Customer Reviews for

The Hope of Shridula: Blessings in India Book #2

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Man, India during the 1940¿s was a mess! There¿s tension all ov

    Man, India during the 1940′s was a mess! There’s tension all over the
    place! The Indians and the British are fighting, the Muslims and the
    Hindus are fighting, the Christians are fighting the Caste system which
    is finally about to collapse thanks in part to Gandhi who is not
    fighting with anyone! Whew! The Hope of Shridula depicts these events
    from the inside point of view of Ashish and his family who are
    ‘untouchables.’ It’s a fascinating glimpse into the events and culture
    of 1940′s India. Strom’s writing reminds me of Linda Chaikin’s exotic
    settings and historical details. Strom’s settings are grittier and
    involve the underbelly of society, while Chaikin’s stories are ususally
    about a character caught between the upper and the middle classes. Fans
    should also check out Strom’s Grace in Africa series, which follows
    Grace, the daughter of an African princess and a white slave trader, on
    her quest to find and free her enslaved husband.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Great 2nd novel

    I enjoyed this one as much as the first one. Loved how the characters developed and with ease introduced new characters. Loved learning about Indian culture also!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THERE IS HOPE!! This book helped me understand more about what h

    THERE IS HOPE!!
    This book helped me understand more about what has been going on in India in the politics and fighting and all the news, history and everything else combined. Kay has a way of putting her characters into the opposing sides while right under the same roof so that they discuss and argue it and help you see all the sides of it!
    And all the while the main character is the lowest "caste" of them all not seen or heard, watching and listening and learning it all. Being and becoming smarter than them all!
    The very abrupt ending drove me crazy!! It left everyone in the whole book hanging in limbo. No one finished anything...there was no answers or closer at all. I CAN'T wait for the next one!! From what I have read it starts years and years later but I hope it answers and settles some of the stories! I am on tender hooks waiting! It is like the Season Ending of a TV series and you have to wait for the next Season to find out what happened!! LOL I HAVE TO GET MY HANDS ON THE NEXT BOOK!!!
    This book was supplied through the Abington Press website for me to review and give my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Many factual inaccuracies. Research not detailed but commendble neverthless.

    Good to red once. The story is set in 1946 India but was probably could have applied up to 1950s and 60s

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent

    This was well written and kept my interest. Will have to go back to read the first one. Want to read the next one. I recommend this book and this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    very good

    This is the second book in the series and I enjoyed both very much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyable. Need to read the next one when it comes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An eye opening look at the revolt for independence in India! A M

    An eye opening look at the revolt for independence in India! A Must Read!!

    Seems things haven't changed much for Ashish and his family now while still working as indebted servants in India since the first book by Kay Marshall Strom, The Faith of Ashish. Now many years later, Ashish and his wife Zia have only one surviving child remaining, a young girl named Shridula and for Ashish, it provides the only outlet of hope left in the world being one of the lowest castes of people.

    Deemed by the higher castes as Untouchables, Ashish's family have spent 48 years serving out their families debt which it seems will never be paid. What's even worse is the treatment of the servants among the Lal family. Those living on the land are forced to work for the son of Mammen Samuel, Boban Joseph, who has personally vowed not to be a lenient as his father. He pushes them to work in the grueling heat in which people begin dropping like flies, forces to not pay them in their rice rations unless they work harder than in previous harvests, and worst of all, pursues his growing affections for the young girls especially young Shridula.

    The only defense to keep Boban Joseph at bay is the threat from the pale British woman who works at the only clinic in India tending to the sick and wounded no matter what caste of people need help. She has even offered to keep the abandoned and orphaned children who have no where else to turn. It seems however that the new Dr. William Cooper and his wife Susanna want things run differently, casting aside the Indian traditions for those more favored among the British. They even removed Miss Abigail Davidson from operating the English Mission Medical Clinic and treat her as though she is feeble, weak and too old. They even offer to have her sent to more suitable housing preferable to people of her age.

    In the Hope of Shridula, the readers are thrown into the beginnings of the revolts for independence among the people of India as the teachings of Gandhi begin to circuit among the lower castes people providing them with an alternative to the years of servant hood that they have been reduced to. Once again you are given a rare look inside how difficult the lifestyles are among the people living in India and their beliefs in Karma and reincarnation while Christians struggle to provide an alternative for hope in this country in 1946.

    I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and applaud the efforts once again of Kay Marshall Strom for bringing even more awareness to the plight of the people still living in India. While things are slowly improving, the struggle in the poorest areas still remains. Kay has been writing about humanitarian and justice issues and the global family of God in her books and has been to India seven times. This is the second book in the Blessings in India series and can't wait to read her next one. I highly recommend this book to once again enlighten readers to the plight of the people in India as well as other countries in the world and rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. This book can be read as a stand alone but the impact is greater if you pick up the first one which really defines the castes in India.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1