Customer Reviews for

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly good Title.

Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite inter...
Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite interesting and even had me wanting to read the next chapter right then at some points. The mystery and suspense of the story for most parts keeps it slow-paced. But, there are scenes of the novel which display fast-paced and even violent action. Again, to my surprise the novel drew me in and kept me all the way through!

posted by nick_martinez on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like it.

The story dragged on and on using too many unnessecary words. It was poop.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Surprisingly good Title.

    Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite interesting and even had me wanting to read the next chapter right then at some points. The mystery and suspense of the story for most parts keeps it slow-paced. But, there are scenes of the novel which display fast-paced and even violent action. Again, to my surprise the novel drew me in and kept me all the way through!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    My first sherlock holmes book

    I am 12 years old, sixth grade. I am reading this book in my literature circles. Although I am only about half way through the book, I can definately say it is a great book. We have to read 9 novels by the end of the year (we only get to choose from a certain pile of nine books) and i have to admit, this was one of my last picks, i was really hesitant to read it. I have now learned that i do not only like girl stories and romance novels among funny books, but now i have been exposed to a whole nother world of literature. For this, i very much thank my teacher. Now, reguarding the actual book, I am very much enjoying it. I do have to admit that some words i need to look up, but that is easy on nook! It really grabs your attention in some parts, but sometimes, more in the beginning, you can get a little bored. Many people say that kids cannot enjoy these books, they are wrong! ~alicia s.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    The Hound Of The Baskervilles

    Amazing!!! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    I didn't like it.

    The story dragged on and on using too many unnessecary words. It was poop.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You Won't See It Coming!

    I can recommend this book to most who enjoy the dry wit of Sherlock Holmes novels. I advise you to start with "A Letter In Scarlet" if you have not yet read it because out of his four novels you should start at the beginning. I'm happy to say the deductive reasoning and plot twists that come with all Holmes' escapades transcends into this book no less diminished. I'm not out to ruin any plot twists but you won't see them coming. You may expect one thing, but from around a corner Holmes will correct you with his cold hard decisive perceptional skills. And thats what makes it an Arthur Conan Doyle novel a shrewd parched novel devoid of emotional thoughts and feelings. This will be a safe assumption for all of the Sherlock Holmes novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Hound of the Baskervilles review

    This book was amazing and extremely entertaining and impossible to put down. This book was very interesting and a classic mystery type and a typical Sherlock Holmes edition. The mystery was dark and morbid while the characters involved all seemed to be quite harmless, that is to the unsuspecting eye but not to Sherlock Holmes of course. He is the top authority on all mysteries and he proves it in this book with his daring antics and his amazingly acurate deductions. The vocabulary was mildly difficult, the plot was great, the authors tone was incredible. A perfect fit into the mystery genre, the clues had me thinking in circles i couldn't figure out anything untill the clues started to piece together, the book was like a puzzle the more clues you got the more the picture became clearer. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sherlock is my hero!

    I think it was Sherlock Holmes that taught me logical thinking and that has gotten me in trouble for quite a while!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Don't listen to 'one cool kid'

    this book wasn't a extremely good book at all. It was a horrible book with no sense whatsoever. The book was boring until the last chapter. If you even picked up the book then u could have just went to the laster chapter and read the ending of the book, and saved yourself 150 pages of your time. Henry Baskerville gets frightened by a 'Curse' ..but sherlock holmes eventually solves this lame mystery.... If there was one thing you could read...it definately wouldnt be this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2014

    One of my favorite Holmes' books!  Ah! The intrigue, such maste

    One of my favorite Holmes' books! 

    Ah! The intrigue, such mastery of a mystery plot. And the twists! Yes, one of my favorite plot twists in all of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    REALLY BORING

    I have to read this novel for school. & its really boring. It uses ALOT of extra words. It takes one chapter to talk about a stick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this particular adventure, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson dea

    In this particular adventure, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson deal with a legendary hound who kills Baskervilles family members, a curse that Holmes and Dr. Watson are not buying into it. After the death of Charles Baskerville from pure terror, the legend get strength and the heir of the state (Hugo Baskerville) asks for Holmes help to solve the mystery involving his uncle's death. Dr. Watson accompanies Hugo at Baskerville Hall in Devonshire, as Holmes have to stay in London so finish some other cases he is working on. While there, Watson hear on the moor the creepy sound of a hound... All the relationship with the neighbors and the employees of the house are well developed and the surprising appearance of Holmes just in time to prevent another crime is superb. 
    If you enjoy reading mystery stories, definitely you cannot miss this one, a classic among mystery stories. Very entertaining and with surprising twists on the plot, it took me around 4 hours to read the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Major disaster in San Franscisco kills people on Golden Gate

    A 9.7earthquake struck San Franscisco this morning at10:00
    in the morning. It was the deadliest earthquake in the world, it split California in half. It also split the Golden Gate Bridge in half, causing a major tsunami towards Japans capital city
    Tokyo. There were no survivors in the collaps of the bridge
    there was an explosion while the bridge collapsed. We should all pray for the people that were killed in this natural disaster.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Do NOT read the free ebook.  The OCR is terrible.  Get the real

    Do NOT read the free ebook.  The OCR is terrible.  Get the real book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    I love sir arthur conan doyle's books!

    Sir arthur conan doyle writes the greatest books in my opinion. The way he writes and describes things just paints more than a picture, im there inside the book. Its scary for me just reading it! Like all of these books, sherlock holmes and watson are off trying to solve a mystery. I love the way he uses these descriptice words. He doesnt even tell he just shows!<BR/><BR/>From the start, he sets the mood. They hear the origin of this curse and even that was wonderful. He adds all of these little mysteries as well like the missing boot and the taxi driver who was stalking them but they all add up to something very important in the end such as the boot was used as a scent for the hound to find and hunt sir henry. Next, how he gives subliminal clues gets the reader thinking and puts them even more into the book. He names people or irrelevence too just to make you think if they are the ones who are guilty. <BR/><BR/>His books are just amazing and this one is no exception. The most innocent person became one of the most important people in the plot. Mr. stapleton's wife was one of the most important people and ended up double crossing her husband. He even deceives the readers when he says Holmes is at home when he is actually living in the mire. The ghostly figure Doyle describes on the mire during the chase of the hound is actually Holmes observing. The way he twists the plot is just incredible and i dont know how else do describe my feelings toward this book. It just gave me the creeps when I was reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Good book, though confusing plots.

    Umm........ This book was good. It was a pain to read it for the summer, but that's why I give it four stars and not five. I usually don't like mysteries or any books at all(none in particular), but this was one book that seemed to get some of my attention. Though Stapleton could've let the lady breathe. For Gods sake man! She's a woman! Not a voodoo doll!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    a good one

    i have always been fascinated by sherlock holmes and after this book i have an even higher opinion of his character. this book is gripping from the start to the end, but it includes a feeling of gloominess and darkness. if you imagined the illustrations in ur mind, u will always see a dark picture. but overall i found it good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Everyones favorite detective does it again!!

    This book is a great great book. Anyone who can read well should read this book. I loved it. I mean, who could not love the brilliant,wonderful Holmes?! He and Watson are such lovable characters. This book had a lot of unexpected twists and turns. So, read it. I mean, I'm a kid and i though it was GREAT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Lots of twists and turns!

    This was an awesome book! You will be amazed with the clever twists and turns that Sherlock Holmes takes to solve the mystery. After Charles Baskerville's death due to a mysterious hound, Sherlock Holmes and Watson go on a quest to protect the new heir, Henry Baskerville, from this hound. Find out if this hound is just a normal old mutt in the moor or a magical unknown beast. Who is behind these killings? I bet you would have never guessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    As I continue my journey through my collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, we finally reach The Hound of the Baskervilles, which I believe is the first Sherlock Holmes story written intentionally as a novel, rather than as a serial or as short stories for publication in newspapers or magazines. This provides more focus to the actual plot and the background of the supporting characters. This is what really separates this story from the shorter Sherlock Holmes stories the detail given to the non-primary characters. The story involves a young man who recently came into a very large fortune when his uncle died under mysterious circumstances. The young man brings Holmes and Watson into the situation, and Holmes sends Watson into the countryside to watch over their client and take stock of the situation. Interestingly enough, a good quarter of the story is handled through letters that Watson sends to Holmes and Watson's diary entries, rather than straight-up descriptions of events 'as they happen.' I am not convinced that this was the appropriate way to handle things, but it worked out all right in the end and gave a unique feel to the story. As is usual with a Sherlock Holmes story, I couldn't figure out all that was happening until the very end. I figured the 'hound' out rather early, but not the rest of it. All told, a satisfying and entertaining mystery novel, if a little short for modern standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4