BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Heavens Rise

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

¿The Heavens Rise¿ is a compelling supernatural horror story set

‘The Heavens Rise’ is a compelling supernatural horror story set in the deepest dark of Louisiana. The superbly detailed descriptions really brought the events and characters to startling life. While the story switched between past and present, it was woven in such a wa...
‘The Heavens Rise’ is a compelling supernatural horror story set in the deepest dark of Louisiana. The superbly detailed descriptions really brought the events and characters to startling life. While the story switched between past and present, it was woven in such a way the reader could see things unfolding in a way which made sense by the end. From the depths of the Louisiana swamp we meet a creature which has the capability to transform those with which it comes in contact and not everyone is ready or able to handle the abilities which manifest. Niquette (Nikki), Anthem, and Ben are a triumvirate whose love for each other brings them back together, even through the most horrifying events. ‘The Heavens Rise’ is a deep and psychologically chilling novel which will require an intensity of concentration, but is worth the effort.

posted by TheBibliophilicBookBlog on December 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I received a review copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange

I received a review copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
The Heavens Rise is a pretty typical Christopher Rice book. It’s got mystery, intrigue, and all around general weirdness. This is fairly usual for him, and if you have read any of his ...
I received a review copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
The Heavens Rise is a pretty typical Christopher Rice book. It’s got mystery, intrigue, and all around general weirdness. This is fairly usual for him, and if you have read any of his other books, you will notice certain patterns to his writing. They are almost predictable in some ways. It’s almost as if he has a template for his stories. There is always a twisted character and a homosexual character.

This book was ok. It wasn’t his best book, but it wasn’t his worst. I wanted to figure out the whys of what was going on. We are told in the blurb that Niquette Delongpre is still alive, but she doesn’t reappear until the end of the book. I think it would have been better to not know because I spent most of the book waiting for this girl to come back and make her grand appearance. And then when she does reappear, it’s somewhat disappointing.

This book was promoted as paranormal, but the paranormal element was minimal. The powers that the two characters are given are pretty weird, but since one of them isn’t present for the majority of the book and the other is in a comatose type state, There are only bits and pieces of paranormal experiences. The “powers” they are given are due to an organism in the pool at Niquette’s house. Marshall is the “twisted” character in this story, and he really is twisted. He deserves anything bad that happens to him. He’s pretty gross.

The story really focuses a lot on Niquette’s boyfriend Anthem and their best friend Ben trying to solve the mystery of what happened to Niquette and her family.

There are some good plot twists, and despite the problems I had with this book, the writing itself was pretty good. I just found myself wanting more from this book. Definitely not his best work, but still enjoyable if you don’t set your expectations too high.

If this is the first of his books you have read, I’m sorry. Don’t lose faith in him though. Pick up one of Rice’s other books and then decide whether or not to continue reading books by this author. He has a lot of good ideas and the writing is easy to follow. The plot twists are good and generally unpredictable.

posted by MBMarsh on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Marshall Ferriot has his eyes set on Niquette (Nikki) Delogpre,

    Marshall Ferriot has his eyes set on Niquette (Nikki) Delogpre, but her boyfriend Anthem Landry stands in his way. After engineering their breakup, Marshall and Nikki are exposed to a strange organism which will change their lives forever. When Nikki and her family disappear, and Marshall Ferriot ends up in a vegetative state and later also disappears, Nikki's friend Ben Broyard teams up with journalist Marissa Hopewell to investigate their disappearance. This search will last eight years. When people start suffering from strange blackouts and find themselves doing things they have no memory of and, as the trail of dead bodies increases, we are left to wonder: who is controlling whom and who will be left standing?

    "The Heavens Rise" is is a tale of revenge and unrequited love, with a bit of horror thrown in for good measure. The story is told via excerpts from the journal of Niquette Delongpre interspersed with past (2005) and present accounts by Marshall, Ben, Marissa, and a couple of other minor characters. The New Orleans setting is as much a character as any of the people.

    The author has a great writing style which flows easily. He is able to swap between different characters, male or female, black or white, gay or straight, and make them all believable. He weaves the story together in an artful fashion, never disclosing too much at one time. He even manages to inject some humor, as witnessed by this exchange between Ben and Marissa:

         "I'm working on a novel."
         "Don't bother. There're too many already and not enough people to read them."
         "Seriously? You realize you said that out loud, right?"

    Recommended for lovers of horror and young adult paranormal genres.

    I received this book for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    'The Heavens Rise' is a paranormal mystery/thriller set in Lousi

    'The Heavens Rise' is a paranormal mystery/thriller set in Lousiana. It tells the story of Niquette Delongpre and how her family disppeared without a trace in 2005. It also tells the story of Niquette's best friend Ben and her boyfriend, Anthem, as they continue to deal with their grief over losing Nikki. Lastly, it tells the story of a guy that Nikki rejected before she disappeared - and who now wants nothing but revenge. Suddenly, in 2013, Nikki and her father Noah reappear in New Orleans to Ben and Anthem. Their story is confusing, strange, and almost impossible to believe. Once Ben and Anthem realize that Nikki is telling the truth, they must race to find - and stop - the one other person who has the same power that Nikki does - before he finds them.

    This was a phenomenal novel that was a mystery, a paranormal thriller, and a Gothic contemporary fiction all at once. I'm a huge fan of the author and have read all of his previous works, but this one by far is my favorite. There are several smaller story lines intertwined with the main plot, but these only serve to show more detail to the overall story and weren't confusing at all. The characters were all incredibly well written, especially the three main characters of Nikki, Ben, and Anthem as well as the mysterious guy bent on revenge against them. They had distinct personalities with unique strengths and weaknesses and by the end of the book I felt like I personally knew each one of them. The setting was a perfect fit for the book. Louisiana and New Orleans hold an air of mystery and the supernatural already and the author grasps that and runs with it. The story itself is told in quite a different way than most novels - it is told between two different periods of time, 2005 and 2013, and is also split up and told from several different points of view. I enjoyed the way the author wrote the book because it gives the reader background to the characters, their relationships and the events that led up to what happened. We are then propelled into the present to see how the past events have affected the characters and their lives. I also liked how the differing points of view allows the reader to get inside the minds of different characters and see how they react to each other and the events that unfold. The paranormal aspect of the book was fascinating and truly unique. It definitely sets it apart from the other novels out there in the genre and in general. The only complaint I have is that at one point in the book I thought the author was going to go a certain way that I didn't want it to (I can't anything else without spoilers), but luckily it didn't go in that direction and completely restored my love of the book. The writing is impeccable with a fast pace, edgy thrills and twists, and a quick flow that made it impossible for me to put the book down. Very highly recommended for fans of paranormal fiction and mystery/thrillers. You definitely don't want to miss out on this one - it will be one that everyone is talking about for a long time to come.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    New Orleans was the perfect setting for a creepy horror novel li

    New Orleans was the perfect setting for a creepy horror novel like this - ancient evil, supernatural thriller - and the author's descriptions pre and post-Katrina were both wonderful and sad at the same time.

    I found it easy to like all three of the MCs, Nikki, Ben, and Anthem, with their vastly different personalities and strong bonds of friendship. Their relationships were very believable and heartwarming. Although Ben seemed to be just a third wheel initially, I liked him even more when he became a central character halfway through the book. At the other end of the spectrum, it was amazing the way the author created someone so vile and despicable as Marshall in so few words and actions.

    This story quickly drew me in and although it jumped around with time periods and Nikki's journal entries, it wasn't confusing and added to the suspense for me. The whole story began with someone wanting what they couldn't have and continued to gain momentum. By the end, I was left fascinated by how a minor thing in life could affect so many people and have such devastating consequences. The ending wasn't what I was hoping for, but considering everything that happened, it was probably the best outcome possible.

    When I began reading this book, I wasn't aware Christopher Rice was the son of Anne Rice. I've been a fan of hers for years and, in this case, the imagination and talent didn't fall far from the tree. This was the first book I've read by this author, but I'll be looking for others.

    This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    This is a story that looks into the power of true love and true

    This is a story that looks into the power of true love and true hate. IT is a psychological conundrum. A mixed bag of tricks that is a frightening story of the unknown danger that wells up with the water from the artisan well on the property of Elysium. It looks into the dark recesses of the human soul. The center of the story is about two teenagers are exposed to something that gives them strange and powerful abilities. The first is a boy named Marshall, a young man with strange haunting dreams and unsatisfied desires. After eight years of being in hospital care after his attempted suicide wakes up, his diabolical plan to control others and find her. His obsession may be the down fall of humanity. Niquette Delongpre has been missing those eight years after an accident that left little evidence. But her best friend and old boy friend, after exasperating experiences in their search for Nicki, some very strange occurrences happen in their life... Could Nicki be alive? Why did she stay way so long? Can Ben her best friend and local reporter in the after math of Katrina, and Louisiana's oil spill find the clues to find his long lost friend? Could she me the one to solve the mystery and save everyone? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Spectacular, poignant horror story!

    The Heavens Rise by Christopher Rice is spectacular. It melds the poignancy I've come to expect from him with a horror story Mama Rice only wishes she could write. If I could give this book more than five stars, I would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1