Customer Reviews for

The Heist (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Summer Read. I wasn¿t sure what to expect from this book.

A Fun Summer Read.
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book. Would it be Stephanie Plum meets David Niven or Jonathan and Jennifer Hart from the old T.V. series? It was closer to the second but with a hint of the first. Kate O’ Hare is an FBI agent who has spent ...
A Fun Summer Read.
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book. Would it be Stephanie Plum meets David Niven or Jonathan and Jennifer Hart from the old T.V. series? It was closer to the second but with a hint of the first. Kate O’ Hare is an FBI agent who has spent years of her life chasing Nick Fox, a smooth talking con man. She finally gets him and he manages to escape. She tracks him down in some ancient Greek monastery only to discover that the FBI engineered his escape so they could use him to catch a bigger fish. Kate ends up partnering with Nick and a crew of other folks to get a swindling hedge fund manager who took a half billion dollars and disappeared. They embark on an adventure that takes them all the way to Indonesia and back.
I really liked this book. Kate is a hard-nosed and competent agent with the only hint of Stephanie being her inability to eat without spilling food over herself. She has a loving father with an ex-Marine past but who still has contacts that come in handy for Kate’s mission. Nick is a charming, debonair, well-educated con man who is always looking for the next big score. I got a big kick out of the aliases he uses for his various cons. While there is a whiff of romantic tension between them, the primary theme of the book is the con and the danger it involves. The secondary characters are exactly that but we learn enough about them to be important to the story.
The book is written by the team of Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg and the two viewpoints blend seamlessly. You can see Mr. Goldberg’s T.V. experience in the knowledge he has of special effects and how they can be used. Both he and Ms. Evanovich are used to dealing with quirky characters and they keep that fairly subtle in this book. There is a definite sense that this is the first book in a series based on the ending. I hope so; I’d enjoy reading another book with these two characters.

posted by SharonRedfern on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

you have got to be kidding - Nook book same as hard cover - you

you have got to be kidding - Nook book same as hard cover - you are driving us our of using our Nooks and going to other products and other companies

posted by heinzel on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Summer Read. I wasn¿t sure what to expect from this book.

    A Fun Summer Read.
    I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book. Would it be Stephanie Plum meets David Niven or Jonathan and Jennifer Hart from the old T.V. series? It was closer to the second but with a hint of the first. Kate O’ Hare is an FBI agent who has spent years of her life chasing Nick Fox, a smooth talking con man. She finally gets him and he manages to escape. She tracks him down in some ancient Greek monastery only to discover that the FBI engineered his escape so they could use him to catch a bigger fish. Kate ends up partnering with Nick and a crew of other folks to get a swindling hedge fund manager who took a half billion dollars and disappeared. They embark on an adventure that takes them all the way to Indonesia and back.
    I really liked this book. Kate is a hard-nosed and competent agent with the only hint of Stephanie being her inability to eat without spilling food over herself. She has a loving father with an ex-Marine past but who still has contacts that come in handy for Kate’s mission. Nick is a charming, debonair, well-educated con man who is always looking for the next big score. I got a big kick out of the aliases he uses for his various cons. While there is a whiff of romantic tension between them, the primary theme of the book is the con and the danger it involves. The secondary characters are exactly that but we learn enough about them to be important to the story.
    The book is written by the team of Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg and the two viewpoints blend seamlessly. You can see Mr. Goldberg’s T.V. experience in the knowledge he has of special effects and how they can be used. Both he and Ms. Evanovich are used to dealing with quirky characters and they keep that fairly subtle in this book. There is a definite sense that this is the first book in a series based on the ending. I hope so; I’d enjoy reading another book with these two characters.

    58 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    you have got to be kidding - Nook book same as hard cover - you

    you have got to be kidding - Nook book same as hard cover - you are driving us our of using our Nooks and going to other products and other companies

    30 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I love the characters and can't wait for the next book in the series!!

    This was such a fun, light read. It's perfect for a weekend away from the real world!!

    30 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Fun Read

    I enjoy this author but was getting a bit tired of the Plum series. This book was a nice change but still held all the good things I enjoy from an Evanovich story. It was fun to read as my first read of the summer.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Janet Evanovich does humor and snappy dialogue like nobody else.

    Janet Evanovich does humor and snappy dialogue like nobody else.  Lee Goldberg writes quirky intrigue really well.  Combine the two and you have the beginnings of a really great new series.  

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    A fun read. I think fans of Stephanie Plum will also like Kate O

    A fun read. I think fans of Stephanie Plum will also like Kate O'Hare, the FBI agent hell bent on putting charming con man Nicolas Fox behind bars but never quite succeeding. I enjoyed the prequel, Pros and Cons, and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The characters are well developed. The storyline is well develop

    The characters are well developed. The storyline is well developed. The plot is interesting. A really great book!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    this book is fantastic

    this book is fantastic

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Good

    I love it

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    When I read the short story preamble to this novel, Pros & C

    When I read the short story preamble to this novel, Pros & Cons, I posted the following review: "This was a disappointment. I have long been a fan of both Lee Goldberg and Janet Evanovich, but this story failed to come to life. Though a coupleof the secondary characters gave promise of being interesting, there was no sense of life in either protagonist. Nick Fox was a blank, suitable for appearing on a Batchelor show, Kate was painted as a slob from the first paragraph and never rose above it. She never emerges as a real person. The big scene at the end of the wedding was flat. I will likely read The Heist, just because, but I have lost my sense of enthusiastically looking forward to it." I started The Heist, but gave it up after a few chapters. What I said in my original review still stands. The book has no life. I rarely put a book down unread, but there is nothing here to  pique even a little of my interest. I had hoped for much more.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Awesome

    Grest book try it

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Janet Evonovich's writing is still sinking into mediocre. As St

    Janet Evonovich's writing is still sinking into mediocre. As Stephanie Plum books get more and more boring and trite; this book starts out that way. Full of cliched and overused personalities (what little personality there is). Kate, the tough female FBI agent that despite being a former Navy Seal is naive and downright virignal when it comes to men. Nick the world wise con-artist that can make magic just by speaking. There are two bright spots in the whole book is Kate's father (ex-military that has innumerable covert operations to his name) and Willie, a middle-aged cougar that can drive or fly anything and is always looking for her next adventure. If you are looking for light drivvel that takes no thought to read for beach reading- this is the book for you. If you want an enjoyable lots of fun book that will keep you enthralled for hours- go back to the very early Stephanie Plum books. I may read future installments of this book but only free from the library. Will not be wasting my hard-earned money again.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    I didn¿t finish reading The Heist because I could not get past m

    I didn’t finish reading The Heist because I could not get past my annoyance with the portrayal of Kate O’Hare. It was apparent there was very little, if any, research done. First, women are still barred from being Navy SEALS. Also, I am retired military, female, and currently an investigator for the federal government. I was slightly offended with the idea the Navy “allowed” Kate O’Hare to resign her commission after she decked her Commander for groping her. That’s not how it works. Also, being so indecisive about her looks prior to her interview with Nick; cleavage/no cleavage, hair up or down? Get a grip! I not only didn’t finish this but have no interest in reading any sequels. I like Janet Evanovich’s previous books and was extremely disappointed in this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    I so badly wanted to like this book as I love her Stephanie Plum series but it was not to be. The two main characters in the book just weren't likeable. I couldn't have cared less how the story ended for them. The story line is just too far fetched. Sorry Janet! Stick with writing the Plum series maybe if you didn't waste your time with this stuff you could write more than one Plum book a year.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Loved it...Janet doesn't disappoint.

    Loved it...Janet doesn't disappoint.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    women can be a NAVY PER

    Women can be what ever they want women can do what men can do you go girl

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    A woman cannot be a Navy SEAL. The book was not up to the par w

    A woman cannot be a Navy SEAL. The book was not up to the par with the Stephanie Plum series.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    It's ok

    Disappointing. Cliche

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    This book sounds good. :);)

    This book sounds very good indeed. :);)

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Worst piece of trite garbage I've read since I almost got throug

    Worst piece of trite garbage I've read since I almost got through the first 25 pgs of a Jackie Collins book. Janet and Lee -- give up and try another career.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16