Customer Reviews for

The Hound of The Baskervilles

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My first sherlock holmes book

I am 12 years old, sixth grade. I am reading this book in my literature circles. Although I am only about half way through the book, I can definately say it is a great book. We have to read 9 novels by the end of the year (we only get to choose from a certain pile of ni...
I am 12 years old, sixth grade. I am reading this book in my literature circles. Although I am only about half way through the book, I can definately say it is a great book. We have to read 9 novels by the end of the year (we only get to choose from a certain pile of nine books) and i have to admit, this was one of my last picks, i was really hesitant to read it. I have now learned that i do not only like girl stories and romance novels among funny books, but now i have been exposed to a whole nother world of literature. For this, i very much thank my teacher. Now, reguarding the actual book, I am very much enjoying it. I do have to admit that some words i need to look up, but that is easy on nook! It really grabs your attention in some parts, but sometimes, more in the beginning, you can get a little bored. Many people say that kids cannot enjoy these books, they are wrong! ~alicia s.

posted by Alicia_Loves_books on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like it.

The story dragged on and on using too many unnessecary words. It was poop.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    I Really Enjoyed This Book!!

    A great book for Teens and Adults. One of the Best Sherlock Holmes books Iv'e read! It's a great detective book and also a little kreepy. Your hooked as soon as you read the first sentence all the way through the end and becomes difficult to put down. Sir Aurthur Conan Doyle did a great job with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    I loved it!

    I am really into mysteries, and this was the first Sherlock Homles book I read. I am in 8th grade, and I had to read it for school. I never wanted to put it down, the way Doyle wrote this story just transfixed me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    It was Great

    I loved it. It was a great story. This book kept me entertained during S.S.R.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Excellent observation, Watson!

    This was a fantastic read that kept me guessing til the very end. I love how Sir Arthur Conan Doyle writes. This was a great, compelling read with a few twists. I recommend this, and any other Sherlock Holmes books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Dreary or What??

    I just didnt enoy it whatsoever, for me there were little moments of great suspense and it just seemed to go on for ever. Plus, it took a long time to get into and the way in which Stapleton was never properly killed was a total anti-climax. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    I was hounded into it!

    I read this again for the first time in a few years. If you can ignore Holmes' near-constant references to OTHER cases he's done, the story is still a good one. I've heard there's also an apocryphal addition (no spoilers) to the tale. A 20-century relation of the 'accursed' family, who had a sense of humor, when he needed a car, bought a Japanese model; he now tools about in The Honda of the Baskervilles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    it wasnt that bad as i thought, but it wasnt my type of reading

    this book looked reely bad to me and i had to read it for school. i really don't like reading and i was not anxious to read it at all it was confusing at times but overall it was a good mystery if you liek that kind of story. it was a also a quick read . i read it in 3 days and usually one book takes me like a year!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Avoid it!

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's 'The Hound of the Baskervilles' is a mildly enterraining story with a slow plot that goes from bad to worse in pages. The book immediately starts out with Sherlock Holmes learning about a 'ghost hound' that is haunting the home of the Baskervilles, Baskerville Hall. This hound, killed the Hall's previous owner and a new Baskerville, Henry Baskerville, is moving in. Henry puts Sherlock Homes on the case. You follow Holmes closer and closer to the truth to find if this hound is a real ghost or just real. If you enjoyed other Sherlock Holmes stories you'll love this book, otherwise steer clear from it. Many times the story goes into excessive ammounts of detail, that if you're used to, make the plot more realistic interesting, but if not, over-complicate the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Great Read

    This novel will keep you on your toes with suspense and much unexpectedness. And will keep you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Conan Doyle at his best

    No other story in the Holmes saga can compare with The Hound of the Baskervilles. Sir Henry Baskerville is the owner of the curse manor and his close frien and associate Dr. Mortimer come to Sherlock Holmes to prevent Sir Henry's grisly murder by the hound. The hound of course dies and the devious plotter is unmasked and put away forever in the most permanat way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    love watching the mystery unfold

    The hound of the Baskervilles is about the murder a of man by the name of Sir Charles Baskerville. The murder occurs during a party. The characters include Sherlock Holmes, Sir Charles Baskerville, Dr. Watson, Mr. Barrymoore, and Dr. Mortimore. The footprints of a giant hound have been found by the body and they are suspicious. The legend of the hound of the baskervilles is told to the family by a man in a black suit a long time ago. The book was over whelming. The story takes place in London. Men were being killed because they where related to the Baskerville family. Sir Sherlock Holmes investigates the killings and he finds hair, large footprints and large teeth marks on the victims. To catch the beast, they have to set up nets in the moor. In the end, the hound of the Baskervilles is killed and burned. They have to burn him or else he would regain strength and come back. They solve the mystery. People will really liked reading this book because they will like to watch the mystery unfold. People will like reading it because Doyle describes every detail in every way possible. The book keeps readers interested because they never know what is going to happen next. The author uses harder words in the book, which make us turn back to see what the word either meant or is. Others should read this book because it does keep readers thinking and thinking is good for the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    Pretty good book

    If you really enjoy classic literature and mysteries? Then you will love the book, The Hound of the Baskervilles. This book combines the elements of mystery and deception, which is unraveled in the final chapters of the book. I personally loved it, except that I did not really understand some of the old British humor and the British text also. This book is about how a man, Sir Charles Baskerville is frightened to death, near the moor in Devonshire, England and his only living relative, Sir Henry Baskerville inherits all of his earnings. Sir Henry is bewildered when he gets a call in the U.S. and someone tells him that his uncle has died. Henry then travels to England and meets with Sherlock Holmes, and asks him to solve the mystery of the mysterious curse of the hound of the Baskervilles, which is a tale that says that there is a hound that lives on the eerie moor that is after the Baskerville family. This story unveils many mysterious events, like when a lose convict has escaped onto the moor and that is just one more thing that Watson has to worry about. The book continues to take many more twists and turns, until the final chapters. One cool thing about this book, in my opinion was that you would try to guess the final outcome of this book and then the next chapter you would figure out something else and say, oh no this is what is going to happen. This book keeps you wanting more and more. A couple bad things were that I was looking forward to a book with Holmes in most of it, but he didn¿t appear, except for the first chapter, until at least halfway through the book. One other bad thing was that the first 150 pages were, mostly, unused information and they were a waste of time. I¿m a girl on a schedule and wasted time is not fun for me, but the final chapters were really good. I also liked how Doyle make this book different and unusual because there were so many characters in the story which made it more interesting and made me think of more possible outcomes of what would finally happen. Another thing I liked was that they had so many things going on at the same time and the book kept making connections to things that had happened in the past which leads to a very amazing and believe me, surprising final scene that was very interesting. In the end well, you will just have to find out! I¿m not saying that this is the best book that I have ever read but I wasn¿t the worst either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    One of the Best Books Ever!

    The Hound of the Baskervilles is, like my headline, one of the best books I¿ve read so far. As the title suggests, there is a hound after any Baskerville that sets foot upon a moor in Devonshire, England, where Baskerville Hall is located. This legend is brought to life when Sir Charles Baskerville, father of Sir Henry, is, literally, scared to death, and the footprint of a hound is found near the body. Dr. Mortimer, a close friend of Sir Charles, is worried about Sir Henry coming to Baskerville Hall to claim his inheritance, so he goes to Sherlock Holmes to ask for advice. Well, Sherlock can¿t pass up a mystery, and he uses his friend and companion, Dr. Watson, as a bodyguard for Sir Henry while his lives in Baskerville Hall, until the mystery can be cleared up. The plot thickens when someone follows Sir Henry around London, and says he¿s Sherlock Holmes! But later, in Devonshire, Dr. Watson is having problems with the mystery, and the neighbors. Mr. Stapleton, a man who likes to chase weird bugs and butterflies on the moor, raises Dr. Watson¿s suspicions when he tells him all about the moor, and that he could even get around at night. His sister is acting even more suspicious when she keeps telling Sir Henry that he must leave Baskerville Hall and never come back. If that isn¿t enough, the butler and maid of Baskerville Hall have some connection with a murderer, and, out on the moor hunting the murderer, Dr. Watson and Sir Henry see a strange man on a tor, and hear the baying of a hound. Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson hook up and if they can¿t figure it out, then nobody can. I only give this book four stars, because there isn¿t enough of Sherlock Holmes in it. (I wish I could give it a 4.5 or a 4.75) Other than that, it would be a 10. I really like how the plot twists and turns so that you won¿t be able to figure out the mystery, until Holmes tells you. It seems that, after every couple of pages, you think in your head, ¿What just happened?¿ or, ¿What does that have to do with the mystery?¿ For example, when I read that Mr. Barrymore was up at night holding a candle to the window, I knew that he was sending a signal to somebody, but I also knew he wasn¿t the one with the hound, so I was thinking, ¿How does this all fit in with the mystery, is this just a red herring, or what?¿ And now after having read this book, I realize that just about nobody could have figured out the mystery. It was just like ¿The Sign of the Four¿, where there was a long story behind it all. I really loved this book, and if you haven¿t, read it. If you like mysteries, I can almost guarantee that you will like it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Yea, I guess it was good...

    okay, well i didn't personally enjoy this book. i have read better from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, such as 'The Speckled Band' but i wasn't impressed with this... i couldnt even finsih it. anyways bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    The Honest Best of Holmes

    Doyle has met and exeeded the standards for any book I have ever read. From his exclusive characters to climax of the story this book is a must read for holmes fans and dispisers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Best book I've ever read!

    This book is an absolutely perfect book!An absolute must read novel!!Out of all the books I've read,this is the most spectacular!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Great Book So Far!

    This tale of Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes is a wonderful story for all ages. This book tells of a story about the unexplainable death of Sir Charles Baskerville when he is found face-to-ground, dead. No one, but Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson know how to crack the case and find out if it was the hound of the Baskervilles or a human who killed this man. This book is great so far. I have not yet finished it, but I know that it will be a great story to read and learn more about the mysterious case of the hound of the Baskervilles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    It was good!

    The book started off kinda slow but then it began to get interesting until the point i couldnt put it down.It is by far the best book i have evr read..It is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    THe best Holmes book by far!

    The best book by far, a must read for any Holmes Fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Best Book Yet!!

    This wonderfully written work has Hlomes and Watson back again for another adventure. A Phantom Dog is haunting a mansion and its up to the two detectives to figure out how to get rid of it.It has suspense and excitement and I reccomend it to anyone that enjoys to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4