Customer Reviews for

The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings

Average Rating 5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    JR Tolkein Creates a Mystical World

    This is the sort of book where the descriptions are so captiviting, you can feel like you're there in the Hobbit's world with things like the Hobbit climbing up the trunks and branches in an exotic forests canapied where giant spiders roam, and mystical creatures arriving on the scene. That's just a touch of an example, as I'm not quite C.S. Lewis to captivate how captivating he makes things. I read it during High School and my 12 year old plans to read it next year if not sooner. It's the sort of book that many age groups can find captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    AWESOME!!!!

    This books are so cool! I couldn't put them down.And they are not your average hero-happy ending either.I highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Lord of the Rings Summary- what it's all about

    LOTR is set in a fantasy world. One day, Frodo Baggins, a hobbit (a mythical 3 foot tall person), inherits a ring that was made by the bad guy, Sauron. Sauron put most of his strength and power into it, so that he could control the world better. When he lost the ring ages ago, he became weak and could not 'cover all the land in darkness'. But now he sees that Frodo has this ring, and he wants it back- but he must not get it. So Frodo has to go to drop the ring in the only place in the world that will destroy it- a smoldering volcano, Mount Doom. But unfortunately, Mount Doom is right next to Sauron's castle, and the more you have the ring in your possesion, the more evil you become, and the more yu want to keep it and not destroy it. But for the good of the world, Frodo sets out on his long mission. A Fellowship of the Rings, 9 companions, is formed to guard him from Sauron's almost undefeatable minions that try to attack him and take the ring. This fellowship is made up of 3 of Frodo's hobbit friends, one dwarf, one wizard, and one tall and noble elven-prince (in Tolkien's world, Elves are tall and beautiful and immortal- like angels). The story of their trip to mount doom is underlaid with many battles, more (but less harmful) badguys, and a few romances, which all are unescapably tied in with the fate of the One Ring. Once you start reading this book, you will think of nothing else! JRR Tolkien was a perfect genius- not only did he write the story, he made family trees, 3 or 4 complete alphabets, and several languages. An utterly beautiful, moving, surreal book, I advise you to read it first, then watch the movies, which almost perfectly follow the book, and realize your favorite characters to perfection. Hurry up and become one of the millions of fans that have been touched by this epic work of art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2004

    The Fellowship of the Rings

    -Great Book. I recomond the toiklen trilogy for mature teans. I absoulutley loved it. It is about a young lad named Frodo. He is given a ring with amazing power. But now he has to run from the dark forces of evil. Will he escape? Find out by buying the box set from Barnes and Noble or try our website. by Brandon 10/2/04

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    The Best Fantasy Epic

    I read the hobbit first, before watching the movies. After I saw the movie (which my dad forced me to see) I absolutely fell in love with Middle Earth. As soon as I read the books, I knew I'd be a fantasy fan for life. At first the book is really slow but once Frodo and his companions reach Rivendell and finally set off on their journey, the real adventure begins. I am just beginning The Return of the King but it was the best $45.00 I spent in my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    very good

    very good and always is. these books are hard to get through the beginning but once you do they are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Greatest piece of epic literature to ever exist

    Although the length is daunting it is necessary in that you become so immersed and personalized with this world and these characters that it ultimately becomes the best story you've ever read. You cannot walk away without this leaving a strong lasting impression on you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    The Best Piece of Literature Ever Written

    I've read Lord of the Rings twice so far. The first time I read it, it seemed like a really cool story. Then I went and read it again, and it enveloped me. This book is not the kind that grabs you by your shoulders and takes you for a quick ride. It quietly, almost unnoticably begins to penetrate you, and by about halfway through you begin to fall in love with the characters. By the end you are living in Middle Earth, it is coursing through your veins, and you will never be the same again. You are a changed person, constantly pondering the depth and genius of Tolkien's epic. It becomes a part of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Excellent Epic Story

    I read these books after seeing the first movie, and there is a lot more in the books that you miss out on by just seeing the movie. You learn more about Frodo and his friends as they take a long journey to Mordor, and it's very enjoyable and you really feel for them. Great book for anybody with an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    I love this

    I am only 11 and I love this series it is worth its money....REALLY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    Most Captavating Book Ever!

    This is the best trilogy I have ever read. Many think it is to big for children, but it appeals to people of all ages. This book grabs you and doesn't let go until you to have become a Tolkien fan(which you will).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    A Classic and Meaningful Epic- from a reader who normally hates fantasy!

    I read the series at the urging of a friend just before i saw the movie. i was so enthralled that finished it in a week. i have loved to read since i was a child, and Tolkien's books are some of the best yet! He writes in a clever manner, much like C.S. Lewis, and weaves a beautiful underlying theme. I especially appreciate the history he wrote for it, which, in my opinion, makes it complete

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Excellent Books!

    The movie inspired me in buying the books. The books are great and J.R.R was and still is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Kept me up at night - it's that good

    This book actually kept me up at night. I could not sleep because I CARED and WORRIED about Frodo and his friends. I wanted to know what would happen to them. Unlike many protagonists in modern literature, Frodo and his companions are true HEROS. They are inspiring, virtuous & self-sacrificing. I literally dreamed about this book several times - it is that good. Next to the Bible, this is the greatest book I have ever read. I am amazed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Better than the movies!

    Okay I loved the movies. I loved them so much I was one of the first in line to see Two Towers. The books are the best, most greatest masterpieces ever written in the whole wide world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    A Tolkien Way of Life

    I began reading J.R.R. Tolkien's works nearly 30 years ago, and was caught up in the fantasy. My favorite work is the Simarillion. I gave my daughter the (middle) name of Galadriel because the elven queen epitomizes the strength of women. No other fantasy writer has come close to the 'reality' of Tolkien. Every once in awhile I take down my books and once again embark on the journey to 'the Blessed Realm'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Five-Star Imagination!

    Marvelous books! And I still prefer reading the original books to the movie representation. These adult fairytales are remarkable for the flow of the text and the memorable character descriptions and are perhaps best left to the imagination of the reader. Having read and re-read these 50-year old adventure tales, I was left bereft and wondering where to turn to next for a another imaginative fantasy read? Although Tolkein's works stand apart as classic literature, I did manage to find an exciting new sci-fi/fantasy book: "ACCUSED BY FACET-EYES" by the author/scientist C.B. Don. After all, there comes a time when we must all move on, even from our dearest Frodo and all those lovable hobbits and mischievous Elves! I am happy to report that I really enjoyed reading the fantastic adventures in "Accused By Facet-Eyes", which take the reader into a unique, vividly imagined fantasy world. Yet, perhaps because it is our own world that is dealt with, the "Accused By Facet-Eyes" tale is even more fascinating and personally touching. The gentle eco-message makes it just right for our times and the thoughtful verses are never as long-winded as some in Tolkein's works...just a minor flaw in an otherwise perfect classic. Well, if you ever wish to try something different, yet still soul-stirring in imagination, I would recommend, "Accused By Facet-Eyes". You may even find that this new science-fiction/fantasy will share a special place in your heart and on your bookshelves with all the favorite great Tolkein and Jules Verne fantasy tales!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Tolkien is an extrodinary writer...

    I am impressed with Tolkien's writings. His whole Middle Earth history is so detailed. His talent for detail and imagination is so amazing. What is also amazing is how he takes a character most of us would not want to read about, a hobbit (most people would want to read about Aragorn or Legolas), a small hairy little creature, and made him a character forever to be in our hearts. He also just makes every scentence interesting. Instead of puting "There were 24 many poeple in the room." he says "There were four and twenty souls in the room." Just making you think more, challenging you to go outside the box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    From Panamá

    first: excuse my limited english !! For years i said to anyone who recommended Tolkien 's work to me that i was not going to waste my time reading 'those kind of books', that i prefer something more 'intelectual'...Until i saw the movie, read the hobbit, read the lord of the rings, the silmarillion and bought the Atlas of Middle Earth. To put it simple: I completely fell in love with Tolkien's world. Very good written, extraordinary work of imagination. I'm going to raise my children reading to them all this wonderfull stories. I only regret not have discover Tolkien years ago...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    An emotional, breathtaking journey!

    I am at loss of words to describe how wonderful this outstanding work of literature truly is. I read the Hobbit before the Fellowship hit theaters, and I knew right after seeing the movie that I had to read the trilogy. I recommend the books for anyone, young or old, who wants to journey into another world, one that is filled with wonders, surprises, and above all, lessons. This masterpiece has become a part of my life, and its story will stay ingrained in the hearts of many for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 187 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10