Customer Reviews for

The House that Love Built

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I loved reading this book. The book is packed with many charact

I loved reading this book.

The book is packed with many characters who have their own unique story to tell. Right from a old dying man and the little kids, its a story that everyone can relate to. The author cleanly switched scenes among the characters and keeps you re...
I loved reading this book.

The book is packed with many characters who have their own unique story to tell. Right from a old dying man and the little kids, its a story that everyone can relate to. The author cleanly switched scenes among the characters and keeps you reading in a normal pace.

The writing style is able to grab the require attention, there is emotion, humor and most likeable things in the book. Although the author dragged on some paragraphs, the whole plot is nice. Dialogues are powerful and so it the story.

posted by Anonymous on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

K

Once again, we have too many plot spoilers ruining the book, after bragging how they got the book for free from the publisher, author, agent....whoever for their ' honest review'. Well, after all that bragging, that tells me the review will not be honest, that it will b...
Once again, we have too many plot spoilers ruining the book, after bragging how they got the book for free from the publisher, author, agent....whoever for their ' honest review'. Well, after all that bragging, that tells me the review will not be honest, that it will be a dishonest review because they gave you the book for free so you will of course give it a glowing 5 star review. Then you reveal every detail of the book by dissecting every sentence and chapter. That is so rude and inconsiderate to other readers. We dont get our books for free. We have to buy them, but thanks to plot spoilers like you, you destroy the reason to buy it. Why buy a book when you have already told everything that happens? Please bn, stop these plot spoilers from posting. Ban them, fine them, do something!

posted by 8888649 on July 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once you have finished this book the title becomes totally clear

    Once you have finished this book the title becomes totally clear to you.
    Brooke Holloway, has lost the love of her life, her husband. She is raising two children, who are her salvation. She did state, that if it weren't for them, she would have thrown in the towel.
    When Owen Saunders, purchases the old Hadley mansion. His path crosses with Brook, as she owns the local hardware store, and he has a lot of work to do in restoring his new house. Owen is fighting his demons, he has lost his wife, Virginia, but to another man not death. He needs to forgive his ex, but can't find his way to do so.
    Brooke, is also struggling with forgiveness, her father left her family when she was a young child. He now wants back in her life, and Brook is determined not let him.
    There are a few other character in this story that will warm your heart, and some you will despise for the way they have treated a child. Throughout all, we find God seems to be in control of their lives, and all they have to do is listen.
    Some parts made me want to cry, they were so sweet. This is not a book to be missed, and the important word is "Family". I loved it, and wish I could continue on in their lives. There are really some interesting and very surprising things that happen here. Don't miss this!

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Group, and was not required to give a positive review.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I loved reading this book. The book is packed with many charact

    I loved reading this book.

    The book is packed with many characters who have their own unique story to tell. Right from a old dying man and the little kids, its a story that everyone can relate to. The author cleanly switched scenes among the characters and keeps you reading in a normal pace.

    The writing style is able to grab the require attention, there is emotion, humor and most likeable things in the book. Although the author dragged on some paragraphs, the whole plot is nice. Dialogues are powerful and so it the story.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    I am a true fan of beth wiseman. I have not read any of her books that i haven't liked. I have read all her amish fiction books and i would rate all of them a 5. This book is not a amish but is more modern. It is a wonderful book and i would not hesitate to pick up another book that was not amish. She has become one of my favorite authors...i hope she keeps writing for a long time to come.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great Read

    I've enjoyed many of Beth's books. For the most part I've been reading her Amish books. When I came across this book I decided to give it a try. It did not disapoint me!






    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    This was an excellent book! It's been hard finding Christian aut

    This was an excellent book! It's been hard finding Christian authors that can tell a beautiful love story without a lot of heartbreak. This book was wonderful to read and I hope Wiseman plans on writing more like it! 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    The House that Love Built by Beth Wiseman is the perfect combina

    The House that Love Built by Beth Wiseman is the perfect combination of cute and sweet, if that can be said of a novel. I fell hard for the story of Brooke and Owen right from the beginning. It is the story of a man and a woman struggling with life shattering issues and both are taking the steps to deal with and at the same time avoid, which lets face it is the only way any of us know how. I fell hook, line, and sinker for the struggles Brooke and Owen are dealing with so much so that I felt like I was dealing with the issues along with them. I cannot write this enough but this novel was utterly believable and charming that I took a personal day and only read this wonderful, uplifting, and adorable novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    K

    Once again, we have too many plot spoilers ruining the book, after bragging how they got the book for free from the publisher, author, agent....whoever for their ' honest review'. Well, after all that bragging, that tells me the review will not be honest, that it will be a dishonest review because they gave you the book for free so you will of course give it a glowing 5 star review. Then you reveal every detail of the book by dissecting every sentence and chapter. That is so rude and inconsiderate to other readers. We dont get our books for free. We have to buy them, but thanks to plot spoilers like you, you destroy the reason to buy it. Why buy a book when you have already told everything that happens? Please bn, stop these plot spoilers from posting. Ban them, fine them, do something!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a way this book starts and how it ends is amazing. You get

    What a way this book starts and how it ends is amazing. You get to see how a god works in a way though a completely different way. Brooke is trying to get over her grief of her husband. She caring for her two children. Though she also has her struggles. Owen is new in town. He buys a house that big for him out spite of his ex-wife. Owen starts doing repair in this house. There something adventures. There a big surprise that  
    you will not expect to happen.




    You learn about forgiving and you learn about how to handle grief.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    The House That Love Built is billed as a love story but it is so

    The House That Love Built is billed as a love story but it is so much more – it’s about finding a place in the world you can call home and realizing that family is more than the people you are related to.  Full review at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch (dot) wordpress (dot) com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    Excellent read.

    This was my first Beth Wiseman book but it certainly won't be my last. The characters are well developed and the story is interesting and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    This is a great book!!!  This is a wonderful story about a widow

    This is a great book!!!  This is a wonderful story about a widower that finds love again. I loved reading about her journey of finding love again and about her new untraditional family. I really loved this book so much I had trouble putting the book down because I wanted to know what was going to happen to her. Great love story. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Nice easy read

    This book was a light easy read, very enjoyable. I enjoyed the fact that reference was made to praying at appropriate times and I didn't have to worry about foul language. Recommended if you are interested in a pleasant story with a happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    This was a very good book! It's one I will definitely read over

    This was a very good book! It's one I will definitely read over again! I only wish it was longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    loved it

    Lots of twist and turns....wonderfully written. You will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Easy reading. If you're in the mood for a light, feel-good book, you'll enjoy this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very Enjoyable

    This was my first book by this author and I was very impressed by her. The book will made you sad and then make you smile I enjoyed it very much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Must read - sweet story

    I've not read anything from this author but was pleasantly surprised with a sweet story and how it was put together. Wholesome, loving, and a pleasant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Thoroughly Enjoyed It

    Good character development, nicely interwoven story lines, wholesome family and faith love story- worth the time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Ok

    You gave the book away i was going to buy this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    stop everything

    Ms. June 14th i think you're losing money for the company selling the book. You just told me the complete summary of the book. I was thinking about getting a sample and then possibly buying the book,but nevermind i already know what happens and why spend money for the book when you can tell me what happens for free? Thanks for ruining it for me. My rating is true depending on the complete summary by Ms. June 14th.
    Thank you for reading this i appreciate it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3