Customer Reviews for

The Hound of the Baskervilles

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly good Title.

Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite inter...
Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite interesting and even had me wanting to read the next chapter right then at some points. The mystery and suspense of the story for most parts keeps it slow-paced. But, there are scenes of the novel which display fast-paced and even violent action. Again, to my surprise the novel drew me in and kept me all the way through!

posted by nick_martinez on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I didn't like it.

The story dragged on and on using too many unnessecary words. It was poop.

posted by Anonymous on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Surprisingly good Title.

    Upon reading the first few paragraphs of the novel, I did not think I would bear reading the entire thing. It features mildly complicated vocabulary and is spoken in an English which I am not too familiar with. Yet, putting this aside I found the story to be quite interesting and even had me wanting to read the next chapter right then at some points. The mystery and suspense of the story for most parts keeps it slow-paced. But, there are scenes of the novel which display fast-paced and even violent action. Again, to my surprise the novel drew me in and kept me all the way through!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    My first sherlock holmes book

    I am 12 years old, sixth grade. I am reading this book in my literature circles. Although I am only about half way through the book, I can definately say it is a great book. We have to read 9 novels by the end of the year (we only get to choose from a certain pile of nine books) and i have to admit, this was one of my last picks, i was really hesitant to read it. I have now learned that i do not only like girl stories and romance novels among funny books, but now i have been exposed to a whole nother world of literature. For this, i very much thank my teacher. Now, reguarding the actual book, I am very much enjoying it. I do have to admit that some words i need to look up, but that is easy on nook! It really grabs your attention in some parts, but sometimes, more in the beginning, you can get a little bored. Many people say that kids cannot enjoy these books, they are wrong! ~alicia s.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    The Hound Of The Baskervilles

    Amazing!!! Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    I didn't like it.

    The story dragged on and on using too many unnessecary words. It was poop.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You Won't See It Coming!

    I can recommend this book to most who enjoy the dry wit of Sherlock Holmes novels. I advise you to start with "A Letter In Scarlet" if you have not yet read it because out of his four novels you should start at the beginning. I'm happy to say the deductive reasoning and plot twists that come with all Holmes' escapades transcends into this book no less diminished. I'm not out to ruin any plot twists but you won't see them coming. You may expect one thing, but from around a corner Holmes will correct you with his cold hard decisive perceptional skills. And thats what makes it an Arthur Conan Doyle novel a shrewd parched novel devoid of emotional thoughts and feelings. This will be a safe assumption for all of the Sherlock Holmes novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sherlock is my hero!

    I think it was Sherlock Holmes that taught me logical thinking and that has gotten me in trouble for quite a while!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    REALLY BORING

    I have to read this novel for school. & its really boring. It uses ALOT of extra words. It takes one chapter to talk about a stick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In this particular adventure, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson dea

    In this particular adventure, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson deal with a legendary hound who kills Baskervilles family members, a curse that Holmes and Dr. Watson are not buying into it. After the death of Charles Baskerville from pure terror, the legend get strength and the heir of the state (Hugo Baskerville) asks for Holmes help to solve the mystery involving his uncle's death. Dr. Watson accompanies Hugo at Baskerville Hall in Devonshire, as Holmes have to stay in London so finish some other cases he is working on. While there, Watson hear on the moor the creepy sound of a hound... All the relationship with the neighbors and the employees of the house are well developed and the surprising appearance of Holmes just in time to prevent another crime is superb. 
    If you enjoy reading mystery stories, definitely you cannot miss this one, a classic among mystery stories. Very entertaining and with surprising twists on the plot, it took me around 4 hours to read the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Major disaster in San Franscisco kills people on Golden Gate

    A 9.7earthquake struck San Franscisco this morning at10:00
    in the morning. It was the deadliest earthquake in the world, it split California in half. It also split the Golden Gate Bridge in half, causing a major tsunami towards Japans capital city
    Tokyo. There were no survivors in the collaps of the bridge
    there was an explosion while the bridge collapsed. We should all pray for the people that were killed in this natural disaster.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Do NOT read the free ebook.  The OCR is terrible.  Get the real

    Do NOT read the free ebook.  The OCR is terrible.  Get the real book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Exellent

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    umm i like it allot

    I didn't like this book, cause i had trouble reading it. It was boring, a little slow and i think i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2000

    fab book!!!!!!!!!

    this was another great book. i really enjoyed it. the way Sherlock and Watson plunge headfirst into the mystery is superb. Doyle has described every inch of the mystery so vividly i feel like i've actually seen it! Doyle does another work of art and i say that Doyle's one of the world's most exalted writers!! you gotta read this! thrown into a web of malice, greed and DEATH, Sherlock Holmes must cross all limits to bring this to justice!!!!! (P.S. i sound like an ad for the book, right? HAHAHA!!!!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Penguin13 reviews a 'jolly good mystery!'

    This book had a very good beginning. Doyle did not hesitate to plunge right into the 'meat' of the story. I found the manuscript from 1742 amusing. This book is what I would call classic mystery. You've got your family curse, famous detective, trusty sidekick, good, evil, etc. You may think that this would be dull and monotonous- as I thought. However, I was pleasantly surprised with my immediate 'attraction' to these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Spooky!

    I read this book when I was in the 6th grade. It scared the hell out of me. I highly suggest reading this fantastic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    Real Addictive!

    I couldn't go to bed before I finished reading the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    Surprising

    I am a sixth grader at Trinity Prep and our teacher made us read this book. I read it and was completely amazed. I really liked it. And I enjoy few books. So this was a great surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Superior Holmes

    Since reading this as an assigned book in grade school I have revisited it every so often and it's always good to curl up with an old friend and be transported to another place and time. There's no mystery to it for me, but I envy first time readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2