Customer Reviews for

The Hero (Thunder Point Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Robyn Carr is a master wordsmith. She puts together beautiful ro

Robyn Carr is a master wordsmith. She puts together beautiful romance and wonderfully winding plots. This is yet another great novel from Ms. Carr.

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Plot spoilers should be banned from giving so called reviews that give away the entire plot of the book. Every review here is a plot spoiler, including those who brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest'review. What a laugh. We all know you will give a 'g...
Plot spoilers should be banned from giving so called reviews that give away the entire plot of the book. Every review here is a plot spoiler, including those who brag how they got their book for free for their 'honest'review. What a laugh. We all know you will give a 'glowing' review for that free book, but the rest of us has to buy that book and you just ruined pal, by telling everything that happened. Who wants to read a book knowing every detail before it happens? I sure dont. And before some smart aleck pops off dont read them....i dont, but when they run on for miles, and you have to scroll past them, its hard not to see something that ruins the story. Think about the other readers before yiu ruin tge book for them. Jyst leave a few lines saying if its good or not. Thats all you need to do. You dont have to regurgitate the book.

posted by 8888649 on August 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Recommend series for enjoyable fast reads.

    I love this series. You can follow the characters from the other books of the series and how they intermingle with the new characters. I like how the community opened up to this young lady as it does for all newcomers. They are fast reads and I enjoy them between other books that are more complex.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Geesh!

    If you dislike the spoilers...then don't freaking french toast read them! It is quite obvious, the long reviews will more like have some too much detail in it.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4.5 Stars In The Hero (Thunder Point #3) by Robyn Carr,

    Rating: 4.5 Stars

    In The Hero (Thunder Point #3) by Robyn Carr, Spencer Lawson is new to Thunder Point but is already fitting in nicely, gearing up for his role as the town's new football coach. After the recent loss of his wife, he moved his son, Austin, to Thunder Point to be near his biological dad. Spencer didn't anticipate his reaction to a beautiful stranger who arrives in town with her young daughter in tow. He senses her fear of trusting strangers and knows she must have quite a story to tell. Spencer starts off just trying to become Devon's friend, helping her feel comfortable in town and letting her know he is available to talk to at any time. But before long he finds himself having crazy thoughts of building a relationship with Devon. He certainly isn't looking for a new love in his life, yet he can't deny his longing for her. They've both traveled a long, difficult road in the past but he hopes they can help each other heal and create a new life together.

    Devon McAllister and her three year old daughter, Mercy, are on the run. She left the commune under the cover of night with no plan other than to get as far away as possible to build a new life. A kind older gentleman gives her a lift into Thunder Point and offers to help her out, getting herself back on her feet again. At first Devon is leery of him, waiting for the other shoe to drop, but he proves to be honest and trustworthy. He introduces her to his friends and co-workers as his distant cousin. The kindness of these strangers is overwhelming to Devon initially but she soon realizes how lucky she is to have found such a place. Then Spencer surprises her by listening to her and helping out whenever possible, not expecting anything back in return. She's very attracted to him but tells herself it's too soon to even think about getting involved with someone. Spencer becomes a fixture in Devon and Mercy's lives and their friendship begins to grow until they can no longer deny their feelings. Just when they think they might finally find their happily ever after, old emotions and danger invade their lives. Will Spencer and Devon be able to fight their way through and come out unscathed?

    Book three in the Thunder Point series is yet another winner for Robyn Carr. The new addition of both Spencer and Devon to the small community brings us friendship, passion and danger. Even though the book focuses mainly on these two wonderful characters, we still get to catch up with the other residents in town and there are some major events that take place. (I don't want to ruin the fun and give any spoilers!) I highly recommend this heartwarming romance whether you've read the previous two books in this series or not.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    In The Hero, we get to continue with Spencer who we met in The N

    In The Hero, we get to continue with Spencer who we met in The Newcomer. For a man who has had quite a few blows over the recent months, he’s quite well-adjusted and handles the curveballs with maturity. Of course he’s going to have a few man moments, but he’s sweet, caring, and generous. He’s not perfect, but he’s pretty darn close.

    We also meet Devon for the first time. On the run from a cult, she lucks into Thunder Point and is welcomed with open arms (as is expected for these people). She’s had a rough few years too but she’s ready to start fresh and the little town is the perfect place to be. And meeting Spencer might be the best thing for both of them. I loved these two together and their growing relationship kept me quickly turning pages.

    Full review available at Romantic Reads and Such on wordpress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Hmmm..

    I like it! Really, I do! I would give it a four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Great read

    Gotta keep up with the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Bea

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Reese

    Where is everyone?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    Robyn Carr has done it again! Another must read series. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I love her series and this one doesn't disappoint. I still read

    I love her series and this one doesn't disappoint. I still read and re-read the The Virgin River novels and I have a feeling I will feel the same about this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    highly recommended

    Robyn Carr always give us a great series of small town life that is exciting and fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Robyn Carr has a winner!

    I really enjoyed this book along with the other two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Another great series by Robyn

    My favorite book of this series is #2 but I love all 3! I still like virgin river better but not because it's written better but just because I like the military theme in virgin
    Robyn is a great author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I think that Robyn Carr has a great feel for the off the beaten

    I think that Robyn Carr has a great feel for the off the beaten path trail. She understands how people can get to a place they never thought they would be (and not always in a good place) and how good people are what truly makes the world go 'round. Her characters have weak and tough moments, moments of doubt, anger, happiness and everything in between. We may not all suffer the extremes, but I can usually identify with part of each of the characters in some way. I believe in the good of people and Robyn helps keep that alive for me even in books. People, just like Rawley and Devon, are more than just what we see on the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Hero by Robyn Carr Love this series and it's location. This

    The Hero by Robyn Carr
    Love this series and it's location. This one is mainly about Rawley and how he picks up a woman and a child on the road very early one morning. He knows from her attire that she's from the Fellowship. It's like a prison and very few men and the women share them.
    Devon and her daughter Mercy have left with help from Laine and find themselves being introduced as Rawley's twice remove cousin. They are safe-they have even changed their appearance.
    The story is brought up to date with the others-Cooper who runs the bar/deli, his girlfriend Sarah and her son Landon. And Coop's son Austin with his dad live on the property for now and he's taken a job as the high school coach.
    Everything just falls into place, a place to stay, a job, daycare. The others in town help get the house ready by cleaning and fixing it up.
    Danger comes to town when they come looking for her ... steamy sex scenes ... She knew she asked him for the wrong thing, can they ever be friends again?
    I received this book from Net Galley via Harlequin MIRA in exchange for my honest review.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2