Customer Reviews for

The Homemade Pantry: 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Beautiful pictures, great explanations, exciting recipes that ar

    Beautiful pictures, great explanations, exciting recipes that are actually useful in day to day life- I am in love with this book! My husband and I just made the ravioli recipe tonight- sooo delicious and fun to make! I love the stories along with the recipes and Alana's down to earth attitude toward cooking, I am inspired and encouraged! My list of recipes to try from this book keeps getting longer and longer! I definitely recommend this book :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book! Some recipes are a bit complex, but

    I really enjoyed this book! Some recipes are a bit complex, but she does a wonderful job of explaining them in a simple way. She even includes 'tense moments', you know, that point where everything seems to have gone wrong. She walks you thru how to avoid them and what to do if they happen. The pictures are beautiful as well as all the stories about her family. I really enjoyed this cover to cover.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! Bough this book last week. Would consider

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! Bough this book last week. Would consider myself a decent to advanced cook. I usually rock the Martha Stewart recipes pretty hard, and don't usually buy cookbooks. This one is so different though, that it is a must for anyone looking to get away from constantly opening preservative-laden prepackaged food/snacks for their family. I am slowly getting away from the lure of the chemical filled food that lines our grocery shelves, but would in no way consider myself diehard, organic, gluten-free, or vegan or whatever other buzzwords are out there right now. In other words, this cookbook is a perfect stepping stone to simply feeding yourself and your family healthier and more naturally. For example, my two little boys and I made our own brown sugar this week (only two ingredients and super fun), and our own butter (pretty much just turn on the mixer, no sweat), homemade instant oatmeal, and our own granola. My older son has already lined up what to try next week (snack bars, homemade mustard, homemade ketchup and homemade Twinkies!) and I have my eye on the homemade cheese and the lasagne. There is something for everyone in this little treasure of a cookbook, and everything we've tried has been amazing. We can taste the difference between what we have made and the store bought versions, and my pantry is getting stocked up with these new delectable versions. We love it! Thanks, Alana!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    I love this book!

    I love this book! The recipes are pretty simple foods yet wonderful, delicious, and things that most people eat in their everyday lives. The recipes range from pantry basics to foods that I never would have thought about making homemade (such as cream filled snack cakes, marshmallows, or peanut butter cups). And after making many of the recipes, my family has determined that they like the Homemade Pantry version better. And not a single recipe has failed me; everyone has turned out wonderful and delicious. This book is great for beginners due to the easy to follow instructions and tips but also good for people that are experienced at cooking like me. I already make most of my family’s food from scratch, but this book added more grocery store alternative products to our kitchen.

    My family loves the recipes for the sandwich cookie (almost like an Oreo only better and healthier), hamburger buns, lasagna, macaroni and cheese, pesto, vanilla extract, pudding, stock, salsa, roasted tomatoes (a great way to preserve any leftover tomatoes that are going ripe too fast), all three car snacks recipes, toaster pastries, granola, instant oatmeal, maple popcorn, homemade butter, and more. I want to make the mozzarella cheese, crème fraiche, and ricotta; and we can’t wait to try hot sauce, cucumber pickles, and ketchup once our garden is ripe this fall!

    I love that the recipes are so much healthier than store purchased alternatives; no artificial flavors/colors or preservatives here and every ingredient is one that I can pronounce and that I know what is. There are also recipes that cover almost every aspect of the pantry from dairy products, soups, condiments, snacks, candy and sweets, to pasta and everything in between.

    I love that instead of saying “buy xxx packaged food” or “xxx mix” as many recipe books do Alana made sure to add the ingredient recipes. So instead of just saying use graham crackers, pie crust, buttermilk, or cream cheese, etc she tells you how to make your own; but at the same time if you don’t want to make your own cream cheese or graham crackers, you can always purchase them at the store and the recipes will still turn out great.

    This book feels like it was written by a friend.

    I received a complementary book for review purposes. However this did not influence my opinions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    This is essential reading!

    We, as hoousewives and Mothers, have become lazy cooks.

    This book will take you back to good, healthy eating.
    Clean your cupboards, start from scratch and get cookin'.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    This book is going to be a game changer. The recipes aren't supe

    This book is going to be a game changer. The recipes aren't super complex, they don't require lots of ingredients for the most part, and I know exactly what's in the stuff I'm eating! I am a fan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    I have made the Wheat Sandwich bread and the sandwich cookies an

    I have made the Wheat Sandwich bread and the sandwich cookies and my family loves them! I've been a canning nut and baking nut for ages and this book was just an answer to all my wishes in a book! I highly recommend!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I adore this cookbook, we have made the choice to make as much h

    I adore this cookbook, we have made the choice to make as much homemade as we can to try to eliminate wasteful packaging as well as the chemicals present in most prepackaged food (especially kids snacks! Yikes!)
    The photography is stunning, the author makes you feel as if you are sitting down in her kitchen, and she really showcases simple but appealing recipes. I plan to cook my way through this book and may even try canning, something that has always intimidated me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    This is an absolutely fantastic cook book. I would say I am a m

    This is an absolutely fantastic cook book. I would say I am a more advanced cook, and none of these recipes caused me to break out in a cold sweat, except hand made bread (why does yeast have to be so touchy?).

    I made the cheese cracker recipe a couple of weeks ago and I got rave reviews. I also made the ricotta cheese recipe over the weekend and it was delicious. Like many people I have decided to stop purchasing processed food and I am focusing on making food/snacks from scratch. It is really important to me know exactly what is in the food I serve my family. Alana makes it easy by providing recipes with ingredients that are local or easy to get, she breaks it down to easy steps, and makes it fun!

    I totally recommend this book to anyone trying to make a lifestyle change or just trying to cut out the junk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Wonderful addition to anyone's cooking library

    This book has inspired me to find more ways to prepare things for my family rather than buy them. Beautiful to look at. Can't wait for the next addition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I love this book! Not only does it appeal to me because I'm a wr

    I love this book! Not only does it appeal to me because I'm a writer, and the personal stories attached to each recipe are fantastic, but it such a simple book to use. I cannot wait to get cranking on these recipes! This book is definitely a must-have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great recipes, easy to follow!

    I've read through the whole book. I've only tried a few recipes, but they were easy to follow and tasted great. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone trying to cut out processed food!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1