Customer Reviews for

The Hour Before Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    This was my first read by this author I am a Stephen King/ Dean

    This was my first read by this author I am a Stephen King/ Dean Kootz fan and I loved this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    A must for horror fans!

    Nemo Raglan returns to his New England home town to solve the mystery of his father's death, a death that is linked to a game from his childhood. Atmospheric and terrifying! If you love horror, you have got to add this one to your collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Great!

    This was the first Douglas Clegg novel I've read. And after reading it, I can say it will be the first of many! The suspense and characterization are simply superb. And Clegg has such a smooth flow to his writing, that it's impossible not to be pulled right in! A definate must-read for any horror fan!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Quite possibly the best Clegg ever!

    Dark, engaging, frightening, perfect! Rarely has a book captured me so completely from beginning to end. MORE CLEGG PLEASE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Clegg is the best Horror writer there is!

    King and Koontz cant touch this guy, he is simply amazing, and his latest, The Hour Before Dark is his best to date. You will not find a better Horror Novel this year, or maybe in the past five years

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    Climbing to the top of the Horror genre

    Douglas Clegg is giving horror writers a run for their money. Grab anything you can find written by this wonderful writer. He is able to catch your attention and hold on all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Another Hit for Clegg

    Nemo Raglan is brought back to Hawthorn, the house on a small New England island, by the murder of his father. It was here that Nemo, his brother Bruno, and his sister Brooke played the Dark Game, a game that still haunts the three of them. This is the story of dark and dangerous secrets hiding behind the face of family. The characters are written very well, and at times you can almost believe you are there with them. The mystery behind the whole book is eerie, and builds to a tremendous climax. Doug Clegg has quickly become one of my favorite horror authors, right up there with Stephen King and Dean Koontz. If you haven't tried him yet I highly recommend that you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Awesome and compelling...

    Douglas Clegg is a great writer of our time. This book is a wonderful story that is frightening and yet has a calm beauty about it. Clegg sends the reader on a journey, in this case to a little New England island with harsh winters and horror... I fell in love with the characters and the scenery. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    Dark Games and Terror

    The brutal murder of his father brings Nemo Raglan back to Hawthorn, the house on the small New England island he has fled many years before, for reasons he only partially understands. He is reunited with his younger brother, Bruno, and his beautiful sister, Brooke, whose fragile emotional state seems headed for a mental breakdown. The three siblings are bound by the childhood traumas of their mother¿s desertion, their father¿s punishment in the ancient stone smokehouse where he was murdered and the Dark Game, the secret game they had played in childhood, whose hypnotic embrace they have never escaped. In THE HOUR BEFORE DARK, Douglas Clegg peels back the layers of a family¿s dark past to reveal a hideous secret. Within the walls of Hawthorn lie the clues to a mystery that has haunted the two brothers and their sister from childhood and to the supernatural evil that is slowly taking over their lives. Douglas Clegg won both the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award for his short story collection THE NIGHTMARE CHRONICLES. Now In his finest literary effort to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre. He pulls the reader in immediately and builds suspense until it¿s hard to breathe. Great characterization that puts the reader inside the skins of the leading characters, pacing that gradually builds to a shocking climax, intriguing setting and a haunting mystery combine to make this one of the best novels I¿ve read in a long time. I had the privilege of writing the first review of this book for a top horror magazine, and I am happy to report that it is now a strong contender for a 2002 Bram Stoker Award. If you love horror, hold onto your chair; THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerhouse of a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    Great book!

    This is a great book...Clegg has quickly become one of my favorite writers. I highly recommend picking up a copy of THE HOUR BEFORE DARK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    A great, page-turning horror read!

    Doug Clegg has a winner here in The Hour Before Dark. It is not only well-written, but the content is fresh as well as scary. Oh, to be able to write like that! Next to Stephen King, (sorry, Doug), Clegg is my very favorite author. I've read other novels by him, but this is by far his best. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Stephen King Reincarnated!

    if you're looking for that old Stephen King feeling.. that familiar creepy chill, you won't be disappointed with this book! in fact you'll wonder if you're not reading something by King himself ;-) very very enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Challenging Stephen King

    This book has 370 pages of combined total suspense and horror. It will make you keep reading page after page after page. I couldn't let go of this one. Clegg's imagination and art is growing rapidly. Soon he'll have us in his hands, like Stephen King has us now. Looking for your next and coming hardcover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    The Hour Before Dark

    This is a great book from start to finish..I couldn't put it down...Doug Clegg is a fantastic horror writer, and this is one of his best...Everyone should check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    The Hour Before Dark

    A horror/suspense book that slowly builds and hynotizes you into it. The story of the Raglan family of New England who are bought together after their father's violent death. There are many dark secrets linked to a dark game they played in childhood. Horrifying secrets, which are revealed. Although gently lulling you in with attention to environment, everyday detail, and character development, this book eventually becomes very savage, intense, and frightening. By the end you care deeply about the characters and feel you know them, which makes it more so. A very good, hypnotic,and exciting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Couldn't put it down!

    I started reading this and just couldn't stop until I was done - I LOVE Clegg's work, but this was an especially gripping piece. READ IT!! Play the Dark Game!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    PLAY THE DARK GAME FOR THE SCARE OF A LIFETIME!!!

    If Stephen King is the ¿Master of Horror,¿ then Douglas Clegg (author of THE NIGHTMARE HOUSE, INFINITY, BREEDER, and YOU COME WHEN I CALL YOU) is definitely the ¿Prince of the Macabre!¿ In Mr. Clegg¿s newest book, THE HOUR BEFORE DARK, he takes us to Burnley Island, which is just off the coast of Massachusetts and is the home of Gordie Raglan, the owner of the Hawthorn property. When Gordie is brutally murdered by a psychopathic killer and his body later discovered in the property¿s smokehouse by his daughter, Brooke, the local police are soon stumped as to who could have committed such a heinous crime. The oldest son in the Raglan clan, Nemo, quickly returns home from Washington, D.C. to be with Brooke and his younger brother, Bruno, hoping that the three of them might be able to figure out why someone would want to murder their father and who the killer is. It isn¿t long, however, before something mysterious and dangerous in the Hawthorn house causes old, forgotten memories that the three siblings had wiped from their minds as children to once again surface. Part of it has to do with their mother abandoning the family for another man over twenty years before. Another part is the smokehouse and the terrible things that once transpired there. Finally, and certainly more frightening, are the memories of the Dark Game that they used to play as kids and what once happened to them when they broke the rules and continued playing the game well into the evening. To eventually save their sanity and their lives, Nemo and his brother and sister will have to delve into the past to find the answers to their father¿s secrets, the power of the Dark Game, and the identity of a killer who¿s still eager to shed more blood. THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful testament to the writing skill of Douglas Clegg. This is an author who knows how to grab the reader by the jugular in the first few pages and not let go till he¿s gotten the very last drop of blood out of us. He writes characters that are fully formed with the same fears and desires and psychological problems as our closest friends. Well, maybe not the same fears and maybe a lot more in the way of mental disorders. All three of the Raglan children have trouble loving and trusting and being close to another human being; but, then again, don¿t we all? Mr. Clegg also has a unique talent in being able to show the innocence of childhood with flashbacks and how quickly it can be taken away without a second¿s notice. And, yes, the atmosphere of the Hawthorn house has been created to perfection with its strange eeriness, beckoning shadows, and unexplainable voices that come from out of nowhere. One can easily imagine death lurking around every corner, anxious to claim its next victim. As for the Raglans, the author has structured a family with very special secrets¿secrets that can kill like a sharp knife through an eye socket. This makes THE HOUR BEFORE DARK the ideal Halloween gift for those of you yearning to experience the true essence of fear!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Wow! Stellar!

    I read this one in a span of three nights (Of course, nighttime is the only time to read a classic scary novel of this caliber). A very atmospheric and terrifying story! Anyone looking for deliciously effective horror, this one is a must! Simply excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Mesmerizing ride from start to finish

    It is an excellent book that hooks you from the start. You will be unable to put it down as you try to figure out the mystery. Of course since he is one of the top horror writers of today it has plenty of horror to spook you if you dare read it at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2