Customer Reviews for

The Highlander's Reward

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait for October 2012 for the 2nd book in

FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait for October 2012 for the 2nd book in the Bride Series. Not only were the main character's well written, but also the secondary character's had alot of depth too, and this will make the rest of the series hard to wait for. Well worth your time...
FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait for October 2012 for the 2nd book in the Bride Series. Not only were the main character's well written, but also the secondary character's had alot of depth too, and this will make the rest of the series hard to wait for. Well worth your time and money on the book. This was my first book by this author, and will not be the last.

posted by NavyWavelb on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

First of all, I paid 99 cents for this book and I am really glad

First of all, I paid 99 cents for this book and I am really glad about that - would have been very disappointed if I pa- you get what you pay for. Totally predictable, simply written story, in fact, quite adolescent. Could have been a good story if there was more deta...
First of all, I paid 99 cents for this book and I am really glad about that - would have been very disappointed if I pa- you get what you pay for. Totally predictable, simply written story, in fact, quite adolescent. Could have been a good story if there was more detail - the story seemed rushed right from the get go. I could not even get a good feel for the characters - not enough description - characters didn't seem real enough. Quick bathroom read - that's the best it was.id a cent more!

posted by Karen6 on July 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait for October 2012 for the 2nd book in

    FANTASTIC!!! I can't wait for October 2012 for the 2nd book in the Bride Series. Not only were the main character's well written, but also the secondary character's had alot of depth too, and this will make the rest of the series hard to wait for. Well worth your time and money on the book. This was my first book by this author, and will not be the last.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Eliza Knight has done it again. The Highlander’s Reward ma

    Eliza Knight has done it again. The Highlander’s Reward marks the beginning of a new series that already has me panting (no pun intended) for more.

    Arbella de Mowbray is tempted to ditch her father who is escorting her to her betrothed. She doesn’t want to marry Marmaduke Stewart, an English Baron living in Scotland. Before she’s able to come up with a plan, her party is attacked and she finds herself fighting for her life. In the thick of the battle, Magnus Sutherland, Laird of his clan, spots the beauty struggling with her attackers, and whisks her away to safety.

    Magnus’s party has just delivered his sister to her betrothed in the Lowlands, and with Arbella in tow, Magnus continues on toward home. An incident with one of his men when they stop for a break, convinces him the only way to keep Arbella safe is to marry her. His promise to marry another, and Arbella’s betrothal, doesn’t factor into his decision.

    I won’t tell more of the story so as not to spoil the fun. Ms. Knight has just added another wonderful story to her list of captivating books. And the fact this is the start of a whole new Eliza Knight series about Highlanders is exciting.

    The writing is quick paced and lively. Humor is sprinkled throughout. Magnus is a bear with a puppy’s heart, and Arbella is brave, honorable, and strong. They are a great couple.

    The Highlander’s Reward was my reward for being smart enough to grab this wonderful book as soon as it hit the cyber shelves. If you’re smart, you’ll grab it, too.

    Well done, Ms. Knight! Another winner.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great read. Waiting for the next in the series

    Great read. Waiting for the next in the series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Wonderful page turner!!!!

    This book was a wonderful page turner! I read it in 24 hours and had a smile on my face when I was done. The writing was great and the story flowed smoothly. I can't wait for the second book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Love the brawn

    The characters have depth and you can almost feel them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good read!

    This was a great story with strong characters. I really enjoyed it from start to finish. I am excited to read more books in this series as they are published.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    First of all, I paid 99 cents for this book and I am really glad

    First of all, I paid 99 cents for this book and I am really glad about that - would have been very disappointed if I pa- you get what you pay for. Totally predictable, simply written story, in fact, quite adolescent. Could have been a good story if there was more detail - the story seemed rushed right from the get go. I could not even get a good feel for the characters - not enough description - characters didn't seem real enough. Quick bathroom read - that's the best it was.id a cent more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A swoon worthy romance I love me a Scottish romance. And this o

    A swoon worthy romance

    I love me a Scottish romance. And this one was a little different than the many many others that I have read. This time he saves her, than marries her to save her some more. And this time it’s not about rival clans…oh no. It’s the war between the English and the Scottish in the 1200s and a certain Brave-hearted William Wallace ever makes a littler appearance. So it tickled the historian in my a little. Then there were the characters. Arbelle…she willing admits that she can somewhat fight, but that in a battle she may not be that good. But, she still tries. Points to her. Then there is Magnus…the big softy. Or so you think. He is a good man, but then he is determined to woo her. He says he won’t kiss her until she asks, but he likes the process of making her ask. Teasing her at every moment. She has an iron will I tell you. There were some things that I found a little off, like the fact that she falls for him in about two days. However, taking into consideration he time and the fact that he saves her twice and is a complete gentlemen…he’s a keeper and ever woman would know it. There was a lot of swooning going on.
    Good:
    Arbella—a fighter, but not a warrior and willing to admit it. But, stubborn as heck. Love it
    Magnus—a good guy. A softy. A hunk. A Keeper.
    Also, there was some battle, and promise of more to come
    Bad: 
    The time in which they fall for each other seemed a little far-fetched. I guess I’m not a believe of love at first sight. For those that are they will probably love this. 
    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):
    Overall I found the characters interesting and the story line interesting as well. I never had to re-read anything or got confused (expect sometimes trying to remember who was who). Instead I was whisked away to a land filled with hot plaid-covered warriors with warm hearts that, in turn, warmed mine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Absolutely Loved It!

    One of those books that you cannot stop reading. Great story. Would highly recommend this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    An incredible Scottish Romance from Eliza Knight! "The Hig

    An incredible Scottish Romance from Eliza Knight!
    "The Highlander's Reward" completely enveloped me into its sensual and passionate storyline from the very beginning all the way through to the end.
    I can't wait for the release of the next in her series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    waste of time and money!

    The best thing I can say about this book is that it was well edited. The characters had no depth, the setting felt modern even though it was supposed to be Scotland in 1297, and the story was sooooo predictable with no tension or conflict to draw the reader in. I made it to page 360 out of 726 before finally giving up...and I NEVER leave a book unfinished! I typically read a new book every two or three days, most of which are either free or $.99 Nook books. This book was one of the worst I've read in a long time. I can't imagine how there are so many positive reviews, unless they are from friends of the author or publisher. Spare yourself from the disappointment- skip this one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Best book I've ever read!

    I loved this book and can't wait to read the rest in the series. It is a page turner. I finished the entire book in two days. I would definitely reccomend this book. If you enjoy this book, you will love "Ransom" by Julie Garwood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    It was ok

    Nothing great I am sorry to say

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good....................................................

    Nice story. Predictable. No real surprises but a nice steady read. Could have used a little editing. Didn't need to be 726 pages. Could have used a little more conflict. The problems they had were too easily solved. But still nicely written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Read outlander

    I was going to buy this but from the description it sounds like a rip off of the outlander series by diana gabaldon

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Awesome

    Such great romance and suspense a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!YOU Must Read this Series!!

    Very very good read. Keeps you entertained page by page. Not a boring part of the book!! Really enjoyed this book, also reading the rest of the series!! Sooo! Good!! I love a story that has you turning the pages and wanting to read ahead to find out what's going to happen. But you don't cause you don't want to ruin the story!! Go ahead get this book! You won't regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Good read

    Always enjoy the Highlander reads. For me 700 pages plus. The story made me feel that I was there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It had the perfect mix of adven

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It had the perfect mix of adventure, action, and romance in my opinion! Arbella was a very likable heroine, who was a strong character, but also feminine enough to make her a good romance novel character.




    I love historical fiction romance novels, and this definitely had all of the characteristics of a good one. In my opinion, the best historical fiction romance novels involve characters who end up falling in love in spite of the fact that their countries are at war. This novel definitely has that with an English/Scottish rivalry that helps to spice up this story and add to the overall interest. Not only is this story a great romance novel, it also has enough historical content woven throughout to keep the history nerd inside of me is happy. I loved the author's descriptions of the surrounding landscapes, which take your breath away, and put you right in the story with them.  I also love the way she is able to add real historical content into the book, which definitely makes it more interesting and realistic.




    I would definitely recommend this book to both lovers of historical romance novels. It kept my interest the entire time, and I would gladly read another book by Eliza Knight.




    I give this novel FIVE out of FIVE stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3