young cowboy (Luke) literally lands at their feet outside a saloon. Emma looks down and sees God's provision at her feet but thinks it would have been nice if "the Lord could have cleaned him up first." Hence begins a tale that will tickle your funny bone in places, give you assurance of the guidance of the Lord in the lives of these characters, and reveal the inner workings of the beliefs and traditions of a not-so-typical Amish family. Luke and his men and the four Amish help one another as rustlers try to steal the cowboy's herd that he is driving to market with his team of workers and as the Amish need to procure a means to get where they were going. And through their encounters with each other during this week-long cattle drive, an unlikely romance begins to bud. But that would be telling the story to you. When the wild and wooly west meets the calm, predictable, and traditional Amish, surely something interesting and unpredictable will happen. New on your book sellers shelves March 2012. This book is sure to be an engaging and lighthearted read that will entertain. I was provided a complimentary copy of The Heart's Frontier by Harvest House Publishers for the purpose of review. I was not required to render a favorable review. All opinions expressed are my own. Published March 1st 2012, ISBN 0736947523 (ISBN 13: 9780736947527)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1