BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Hobbit

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Maibe childish, but unforgetable.

Short, easy to read, not mind-messing stuff

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very good, it sets the stage right for The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Even though it might seem childish at times it is a truly great book.

posted by lmcNYC on March 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Maibe childish, but unforgetable.

    Short, easy to read, not mind-messing stuff

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    GREAT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Good book

    Bilbo,Gandalf,nd the dwarves set out on a dangeruos mission to defeat Smaug the dragon. The dangers include giant spiders,goblins,an of course, Smaug.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Tremendous! +10 Stars!

    This is a true masterpiece - a real work of written art. I very thoroughly enjoy this book, and wholeheartedly recommened it to everyone! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Awesome book!!!!!

    It is the best book I ever read in my live!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Great book

    I love this book! The writing style is great, and the story is very very interesting. If you are thinking or have seen the movie, read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Great book!

    Definitely a must-read for virtually anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Classic story, exactly what you would expect from Tolkien

    The Hobbit is a classic story, well written, much like you would expect from one of the great authors in history. It was fun to read the book and compare it to the movie, though, I enjoyed the book more, myself. Tolkien does a great job of bringing you along on the adventure.

    I am normally not a fantasy reader, but decided to read "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings" simply because they are so classic. Glad I took that step out of my normal thriller reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    The Hobbit is an excellent and accessible fantasy story for kids of all ages

    Growing up, my father often read to us from the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings. In the Hobbit, Tolkien created a foreign and strange world with imaginative characters and settings.

    The Hobbit tells the tale of an unlikely adventurer who finds the courage to step outside of his comfort zone and see the world.

    Even though the Hobbit is filled with excitement and danger, it is a much lighter novel than the Lord of the Rings series, and is thus better-suited for children than Tolkien's later works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good, it sets the stage right for The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

    Even though it might seem childish at times it is a truly great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Once you start reading, you can't stop!

    Very easy to read and understand, I love this book, I recommend you read this book with your feet bare while smoking a pipe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    first, I want condemn you as a store for trying to get me to sign up for trial offers that would have committed to further charges on my credit card !!!

    The is the BEST , you can't beat if you like the genre

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Awesome

    Best book i've ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    As am As om

    So cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is my second favorite book. You just can't put it down :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    This book is well written, the story line keeps you gripped, and

    This book is well written, the story line keeps you gripped, and the character building by J.R. is always exceptional. If you are afraid that this book is too violent, as the movie was, I think it is safe for young teenagers who enjoy the fantasy fiction genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Get the hobbit

    The hobbit is just really cool.(p.s. watch mad the hip hop hobbit on cartoon network.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3