BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Host with Bonus Chapter

Average Rating 4.5
( 3443 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2392)

4 Star

(592)

3 Star

(224)

2 Star

(97)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

179 out of 206 people found this review helpful.

Don't like Twilight? No problem!

The Host / 978-0-316-12865-0

I figure it's pretty much impossible at this point to not know who author Stephenie Meyer is - one way or another, you've surely heard of the massively popular "Twilight Saga" by now, and you probably already know whether or not you love ...
The Host / 978-0-316-12865-0

I figure it's pretty much impossible at this point to not know who author Stephenie Meyer is - one way or another, you've surely heard of the massively popular "Twilight Saga" by now, and you probably already know whether or not you love or hate the series. For myself, I'll be honest (and probably earn ire saying this, but it's just my opinion) and say that I didn't much care for the characterization and writing in "Twilight". I thought the romance was too heavily focused on, to the detriment of all the (in my opinion) more interesting side plots, and I thought a lot of the characterization seemed a little forced and sometimes shallow. I had heard, however, that "The Host" was very, very good - even for non-Twilight fans - so I decided to check it out.

I was astonished at the size of this book - the hardcover is 656 pages and weighs an absolute ton. I almost never enjoy books over 400 pages without feeling like heavier editing should have been applied, so I'm fairly shocked to say that I completely loved every page of this book, and never felt like the pacing was too slow or needed to be sped up in any way. The plot premise is fascinating enough - starting "in medias res" after a "Pod People" style invasion of earth - but it's particularly fascinating that Meyer has chosen to tell the story from the point of view of one of the occupying parasites. The characterization here is superb - very in-depth and surprisingly well-revealed through the vehicle of the plot - and it's fascinating to see how sympathetic the narrator is, despite her alien nature. Best of all, I'm impressed at how the love interest starts out as "flawless" but is quickly and thoroughly revealed to be flawless only in the mind of an infatuated young girl - her dream man, as it turns out, is complex, human, and flawed, and therefore a genuinely interesting character.

"The Host" isn't perfect - the first few chapters are a bit of a muddle and I wasn't really comfortable with the plot and writing rhythm until about the fifth chapter. Not unlike Bella from "Twilight", the protagonist here also gets beaten up a fair bit and carried around enough to qualify as luggage, but the characterization here really *works* for me - it's fascinating to see a protagonist that is an actual, full-blown pacifist, sort of like if Gandhi were a parasitic glowing silver brain-worm. I really can't say if this is the book for everyone, but I *can* say that if the premise grabs you, definitely give this book a try, and I suspect you'll be quickly hooked. It's a rare thing for me to feel like a 650 page novel is so perfectly paced, well-characterized, and realistically driven as "The Host" is. Although I originally checked this out from the library, I will be buying a copy to add to my collection.

A word about the audiobook for this novel: I particularly like the narration provided here. The voice actress adds a lot of realistic inflection to her voice to convey the protagonist's struggle with her new, unfamiliar emotions. The interactions between "soul" and "host" are surprisingly well done without being gimmicky, and it's easy to tell which character is talking, even when they share the same voice (both in our world and in the book setting). If you're a fan of audiobooks, and especially if you're a little daunted by the 600+ page commitment, I de

posted by AnaMardoll on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

I want my time back.

After reading her Twilight series (another poorly written series, but at least vaguely enjoyable), I decided to pick up this book as something to read cross-country on the plane. I try to give every book I read a chance, and my love for science fiction put me in a posit...
After reading her Twilight series (another poorly written series, but at least vaguely enjoyable), I decided to pick up this book as something to read cross-country on the plane. I try to give every book I read a chance, and my love for science fiction put me in a positive frame of mind to start reading.

The characters are all flat, the actual plot is weak and full of holes, and I struggled to just finish the book. I couldn't warrant spending that kind of money on a hardback just to throw it down in disgust half way through.

If you're on the fence about reading this book, then run the other way and don't look back. If you like mindless drivel, then this book won't disappoint you. Don't come looking this way for anything with one iota of intelligence. This is a perfect, mindless, rainy-day, time-wasting book.

posted by 2285970 on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2392 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 120
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Don't like Twilight? No problem!

    The Host / 978-0-316-12865-0

    I figure it's pretty much impossible at this point to not know who author Stephenie Meyer is - one way or another, you've surely heard of the massively popular "Twilight Saga" by now, and you probably already know whether or not you love or hate the series. For myself, I'll be honest (and probably earn ire saying this, but it's just my opinion) and say that I didn't much care for the characterization and writing in "Twilight". I thought the romance was too heavily focused on, to the detriment of all the (in my opinion) more interesting side plots, and I thought a lot of the characterization seemed a little forced and sometimes shallow. I had heard, however, that "The Host" was very, very good - even for non-Twilight fans - so I decided to check it out.

    I was astonished at the size of this book - the hardcover is 656 pages and weighs an absolute ton. I almost never enjoy books over 400 pages without feeling like heavier editing should have been applied, so I'm fairly shocked to say that I completely loved every page of this book, and never felt like the pacing was too slow or needed to be sped up in any way. The plot premise is fascinating enough - starting "in medias res" after a "Pod People" style invasion of earth - but it's particularly fascinating that Meyer has chosen to tell the story from the point of view of one of the occupying parasites. The characterization here is superb - very in-depth and surprisingly well-revealed through the vehicle of the plot - and it's fascinating to see how sympathetic the narrator is, despite her alien nature. Best of all, I'm impressed at how the love interest starts out as "flawless" but is quickly and thoroughly revealed to be flawless only in the mind of an infatuated young girl - her dream man, as it turns out, is complex, human, and flawed, and therefore a genuinely interesting character.

    "The Host" isn't perfect - the first few chapters are a bit of a muddle and I wasn't really comfortable with the plot and writing rhythm until about the fifth chapter. Not unlike Bella from "Twilight", the protagonist here also gets beaten up a fair bit and carried around enough to qualify as luggage, but the characterization here really *works* for me - it's fascinating to see a protagonist that is an actual, full-blown pacifist, sort of like if Gandhi were a parasitic glowing silver brain-worm. I really can't say if this is the book for everyone, but I *can* say that if the premise grabs you, definitely give this book a try, and I suspect you'll be quickly hooked. It's a rare thing for me to feel like a 650 page novel is so perfectly paced, well-characterized, and realistically driven as "The Host" is. Although I originally checked this out from the library, I will be buying a copy to add to my collection.

    A word about the audiobook for this novel: I particularly like the narration provided here. The voice actress adds a lot of realistic inflection to her voice to convey the protagonist's struggle with her new, unfamiliar emotions. The interactions between "soul" and "host" are surprisingly well done without being gimmicky, and it's easy to tell which character is talking, even when they share the same voice (both in our world and in the book setting). If you're a fan of audiobooks, and especially if you're a little daunted by the 600+ page commitment, I de

    179 out of 206 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    80 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book Will Read Over And Over Again!

    From the moment I finished this book I knew it had become my favorite. The story holds every kind of emotion. Everything from Humor to Misery can be found through the eyes of the first person narrative of the main character and lost soul Wanda. Some of the experiences that Wanda has made me laugh out loud, cry till the pages had splotches, and wish and question how the story can work out with every character getting to be happy. I have sugested this book to so many of my friends and family. This story has a way of pulling the reader in preventing them from putting the book down. I sincerly hope that Stephenie Meyer will continue on with this story with a sequel or make the book into a series. I would recommend The Host to anyone who wants a great book with adventure, humor, and a great love story.

    63 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good Book!

    After reading the reviews for this book, I decided to give it a shot.
    The first few chapters were a little slow, but after that I breezed right through it. This is not your typical alien abduction book. This book has heart and soul, it really makes you think about our human race.

    55 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Still Searching...

    I am still to this date searching for a book that can measure up to The Host. I've read over 500 books (my bank acount can prove it!) and not one of them is as enthralling to me as The Host was, and still is today. I've read it over 20 times and I cry, laugh, and LOVE every minute of it every time!

    47 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's Hard to be friends when I'm living inside your body

    Wow. The Host is much better than Twilight. The main female characters Mel and Wanderer are more realistic and likable than Bella ever was. The only similarity being an annoying martyr complex which was actually relevant to the plot this time. The relationship dynamics among the characters both romantic and platonic are so weirdly wonderful. Oddly enough once again I found myself not finding Jared, the main love interest, appealing at all; much like I did not like Edward. Hmmm. Ian, the secondary love interest and another character who, like Jacob, was not supposed to be very important overall, I liked. Mrs. Meyers might have some kind of formula going but it has worked for me so far. The way the free humans live in some paranoid old guys hideaway while scrounging through the new Stepford civilization could be a story on its own. Also interesting are the stories of Wanderer's other lives. Like Uncle Jeb, I would love to hear how the souls get their off the wall names. The Host is great as a stand alone but if she does continue it there is plenty that can be expanded on.

    37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    The host

    This book was something else. Since ive read the twilight series and The Host, id say The Host won by a long shot. Love, action,fear this book will keep you reading all day. I recommend it strongly.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    Awesome Book

    I don't know how Stephanie does it but her characters really come alive. The idea of the Host seems a bit Sci-Fi, out there, but really the story comes together and draws you in. I love her writing style and descriptions. I really connected with the characters and you see how they grow yet stay true to who they are. I balled my eyes out during parts of the book. Very good book; great story.

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Hi

    First of all, I want to say that I am only 13 years old, just a few months shy of 14, and I absolutely loved and understood this book. The way Stephanie Meyer write this book is absolutely great and I was so hooked on this book that I finished this book in two days, and if you subtracted the hours I was asleep and not reading the Host it would probably be less than 24 hours ( as I am a fast reader ). The way Wanderer/Melanie had expressed her emotions just helped me understand what she ( they ? ) were going through, how Wanderer accepted that the person she loved, loved the body she was in, but not her. Yes, she was anle to find someone that did love her for being Wanderer. Amazing book, I would read it again anytime, I strongly advise everyone to read the Host.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    THE BOOK YOU DON'T WANT TO EVER END!

    This is a very well written book. I have read the Twilight series from Stephanie which was very good. (Obviously as we all can see the sale records) I don't want to give anything away about the story line thin but it is similar to Twilight in that it deals with the relationships of humans and non-humans (alien souls) with a love story thrown in. The story is so riveting that you don't want to stop reading. The story has a great ending yet when I finished I was sad because it was such a great story I wanted to keep reading more. The ending definitely leaves an opening for a follow up book if Stephanie wanted to which I hope she does. This is a great read!

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really liked this book. it was very original and creative

    I really liked this book. it was very original and creative

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    A Must Read

    I LOVE this book, I read it within 3 days.
    I Highly Recommend this book.
    I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE!!! :D

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Awesome

    This book will make you cry but thats the best part.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. It was amazing. I also liked the bonus.

    I loved this book. It was amazing. I also liked the bonus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put the book down!

    I love to read, usually when I finish a book, and if I really enjoyed it I'm left with a warm feeling and that's it, on to the next book. But this book was so interesting and original. I don't think I've ever read a book like this, it's about these aliens who invade earth and take over the bodies of humans, slowly and quietly before the humans notice what's really happening. Usually when a soul takes over their hosts (humans) bodies the persons identity or self ceases to exist or just fades away and the soul takes over. But with the main character the host refuses to go away and takes you on this journey of finding the hosts loved ones. The way this book ended seemed like it's a stand alone but I've read that Stephenie Meyer has two sequels outlined, I really hope new information comes out because this book is amazing, it definitely will leave you wanting more.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!! I recommend it even if you didn't like the twilight

    LOVED IT!!!! I recommend it even if you didn't like the twilight series. I had first started listening it to on audio tape but I got super curious and wanted to read the words myself. The movie was good but this book is definitely better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    READ IF YOU WANT

    I rather see the movie first than read the book because then I won't be dissapointed if they didn't follow the book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Another great book by stephanie

    This book warped me into it i loveeed it it was amaisisng you had action si fi fantasity romance all crammed in one book i loved it five stars to stephanie myers

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Cool!!!!

    An AWESOME book.!!!! I loved it
    A
    M
    A
    Z
    I
    N
    G
    !

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Movie

    Can't wait to read this. Heard it's going to be a movieu

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2392 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 120