Customer Reviews for

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Save your money

    Gosh this should be on Self magazine
    Congrats on Bea's weight loss
    Took forever to tell a story
    The question is how will this affect her later on?
    I would NOT recommend this book
    Read the article, save the money and go to Starbucks!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Danny

    *he sighs, hugging his knees*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Hush

    I'm going to go die now. Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Skip. Skip. Skip

    Congratulations, i hope Bea's weight loss was worth gambling her self worth and image on. In 10 years we will probably see Bea with an eating disorder and blaming her mother for it. Which she should. Book was poorly written and just disgusted me.
    Bottom line, do not waste time or money on this drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A Must Read for Any Woman

    Starting this book I thought it would be an interesting read simply due to the scandal that surrounded Dara-Lynn Weiss' feature Vogue article. A few chapters in, however, I realized it was much more than interesting. This novel presents an enlightened view on what the word 'diet' should mean and the detrimental effect our society has had over the years on this word and the body images of women worldwide as a result. This book isn't just about a dragon-lady mom putting her daughter on a diet, this book is about a woman trying to keep her daughter from facing the trials of obesity while simultaneously keeping her from spiraling into an eating disorder. If you've ever had a complicated relationship with food this book is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is great shemakes a genuine effort to help her child. I commend her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I have not read this book yet, but would like to bring attention

    I have not read this book yet, but would like to bring attention to the dire need for attention and public awareness to be given to eating disorders. Anorexia takes10% of our children (or adult loved ones) away from us due to death by medical complications or suicide. I recently attended a Congressional conference in Washington DC regarding this serious and rapidly growing class of illnesses. Presenting devestating statistics that day, were a respected physician from NIMH, pediatricians, clinicians in the eating disorder field, and parents who lost a child due to an eating disorder, or who are fighting to keep their child alive who has been afflicted. On the reverse side of obesity, in which may take many, many years to put a child into a grave, there is anorexia, bulemia, and binge eating that can take our children away from us in a VERY short amount of time. I am a parent of a child who has been battling anorexia for almost two yrs now. We've been fortunate to be proactive and search for the most current treatment for this disabling illness that has been stigmatized and shamed wrongly. I am quite sure I'll gain a huge respect for Dara-Lynn Weiss after reading her book, and am thrilled that this leaves the opportunity for awareness being raised for eating disorders. One last note, my own book will be coming!

    0 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1