BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Highway

Average Rating 3.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate

C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate this thriller of a mystery story. Once I realized that this is NOT the same style as my favorite Joe Picket books, I quickly got engrossed in this fast passed story that covers only a couple of hair raising...
C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate this thriller of a mystery story. Once I realized that this is NOT the same style as my favorite Joe Picket books, I quickly got engrossed in this fast passed story that covers only a couple of hair raising days in a few people's lives. Evil travels the highways and I might just need to avoid highways for a few days until I get my breath back! 




Cody Hoyt, ex-alcoholic policeman, has bypassed the law again, for all the right reasons, but bypass them he did. This has given his purely politically minded boss just the excuse he needed to fire Cody. Unfortunately, Cody's new rookie partner, Cassie Dowell, was sent to spy on Cody to provide the evidence of his wrongdoing. As a single mom, she felt obliged to follow through, but she also felt terrible doing this to a man she truly respects for his record of closed cases.




As Cody and Cassie moan their situations in a local bar, Cody breaks his sobriety. But a couple hours later, Cody's son, Justin, calls to tell his Dad that Justin's girlfriend and her sister have gone missing while they were traveling the highways to Justine's house for Thanksgiving. Cody leaves to check out the situation, even though he no longer has "cop status". Cassie, on her own time, mans the computer to seek information. After a few hours, communications for Cody stops also, and Cassie goes on the search for answers. Troubles they will find, as pure evil shows it's ugly face. 




This is definitely a darker story than other C J Box books, but the thrills and "issues" are definitely shining through in this story also. The book is populated with deeply flawed characters whom you will root for, and also with purely evil characters whom you wish never existed in real life---but , unfortunately, they do exist. Fortunately for me, Box manages to give just enough descriptions so that I "got the evil" without lots of gratuitous descriptions of blood, gore, and excessively described pain. The "possibilities" that Box describes are so reasonably likely, that it made my mind race for possible solutions. I love that Box tells a great story, which also makes me think, as well as just enjoy his great mysteries. Could this be a future new series for Box? let's hope so!!!

posted by RonnaL on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

this is a depraved book that I read and sorry that I did I would

this is a depraved book that I read and sorry that I did I would warn anyone thinking about getting it to leave it off your list, just not worth the read worst Box book yet

posted by Larryb52 on August 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate

    C J Box revives some characters from BACK OF BEYOND to populate this thriller of a mystery story. Once I realized that this is NOT the same style as my favorite Joe Picket books, I quickly got engrossed in this fast passed story that covers only a couple of hair raising days in a few people's lives. Evil travels the highways and I might just need to avoid highways for a few days until I get my breath back! 




    Cody Hoyt, ex-alcoholic policeman, has bypassed the law again, for all the right reasons, but bypass them he did. This has given his purely politically minded boss just the excuse he needed to fire Cody. Unfortunately, Cody's new rookie partner, Cassie Dowell, was sent to spy on Cody to provide the evidence of his wrongdoing. As a single mom, she felt obliged to follow through, but she also felt terrible doing this to a man she truly respects for his record of closed cases.




    As Cody and Cassie moan their situations in a local bar, Cody breaks his sobriety. But a couple hours later, Cody's son, Justin, calls to tell his Dad that Justin's girlfriend and her sister have gone missing while they were traveling the highways to Justine's house for Thanksgiving. Cody leaves to check out the situation, even though he no longer has "cop status". Cassie, on her own time, mans the computer to seek information. After a few hours, communications for Cody stops also, and Cassie goes on the search for answers. Troubles they will find, as pure evil shows it's ugly face. 




    This is definitely a darker story than other C J Box books, but the thrills and "issues" are definitely shining through in this story also. The book is populated with deeply flawed characters whom you will root for, and also with purely evil characters whom you wish never existed in real life---but , unfortunately, they do exist. Fortunately for me, Box manages to give just enough descriptions so that I "got the evil" without lots of gratuitous descriptions of blood, gore, and excessively described pain. The "possibilities" that Box describes are so reasonably likely, that it made my mind race for possible solutions. I love that Box tells a great story, which also makes me think, as well as just enjoy his great mysteries. Could this be a future new series for Box? let's hope so!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a phenomenal mystery/suspense book. I really like C.J. B

    This is a phenomenal mystery/suspense book. I really like C.J. Box's fast writing pace. He keeps the story moving at a really quick pace. There lots of twists and turns. The characters are all very well done.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and Twisted

    How many times have you heard DO NOT get in a stranger’s vehicle? If The Highway by author C. J. Box doesn’t prove the dangers of that action, nothing will! Teen sisters, Danielle and Gracie Sullivan, in an act of parental defiance, take a road trip to see Danielle’s boyfriend, Justin (Deputy Sheriff Cody Hoyt’s son), but they never arrive. On a lonely stretch of highway, their car breaks down and the trucker that stops to “help” them becomes their biggest nightmare. Known as the Lizard King, this trucker is actually a twisted monster who preys on women for his own perverse pleasure. Will Cody be able to save them before it’s too late? Will the vast beauty of the landscape work against him?

    The Highway is very dark, an edge of your seat, twisted and gut-clenching battle against an evil so vile, you may want to lock your loved ones away for their own safety! From start to finish, there is no reprieve for your nerves or your imagination! Author C. J. Box has developed his hero with flaws, making him all the more real! He even nailed the teen defiance and daring! When the beauty of the surroundings can become menacing, as well, you KNOW you’ve found some great writing! The pace is quick, the plot is deep and you will be haunted by its contents long after the last page!

    An ARC edition was provided by NetGalley and St. Martin's Press/Minotaur in exchange for my honest review.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This was my first C.J. Box book,and I'm not real sure why.I had

    This was my first C.J. Box book,and I'm not real sure why.I had read alot of reviews on the book,lots of good reviews.So I figured I'd give it a shot.Well to my surprise I couldn't put it down! Needless to say I will be reading more of C.J. Box.I don't want to give away the story but it twists and turns like a rattlesnake.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this is a depraved book that I read and sorry that I did I would

    this is a depraved book that I read and sorry that I did I would warn anyone
    thinking
    about getting it

    to leave it off your list, just not worth the read worst Box book yet

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Not recommended

    This is the first C J Box book that I will not recommend. The story is too gory and the language is too rough throughout. The story reminds me of a true incident in the 1980's of a college girl who was raped and murdered in WYoming as she was traveling home on a lonely highway. Too sad.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Good, twisted read

    This is the first book I've read from C.J. and I was impressed. The plot was twisted, but it held my attention. The character development was great and you'll find yourself hating quite a few based on their attitudes and actions. Definitely a must read... but beware, you may start looking at other drivers differently.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Generally a good plot but......

    Moved slowly thru 300 pages. Like other reviewers said, not enough action.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Any book I spend an entire day reading deserves five stars. This

    Any book I spend an entire day reading deserves five stars. This one is dark but compelling. He also goes where few authors dare, and for that, I'll bet the reviews for the book will be polarized. I'm glad I read Back of Beyond first, because Box brings back characters from that book. The story reflects his research into the dark side of long-haul truckers--you'll probably never drive past a truck stop without wondering what else goes on there. The characters are realistically flawed. All in all, a scary book, because it could happen. In fact, Box said he got the idea for the book when he learned there's an FBI task force that's looking into disappearances of prostitutes from truck stops. (And make sure you get your car serviced immediately when the engine light comes on!)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Left me underwhelmed. I like Box's work normally, but this one

    Left me underwhelmed. I like Box's work normally, but this one made me feel I wasted my time reading a book that glorified the villian while trashing the investigators by making them act non-professionally.

    Come on! If you're going to charge me this much, make it worth my time reading it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2014

    This novel will definitely grab your attention and hold on to it

    This novel will definitely grab your attention and hold on to it from the very first page! It is somewhat different from the Joe Pickett novels I love so much. (But, hey! Who doesn't love Joe Pickett and the gorgeous outdoor imagery and character interplay of that series once you read them!) This is more intense in the psychology of the protagonists and more of a who-done-it I would say. It definitely is very dark in places, but not as severe as I thought it might be after reading some of the reviews that I read here on B&N. However, if I had teenaged daughters I would definitely sit them down for a long safety lecture after reading this! This was a great read and you won't want to put it down until you know the outcome. I reserve five stars for the best of the best, (like the Joe Pickett novels!), but this is a really very good read with some great character development! You won't be disappointed! You might want to keep your dog close by though! Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Terrifying--you may never hit the open road again!

    When I saw the return of Cody Hoyt, I thought, "Oh, a new series by C.J. Box!" Not too far in, however, I realized this was not to be. There was a lot of suspense waiting to see what fate would befall the Sullivan girls. The villains are pure evil, and makes one wonder whom to trust. I recommend this for Box fans, but when you finish you will sure be missing Joe Picket! For my next book, I chose a lighter read, a mental palate cleanser.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Thinking about this book even after I put it down

    First book i've read by C.J. Box....and half way through I purchased several more.....love this book.....made me feel like I was right there....the killer was one sick twisted person and you felt like you were in the truck with him......Highly recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    good book

    very good book u won't be sorry if u purchase. Have never been disappointed with any of his books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    I read this book in two days! It was hard to put it down but I

    I read this book in two days! It was hard to put it down but I had to because I have a full time job and two toddler boys! It's very dark and thrilling and THAT is why you can't put it down. You just want to know what will happen next. Can't wait to read more of C.J. BOX!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    The Highway was incredible!

    Really loved this book! Read it in two days and can't wait for the sequel. Kept me so involved that I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Another Box must read.

    A thoroughly engrossing story with a little bit of horror thrown in. CJ Box knows how to weave a suspenseful story that keeps you guessing and very involved. I have read many CJ Box stories and enjoyed them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    terrifing

    you will never what to drive the by roades alone in the dark again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Just not up to his normal standards.

    Just not up to his normal standards.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Check it out!

    Once again, C. J. Box at his best. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5