Customer Reviews for

The House I Loved

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great

Story was a little sad but I loved hearing the history of frannce

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I read this book based on the gripping story line of Sarah's Key

I read this book based on the gripping story line of Sarah's Key, which I have recommended to many. However, The House I Loved was plodding and never really held my attention. I just didn't get the premise of the book, although the ending was an apt one.

posted by Sudananne on August 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    I read this book based on the gripping story line of Sarah's Key

    I read this book based on the gripping story line of Sarah's Key, which
    I have recommended to many. However, The House I Loved was plodding and
    never really held my attention. I just didn't get the premise of the
    book, although the ending was an apt one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Would nor recommend.

    I thoroughly enjoyed sarahs key but did not enjoy this book. Too plodding and ending even less wirthwhile.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great

    Story was a little sad but I loved hearing the history of frannce

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Very very SLOW!

    I have enjoyed this Author's other work but found this very slow and hard to get through!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I found this book pretty depressing and I didn't enjoy the voice

    I found this book pretty depressing and I didn't enjoy the voice. It's narrated by the widow of a man who loved the house, the buildings on the street, the city, etc., as she writes letters to him. It was just very odd. It got amazing reviews and I will say I enjoyed learning about the history of Paris, but overall, I wouldn't recommend spending money on it. Get it from the library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Great historical detail about the reconstruction of Paris woven

    Great historical detail about the reconstruction of Paris woven into an entertaining story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    This story has stayed with me long after I finished the last pag

    This story has stayed with me long after I finished the last page. We've become such a transient society, that the idea of staying in one house all our adult life is almost unheard of any longer. I loved that the house was filled with the memories and shadows of so much love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Slow at times but very touching story

    An interesting viewpoint on the re-building of Paris. At times the story gets sluggish but is very much worth the read and very touching at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I really liked that this book was written from the perspective o

    I really liked that this book was written from the perspective of a woman living in Victorian times. I appreciated her reluctance to reveal a traumatic events from her past and her true feelings about her family and friends. She seemed to evolve toward greater understanding of her life. I would definitely recommend this book - there was history, mystery, and drama!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    I found the book was a bit slow, however, loved hearing about mo

    I found the book was a bit slow, however, loved hearing about more of the history of France and the beginning of their great boulevards. It is a very sad story, however, definitely worthwhile reading. This has become one of my favorite authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    I did not care after a few pages

    Everyone cannot create a feeling of grief

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    **

    I figured out something happened with the gentleman but one would have thought she cherished her daughter more since the son was conceived through rape! Not one of the author's best:(

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Enjoyable historical fiction; Recommend

    I always enjoy reading Tatiana's books. They are packed with history and mystery. Fast read and enjoyed the story. Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    I loved this book! So well written and easy to follow even though the story goes back and forth from past to present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    From an English major--Incredibly well written and engaging

    Well written and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I had just finished Stephane Kirkland's excellent book Paris Reb

    I had just finished Stephane Kirkland's excellent book Paris Reborn and had loved Sarah's Key, so I was excited about reading this book. Unfortunately, it was horribly disappointing. I wonder if the author wrote the English version or a translator. I know both English and French, so I was very aware of awkwardness. It was so full of run-on sentences, fragments, poor English grammar, and unpredictable vocabulary choices that I was immediately distracted from the story. Then the format was restrictive to the point of artificiality. Finally, the story itself just didn't hold together. Madame de Rosnay showed her interest in Flaubert, Poe and Zola, but her work lacks their genius.. Too bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Hi(i might forget some of the requests you want us to post in here

    I unusally look likee a lady bug but small spots and blue eyes.im 15 moons.im a very good cat.i wamt to have kits and unite up with my brother orangepeel of blazeclan rigjt now im a loner i like you because of your name and your eyes and your history i too had a clan that died away but no mate like you had

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    To owlblaze

    Wolfkit is at seaweed . He is now wolfcall sparklestar

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Snowfern

    I HATE U OWLBLAZE!!! UR A LIAR AND A CHEATER!!!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4