Customer Reviews for

The Holy Bible, NKJV: God's Word in Action Ministry Edition

Average Rating 4
( 585 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Holy Scriptures, God's Word, is worth reading.

I've been told this more times that I can remember that the Bible, God's Word, is hard to read because it's boring. I beg to differ.

Start reading the Gospel according to John first. You will learn about the Light of the world...Jesus Christ the Son of God - the Go...
I've been told this more times that I can remember that the Bible, God's Word, is hard to read because it's boring. I beg to differ.

Start reading the Gospel according to John first. You will learn about the Light of the world...Jesus Christ the Son of God - the God man -- fully human and fully God. God's redemptive plan for our salvation is put into motion. Then go back to the beginning.

Genesis, the book of beginnings, is the first book of the Old Testament. Genesis records how everything began. In this book, you'll meet the first couple, Adam and Eve, who were married by God Himself. This happy couple had it all: each other and a beautiful garden to live in and work. Everything was perfect until the deceiver came along. This deceiver, Satan, tempted Eve to eat the forbidden fruit and that started a chain reaction of failure and heartache that has lasted to this day and will continue until Christ returns.

The Old Testament tells the history of the world, the birth of the nation Israel, the major prophets (like Moses and Elijah), the minor prophets and a book of Psalms (songs, poetry, etc.) and Proverbs (wisdom from King Solomon), who was the wisest man on earth at that time. Ecclesiates was Solomon's journal, in which Solomon focuses on the meaning of life.

The New Testament focuses on the four gospels according to Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. The books of Acts focuses on the apostles who set up the churches and introduces us to Paul, who in his early years persecuted the church. Paul was a murdered, but Jesus Christ changed him. Paul, under the Direction of the Holy Spirit, penned most of the New Testament letters.

Read God's wonderful Word and you'll never be sorry. Below are some study guides I recommend for every new believer.

posted by BookLoverInNeLA on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

do not buy

Unless you like to scroll through the entire bible, do not buy this version of the bible. You cannot just search and open one the books. I wouldn't even give this 1/2 a star, but the only choice was 1 through 5.

posted by 2734745 on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    do not buy

    Unless you like to scroll through the entire bible, do not buy this version of the bible. You cannot just search and open one the books. I wouldn't even give this 1/2 a star, but the only choice was 1 through 5.

    72 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed with Customer Service

    I love the NKJV Bible, but this Bible ebook is so disappointing. Everytime I try and open it freezes the nook. The only way to unfreeze the nook is to remove the battery. I contacted BN Customer Service and they refused to refund my money, and this ebook is unreadable at this time. This is a waste of money.

    45 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Poor Compatibility w/ Nook

    I downloaded the NKJV Bible for my Nook, and the Nook has been giving me a lot of problems. It formats for a very long time and the table of contents is not user friendly. You have to scroll down from each book and each chapter to go to the next book. Also, the search engine cannot fully function because there's too much info. This but needs to be fixed.

    36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    ugh

    I wish I could give a minus star rating. this isfine if youwant to read through from Genesis to revelation,but if you want to actually get to the passage your pastor is preaching on it does not work. Wish I could get my money back.

    30 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Not Workable

    The Book and Chapter prompts do not work beyond the first few books of the Old Testament and not at all in the New Testament. While the table of contents is visible, there is no scrolling capability through the Books of the Bible or the individual Chapters.

    Has anybody downloaded the NIV ebook? I am willing to buy that one if I know that I can scroll through the books and chapters.

    Also - How about making available the New American Standard or English Standard versions as well?

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Garbage

    Not able to get to the book that I want at ease.
    For example I want to get to Luke chapter 23
    there is no way to open it. It will show me all the chapters in the old testament and nothing from the New testament. The scroll option will not show up on the touch screen neither will the enter button. I search for any book in the bible and it says " not found".I am highly upset. Waiting for my account to be credit for this purchase. I will get the Joyce Meyer Everyday Bible since that bible will show the different books and let you access it with the scroll option on the touch screen and use the enter button on the touch screen. This version should not be available for the nook.
    ________________________________________________________________________

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Poor Formatting

    Wow, I wish I'd read the reviews before purchasing this for my Nook :( Ineffective search functions, no way to easily navigate to the different books, which makes it perfectly awful. Overall a pain to use -- the book is too large for the search functions to handle and takes forever to load.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Don't even bother!

    This is in a terrible format for the Nook and you can't get a refund. I would not bother at all with this version.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    unabale to navigate this version of the bible

    I have tried several time to have someone help work out the problem with the NKJV Bible. I have it on my Nook but am unable to navigate. I have a friend who also has this same problem. I keep being told to give them a week or two or three for the publisher to work out the problem. I get no satisfaction from B&N or Thomas Nelson Publication.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Awful!

    I was really looking forward to using the NKJV Bible on my Nook in church, but that is impossible. I can't navigate at all, it is completely useless. Unfortunately, I purchased this from my Nook and could not read the reviews. Definite waste of 10 bucks.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Serious Problems with this ebook

    Ordered 1/03/2010
    Extremely upset, charged immediately But no ebook. Shows error 2080 what ever that is. Still waited for approx. 4 hours to no avail. Followed all instructions even with the help of systems experts. Thought since it was Zondervan it would be OK, boy was I wrong. Still waiting for my credit to be applied to my account.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Not properly formatted

    i found this to not be properly formatted for the Nook. It was impossible to navigate.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Very Disappointing

    Totally frustrating! Takes forever to load and then maybe you can go to where you left off but even if it will, you may be able to red ten pages or so then it locks up. Doesn't matter how many times you power off or on.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    ASOLUTELY HORRIBLE

    I just got the nook and was so excited to download the bible on it. I should have read the reviews before getting this bible. It is horrible and everything everyone has said is true. You can't get to a scripture that you want with easy access. You have to scroll through all of the books and chapters to get to a scripture. It does not seach at all! I am so upset I wasted $9.99. On the search for a new bible.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Error code on ipad

    I bought the 'Holy Bible, NKJV on line but could not open it. It's in my book shelf but giving an error code of incompability. I have reported to Nook Book but no solution of opening up till this moment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    PEW BIBLE - NKJV

    I have used this Bible in its book form; however, I could not search for specific sections on my Nook. It seems this is a "read through from Genesis to Revelation" Bible and not search for John 3:16 when used at an ebook.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Font size

    I can't get the font size to change on this book & the words are extremely small making reading very difficult. Therefore I haven't read it yet. The last book in the series has the same problem plus there is an automatic border on it that I do not like. I am hoping they change this so it will work on these 2 books that I have already bought!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    To: HELP

    Dear emily,
    Do not get the new king james bible it is a terrible bible. I have one of these it twists God's word and it takes out stuff. But get the thomas nelson king james bible i have that one too and it is the closest translatiin there is. (Besides the hebrew and greek ones) :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Contains grotesque adult content, incl. genocide, rape, slavery,

    Contains grotesque adult content, incl. genocide, rape, slavery, torture, and child abuse... Many of these atrocious acts are commandeered by authority figures. I reccomend reading this entire book, BEFORE deciding to share it with anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Not a good Ebook

    It is to difficult to go from one Bible book to another. Why isn't it set-up so you can pick the book you want to read without going through every book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4