Customer Reviews for

The Hound of the Baskervilles: 150th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommend

    Before there was CSI and the magic of solving a crime in less than 60 minutes we had Sherlock Holmes. This was always my favorite Sherlock Holmes story and the most scary Holmes book I ever read. Many movies were made from this book, but if you want the real deal, without the interpetations, you have to read the book. Plenty of atmosphere in a Holmes book, with a little imagination you can find yourself knocking on the door at 221B Baker street with a curious matter that needs Mr. Holmes attention. R Hemingway

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Great Mystery Book!

    The book by Arthur Conan Doyle, The Hound of the Baskervilles would make a reader very entertained, scared, and relieved in the end. It starts off slow and later hooks the reader to the point that you don’t want to stop reading. When the plot unfolds the person reading will sit and read until the end, it is truly a great detective book. The use of the language can be hard at times, however if using a dictionary it wont be hard. The book starts at 221B Baker St where Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson live. Watson finds a walking stick with a bite mark in the middle from a dog. Later there is a man telling the two men that there is a curse on the Baskerville family, and a mysterious hound is killing the family members for decades. The plot gets more interesting when the reader finds out that recently the hound kills one of the members of the family. There is more to tell, but my job is to write what I think about the book. This book should be read by people of all ages, even adults. It is truly a great mystery fiction novel about friendship and knowledge. If you are looking for something that is not huge and something that can keep you interested look no further. Meanwhile I will go back to reading it again.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Intrikit plot keeps reader intrigued!

    The Sherlock Holmes mystery, "The Hound of the Baskervilles" by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is packed with unexpected turns and surprising conclusions. This fiction novel will keep any audience on the edges of there seats as the plot unfolds.
    The story begins at 221B Baker Street, the famous lodging of Sherlock Holmes and his assistant Watson. The two detectives are sitting in there living room listening to the story a man is telling them about the curse that befalls every Baskerville who take up residence at the family estate in the haunted moor. Supposedly there is an enormous hound that haunts the lonely moors around the Baskervilles ancient home. However Holmes and Watson become more intrigued when they find out that the most recent resident at the Baskerville estate has recently been killed by the legendary hound, and thus starts the investigation of the curious case of the hound of the Baskervilles.
    as the mystery unfolds, the next heir to the Baskerville estate, Sir Charles, moves into the haunted house on the moor, accompanied by Watson and Holmes. As the two detectives further investigate, they seem to be getting no where, until they discover that Mr. Stapleton is the sole beneficiary to the Baskervilles inheritance, and he will stop at nothing to claim his wealth. Holmes learns that Sir Charles is the next on Stapletons list, so he sets up a trap to catch him red handed in the act of using his over grown hound to kill the last of the Baskervilles. One evening as Sir Charles makes his way through the moor while Watson and Holmes wait, well armed, for the hound to attack. In the final suspense, the hound lunges out from the fog to take out the Sir Charles but, Holmes pulls the trigger before the hound can reach its prey and so the beast is killed in the nick of time.
    throughout the book Holmes and Watson are in friendly competition to see who can best solve each part to the puzzle. The two detectives have a unique relationship, because they are continuously one-upping the other and downplaying the others conclusions. However they spur each other on, and are never divisive over a difference in opinion.
    this mystery novel was the best book that i have ever read, there was no element to it that i did not enjoy throughly. The unique writing style of the author draws you in and the unexpected manner in which the plot is revealed allowed me to maintain interest in the story from cover to cover. i would recommend this novel to any reader at the high school level or above because of how unexpected and thrilling "The Hound of the Baskervilles" really is.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    "...the unseen watcher,the man of darkness..."

    The Hounds of the Baskervilles is an outstanding novel. Its so well writen the story flies by with many suprises and questons here and there. In most mystorys tht I read i can guess/expect some of what is to come latter in the story, but in this story most of my guesses were wrong. What im trying to say is it is filled with some unexpected twists. Read this story anyone will like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Great book

    Really enjoyed reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Ending was good

    The beginning stars out slow but the ending is quite good x!/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Holmes Story

    This is definitely the best of the four Holmes novels. It's exciting, creepy, and even funny at times. If you don't like this book, then Holmes stories aren't for you. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    One of the best out of the Sherlock Holmes' series. This one is not to be missed by the Die Hardest of fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Sure

    This review is for the book purely, not the free version everyone is talking about.
    I thought the book was great! I thought I wasn't going to like it, because I'm used to more modern books. But then I thought, "Wait. This is Sherlock Holmes!" I love books with mystery in them, books that keep me on the edge of my seat. I have never heard of this book before I had to read it for a project. I thought it was pretty funny how Watson wanted to prove he was as good or better than Holmes, and Holmes always out did him lol. But it surprised me when they called Holmes Watson's "master". In the movie Sherlock Holmes they were friends. Huh. But it's nice to know I can say that i have read the original! Ha!
    I would recommend the book defiantly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Recommended

    I never really read a Sherlock Holmes book so this was my first one.Even though I did'tn know anything about the book I was excited to read it.Basically this is about a supernatural hound that has been killing people.This is the part where Sherlock Holmes and Dr.Watson come in to solve the case.Also for anyone who does'tn like mystery this book is also suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Classic Sherlock!

    The book The Hound of the Baskervilles is another classic by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Once again Sherlock Holmes is off on another adventure with his faithful partner Dr. Watson. It is a mystery/thriller type of book. It starts off as Watson and Holmes discover a cane left in their office. Watson is the one who actually found the cane. He examines it while Holmes has his back to him, and Holmes asks him: "Well, Watson, what do you make of it?" Watson responds, "How did you know what I was doing? I believe you have eyes in the back of your head."

    They are able to identify the owner of the cane, who informs them of an old legend, the legend of the Baskervilles. The owner informs them that the Baskerville family has an uncanny habit of dying off mysteriously. Rumor has it that a hound-beast is the culprit. After that its off to Devonshire where the Baskerville Hall is located. They find one of the Baskervilles dead, with a look of terror and exhaustion. The daunting task is left up to Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson to find the solution.

    The book takes place in England, most of it being in Devonshire. Devonshire is surrounded by moorland, which is a big swamp. It gets really foggy and sets the eery/gloomy mood very well. The story moves along quickly. Watson is the one telling the story, so it puts the reader right in the action. I think this really helped build the intensity of the book, and capture the attention of the reader. There is a lot of dialogue in it, which is standard for mystery-type books.

    The strengths of this book I would say are that its fairly fast paced; it doesn't take long to read. I really like how it is from Watson's perspective as well. It seems like a lot of books are from the third person viewpoint which takes a lot of the suspense out of a book. Another strength is that this mystery is deeper than some of the shorter Sherlock Holmes book. It also has a supernatural feel to it, with the Baskerville family being terrorized by some sort of demon hound dog. I feel like one of the weaknesses is that there is a lot of the story that doesn't deal with the mystery. There is a lot of dialogue, which can take away from the overall story.

    All in all, it was a decent book. I personally feel like it could of been more suspenseful and grabbing. But for the avid Sherlock Holmes fans, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Mystery Novel That Lives Up To The Its Fame

    My title states it, I enjoyed all Sherlock Holmes novels but we can all agree The Hound Of Baskerville was Doyle's most well known. And it sure does live up to its name.
    I read it constantly I was a huge fan of the Sherlock Holmes books but this one stood out with mystery, drama, and the horror of it all! I have a big dog, and I have to say when I was reading it, I never looked at him the same. The plot is great, and it keeps you guessing who the culprit of the crime is until the end. And the end of the book is filled, with anticipation as it is through the whole book. It is a must read for any Mystery novel lover, or even anyone who want to read some 'Classics' this is a must read that keeps you guessing, all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice Mystery

    The infamous Sherlock Holmes is back with his trusted partner Watson at his side. This Sherlock Holmes story is best one ever written.

    This story was written in 1904. The story is the third novel written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, which was a mystery that was written for young adults. I am judging this book as a good book because of how detailed the writing is and how suspenseful, but the reason it is a 4 star instead of a 5 star is because the story moves quite slow compared to other mysteries. This book is quite detailed that you almost could picture the story in your mind but not as much as the warrior cat series.

    The story has two main characters that including the supporting characters which are usually witnesses, suspects, or background characters. The plot of the story involves the doctor suspicion that the new owner of Baskerville Hall will be murdered, just like the previous owner, the doctor's patient. So he asks the help of Sherlock Holmes and Watson to help solve the mystery. The story takes place at is London and the moor around Baskerville Hall. This book is mystery for young adult readers. This book is like no other book I have ever read.

    The story The Hound of the Baskervilles is the most suspenseful mystery written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle of his time. This book was a great and suspense story. Sherlock Holmes and Watson get a new case to solve while trying to protect their client in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read Classic

    I have found very few literature 'classics' that I have enjoyed as much as The Hound of the Baskervilles. I am a great fan of Anne Perry's novels and I don't know why I never tried any of Doyle's Sherlock Holmes mysteries. I very much enjoyed the novel as it was very fast-paced and a quick read. The narrative is very descriptive and brings the characters and setting to life effortlessly. I highly recommend this book to any mystery-lover or anyone who enjoys to read about England in the late 1800's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Eh....

    i just finished reading this book. it was pretty good up till the end. it got somewhat confusing towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    great book

    I really enjoyed this book. I have never read any of the Sherlock Holmes mysteries before, but after reading this one, I'm looking forward to the others. This book was a suspenseful page turner with a lot of surprises and unexpected twists. With every turn of the page, it becomes more and more mysterious. This book was really great, and I hope everyone else will like it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    this was a very good book

    I thought that the Hound of the Baskervilles was a very good book. It was extremely well written. I did need a dictionary on hand sometimes. The book was creative and well thought up. The Hound of the Baskervilles was a very suspensful book. It keeps you reading late into the night. There are twists and turns throughout the book so you never know what will happen next. It is full of surprises. I think that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is a wonderful writer. This is a mystery, so if you are one who doesn't like mysteries, then this book is not for you. I really enjoyed this book and if you get it, I hope you do too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    'Hound' is a Reader's Best Friend

    To be perfectly blunt, I am not an avid Sherlock Holmes fan. I won¿t deny that I have an interest in the stories of the famous English detective, but I don¿t consider myself to be a hardcore Sherlock fan(although I have read every single Sherlock story ever written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, so I guess that amounts to something). Despite that, from the various Sherlock stories I have read, The Hound of the Baskervilles is truly one of the best of the Holmes mysteries. Set in the early years of the twentieth century, Hound is a tale of gothic mystery and thrills. The family of the Baskervilles have had a legend of an ill curse for centuries about a vicious dog-like phantom who mauls and kills any unfortunate Baskerville who crosses its path. The legend gets put in the spotlight again when Sir Charles Baskerville is murdered. Multiple clues and strange evidence seem to point to only one conclusion - the Hound of the Baskervilles has struck again! Sherlock Holmes thinks otherwise, and so he as his companion Dr. John Watson head for the moor country of England to unravel a mysterious and dark conspiracy. For it is clear that someone, or something, is out for Baskerville blood, and if this mystery isn¿t solved, then Sir Henry Baskerville, the last of the Baskervilles, may be as good as dead. I found The Hound of the Baskervilles to be one of the more intriguing tales of Sherlock Holmes, much more so than the other three novels at least, in my opinion. Although it was somewhat difficult to read, considering that I was a Junior High student when I read it and I didn¿t understand a lot of the vocabulary and aspects of English life, it wasn¿t nearly as confusing as reading a Shakespeare play, and I was able to follow the story and plot twists very well and understand enough of it to keep reading until I finished it(and the rest of the Sherlock stories for that matter). Although I wish Holmes made a bit more of a physical appearance and did a little more detective investigating like in A Study in Scarlet, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle still managed to weave a unique and complex tale of secrets, lust, betrayal, and greed. Once again, Doyle manages to keep the reader in a hazy mist of confusion when concerning certain facts and motives, but reveals enough clues and hints through the perspective of Watson to keep you reading in anticipation for the moment where Holmes will give his two cents on the subject and draw some startling conclusion. I recommend this book to anyone willing to subject themselves to a plethora of confusing vocabulary words and references and still appreciate a good story. If you¿re someone who has never read a Sherlock book in your life, let this be your first read, and beware the hound on the moor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2