Customer Reviews for

The Hiding Place Girl

Average Rating 2.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Dont bother

    Gave one star because no stars is not an opton. A trully awful book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Slow

    V
    Depressing

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Disappointing

    The review made this book appear promising, but I was bored the whole way through. Wouldn't recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    depressing and disappointing

    A sad sordid book. Not very interesting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Bad

    I bought this lousy book because the cover was interesting and it had a high "star" rating. As I now read the reviews that gave it a 5-star rating....I realize that they were from imbeciles writing messages as jokes. I hated this book and quit reading it half way through. I would never have bought it I had bothered to read the reviews first....won't make that mistake again. Perhaps "NOOK" should read what is being posted on here and delete inappropriate posts!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Not very interesting.

    Sounded good, but no big secrets.... kind of sad and bizarre in a way that makes no sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Not as Good as Expected

    The Hiding Place Girl gets off to a great start, but sags in the middle and the end was not as satisfying as I had hoped. For all the build-up, the climax was anti-climatic.

    It ended up being a lot like any other coming-of-age book. Promises of a kind were made in the first chapters that didn't pan out. At points, I was wondering just how stupid this girl could be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I found the encapsulation of this book as I began to write the r

    I found the encapsulation of this book as I began to write the review.  The copyright page was limited to the title, author, copyright and ISBN – almost as if this book only existed on the devise upon which it was read.  Throughout its reading, I had the feeling I get when I see the shadow of a cloud pass over a meadow or feeling a quickly passing cooling current found in a summer-warmed lake – searching for its return until coming to believe it never really existed, its vagueness becoming an important character of the tale.  This ethereal quality of this lengthy novel seems random until the randomness is given definition as the story ends.  The reader who labors through the shadows of reading this book will be rewarded with sunshine at its book’s end.
    Renae Hayes, a girl from an unnamed, but well described city (those familiar with Louisville, Kentucky, could likely know the neighborhoods in which she lives, if not some of her precise addresses) who grew up in a home with a raging father and a weak mother who would offer no shelter to her children from his abusive.  From the trauma she experienced at home and in the Catholic primary school she attended, she learned to survive by locating various hiding places where she could experience some level of safety.  When she was young, those places were physical locations, as she grew older, those localities became less physical and more a search for connection.  575 of the 621 pages are filled with the “travels” of Renae as she seeks a place to belong.  Such a locale eludes her, though she ties her heart to a lot of seemingly permanent pillars that are proven to be made more of wish than substance.  Each time her connection is found to be empty, her search continues on its rambling, undirected path.
    When the source of Renae’s pain is found to be less powerful than she imagined, she begins to gain purchase in climbing the mountain of sand upon which she has been running all of her life.  She then finds the strength move from hiding to allowing herself to know her truth and to let others know who she is as well.  This moment of clarity occurs in a scared place, a place where she had once sought safety but found only confusion.  As she forgives those who harmed her, she finds the strength to likewise forgive herself for the crimes committed only in her mind against herself.
    The book is painfully slow at moments.  It is excruciating to read of someone, even a fictionalized character, continuing to make the same mistakes and expecting different results and Renae does this for most of the book.  Ms. Martin, according the biographical information at the end of the book, has studied Clinical Psychology and that knowledge is evident in the accuracy with which she creates Renae’s worldview.  (I hope that knowledge is from a book and not from personal experience.)  Her repetitive poor choices, the aimlessness with which she approaches life and her “hope for something better” while doing nothing to move in that direction creates within the reader, it seems, emotions very much like those Renae is experiencing.
    At present the book is available only in ebook format. Maybe it will be in book form, possibly made into a movie. Louisville’s Jennifer Lawrence would make a perfect Renae.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Horrible!!

    This book was terrible! I only got half way through and gave up. Its the rambling of an eleven year old girl that doesn't make sense. Plus people keep touching her and she touches herself. Its confusing and it made me uncomfortable. Don't recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    must read

    Awe inspiring. Makes you feel every moment. I am at a loss to actually describe how intimate and strong this book is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Good book

    You kinda fall in love with her and feel so happy she found someone to understand her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Josh

    Ready?

    0 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1