Customer Reviews for

The House That Love Built: The Story of Linda & Millard Fuller, Founders of Habitat for Humanity and the Fuller Center for Housing

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Life Changing!

    Millard and Linda Fullers life is a continual reminder of what God would have us do - lay down our lives so that we might truly live!!! The House That Love Built tells the story in such a glaring truth-filled manner that you can't help but want to follow in the challenging yet joy-filled way. READ, GROW and ENJOY. Kimberly L. Smith President Make Way Partners

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Giving Back Their Dreams

    What an amazing couple. What a huge impact they've had on this planet, and what a difference they have made in the lives of so many people. Bringing hope to people in poverty, and despair. It's so hard to even see the possibilities that are there, when one has lost all hope. Millard & Linda didn't just put roofs over their heads, they gave them hope. You have to be able to dream it, or envision it, before you can do it. They most assuredly gave them back their dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    A beautiful story about beautiful people!

    The House that Love Built is truly a gift. Ms. Youngs follows the story of the Fullers and their founding of Habitat for Humanity and the Fuller Center with care and dignity in a way that makes you want to keep reading long after you finish the last line. It's not only a book that tells, it is a book that teaches us how faith, love, and trust are really what turns this world around--not money, property, and investments. In what is sadly becoming a 'what's mine is mine' world, the Fullers shine like a rare jewel, showing us what the world could be with a little hard work and a lot more kindness and warmth among humankind: 'what's ours is everyone's.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    A Beautiful Story & Inspiration

    Having known the Fullers for several years, this beautifully written account of their lives allows readers to know just how wonderul, giving and exemplary servants to our Lord they are and which we should all aspire to. Their dedication to the mission of housing the poor and perseverance is awe inspiring especially in light of the injustices they have endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Mildred Fuller has lived a life of convictions to bring hope and a future to those who needed it most. The embodiment of that belief is reflected in his unwavering commitment to the homeless across this globe. This book gives an in-depth look into the heart and soul of a modern day saint. Bettie Youngs espouses truth and clarity with the foundation Millard gave birth to. This book challenges us all to stand by our faith and our dedication to the principles of ethic and integrity. Mildred's love for life, family and others is brought to life in this book. You wonâ¿¿t put this book down, it is a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A True Love Story

    Millard and Linda Fuller have had personal battles in their past, but they came to realize what is the most important ingredient in their lives, Love! They have triumphed and started two amazing companies from the ground up. Unfortunately, Habitat for Humanity has gone 'corporate' and has come down to only dollar signs, but out of that the Fuller Center for Housing came and again they are helping one family after another to be able to live better, happier and healthier lives with a roof over their heads. So many people have been blessed to have a home built for them and they have, and will rise to become part of our world¿s great future. Bettie, thank you for writing such a wonderful account of the Fuller¿s lives, this truly is a Great Love Story. Thank you Millard and Linda for all that you have done and all that you do and plan to do in your futures, you are two very inspiring people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    Whether you know Millard & Linda Fuller or not, just read the first few pages of the book, I bet it will engage you to read more... Bettie Youngs has done a excellent job in bringing to life the true and inspiring story of the Fullers. Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Definitely worth the read

    Fuller has become a household name. This book takes us into the home of that household name, giving us never-before-told details about the love story behind Habitat for Humanity, an endlessly fascinating and extremely well-told account. Read it and celebrate the joy! Greg Hunt, Pastor of First Baptist Church, Shreveport and Shreveport-Bossier Community Renewal board and Priscilla Hunt, the Association for Couples in Marriage Enrichment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    The ongoing journey of a great philanthropist!

    Bettie Youngs is a gifted raconteur, who has narrated the story of the Fullers in a magnificent manner. The House that Love Built gives the reader a vivid account of the victories and vicissitudes Millard Fuller, the greatest philanthropist of our time, has passed through. One wouldn¿t like to put off reading the book once begun. The biography tells us how we can practice virtues like perseverance, compassion, tolerance and sacrifice expected of a true, unswerving Christian. And we will find that behind Millard¿s success, too, there is a noble woman - Linda Fuller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    An Example of Living from the Heart

    I attended a conference recently and heard Millard Fuller speak. Intrigued by the glimpse of his life and work that he shared, I picked up a copy of `The House that Love Built¿ by Bettie Youngs. I could not put this book down. It is the story of a couple who pursued the American material dream and it nearly destroyed their lives. After honestly and deeply embracing the teachings of their faith, they decided to give their fortune away and dedicate their lives to selfless giving. Together they worked ceaselessly to found two successful non-profit organizations that to date, have provided homes for over 1 million people in need in the United States and throughout the world. It¿s really an amazing story. Read this book if you want to be inspired by people who are truly living from their hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Inspired by God

    Life is not always fair. This is the way I feel about Millard and Linda Fuller and their life's work with housing for the less fortunate. I have been a supporter and worked alongside Linda and Millard since the early 1980's. Their founding of Habitat for Humanity was inspired because of their Christian beliefs and challange to help people have a decent, affordable and dry home. This book by Bettie Youngs is such a true and touching account of the devotion to this mission and ultimate removal of The Fullers, and is beautifully, yet tragically told . If ever there had been a man who had 'been with God and challanged by God', this man is Millard Fuller along with his soul mate and devoted wife, Linda. The unfair treatment of The Fullers by Habitat for Humanity International is bitter as brine. The Fullers founded the organization and somehow, behind their backs, the Board of Directors of the organization began to see dollar signs for their personal gain....and the entire mission changed. Founded on volunteerism, brotherly love and compassion, it is just 'big business' now. The Fuller Center for Housing is now moving like rays of sun across the earth, and this book will enlighten you to desire to support The Fullers on their new mission. Bettie Youngs did a wonderful job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Focused Visionary with Integrity

    Inspirational story about an unplanned life. Two passionate people with huge loving hearts followed their hearts into unplanned territory and set about to help the world ¿ one life at a time. The integrity to be and do that which gives their life purpose. To feel deeply and be vulnerable and still know beyond any shadow of doubt that love is all that really matters. To step out and do something good, believing along every step of the way that their vision for helping others would not be compromised. Read this book and be inspired. You don¿t have to go out and build houses ¿ although I am sure they can use the help. But believe in yourself, live with integrity, and be true to the vision that abides in your heart and help others. That¿s what I learned thru this book about Linda and Millard Fuller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A Powerful Book of Faith, Love, and Humanity

    Millard and Linda Fuller's life story, so beautifully written, inspires you to put your dreams into reality. A refreshing new way of seeing the power of FAITH and how miracles really do happen when you come from the heart and believe in your good intentions. There is no end to what we can accomplish, and the Fuller's inspire us to open our world to bigger possibilities and how one dream can make a quantum difference in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Courage, Faith, Focus Conquers All

    I often deal with people of faith who have been used by their Creator to achieve extraordinary things for a better world. But suddenly, they unfairly lose everything they have built overnight. Bettie Young's 'The House That Love Built' gives us a paradigm of how to respond. Her gift is wrapped in a page turner, beginning with a love story, moving on to describe one of the most inspired achievements of this generation, crescendoing with an aching account of a web of corporate intrigue entangling Habitat (one of our most beloved institutions) and ending with redemption. She shows how that great force that made it all possible---Love--- freed Habitat's founders, Millard and Linda Fuller, from corporate entanglement, and set them on a journey to accomplish something even greater---building housing worldwide for all at a grass roots level, with complete integrity, humility, faith, remarkable energy, and, above all, Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    What a story!

    The House that Love Built tells the story of Millard and Linda Fuller¿s lives, the founders of Habitat for Humanity and The Fuller Center for Housing, from a very young age to the present. It is truly a touching, remarkable story! It is a story that starts with greed and ambition, progresses through separation and reconciliation, faith and generosity, community and life transformations, growth and excitement, and finally ends with a harsh parting that leads them to new beginnings. The incredible story takes the reader through Millard¿s youth, his and Linda¿s highly-unlikely first meeting, Millard¿s wildly successful business ventures that led him to become a millionaire without a family life, their decision to give it all away, their time at Koinonia Farm and as missionaries in Zaire, their founding and growing Habitat for Humanity as a grassroots Christian ministry, their controversial ouster by Habitat for Humanity International¿s Board of Directors, and their decision to continue their life¿s work through founding The Fuller Center for Housing. The story goes into detail regarding the controversial steps that led to Millard and Linda¿s firing from Habitat for Humanity. Despite a popular misconception that they were terminated due to a sexual harassment claim, the book ¿ with numerous supporting documents included in an appendix ¿ clarifies that the firing was because of disagreements and clashes with the corporate-leaning board of directors that came to a point around a highly unsubstantiated and suspect claim. Through extensive quotations, vignettes, pictures, and fascinating details, the author lets you feel as though you actually know Millard and Linda, and soon you find yourself coming to love and admire them ¿ just as countless volunteers and homeowner families have done over the years. If you don¿t want to believe that a couple of people moving out in faith can touch millions of lives, then don¿t read this book. Their story will inspire you ¿ it has me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    House That Love Built: The Untold Story of Linda & Millard Fuller, Founders of Habitat for Humanity and the Fuller Center for Housing

    A great read! A biography of Linda and Millard Fuller, recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom and the National Jefferson Award, among many. This story details their parting with Habitat for Humanity World Headquarters and creation of The Fuller Center for Housing. Linda and Millard are national and international treasures! I'm buying at least 100 copies and giving them to family and friends! Not only a great read but a MUST read! I'm reading it for the third time! Buy it! You'll LOVE reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Not only inspirational, it makes one pause and consider the path chosen to claim the american dream. What price glory? ---- we are conditioned to think success is money, property and prestige,--- after reading what millard fuller and his wife gave up to find the true meaning of success and fulfillment, i was inspired to consider the road less traveled. I loved the story as well as the clever writing style bettie b. Youngs used to unfold and beathe life into this untold treasure. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    What a story

    The House That Love Built is a beautifully written story of a remarkable couple. The Fuller's story will inspire and make you believe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    True Faith

    Millard and Linda Fuller and their call from the Holy Spirit within is one of the most heart-felt, moving manifestations I have had the privilege to vicariously witness through the power of the spoken word. Their story recounting their most prosperous moment¿s that resulted from undaunted service to humanity is riveting, as their inner-wealth floweth over with pure service. Truly he and his wife are one of life¿s gleaning examples of The Prayer of Jebez and the miraculous results of how one¿s boundaries and territories are blessedly extended to do God¿s work. The House that Love Built is a warm-hearted extension of Bettie Young¿s compassion, and charismatic enthusiasm that showcase exemplary individuals like the Fullers who, indeed, help us all remember the beauty and magic of a Spirit-lead and conscious life. Paula Marie Jackson, Founder, Love and Light From Within, Inc., La Jolla, California

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Revelation of Injustice Done to Millard Fuller

    Thank you, Bettie Youngs, for writing THE HOUSE THAT LOVE BUILT. I finally got to know the whole truth about the great injustice done to Millard Fuller. Talk about being persecuted for righteousness' sake, he was! It is a blessing to see how he and Linda responded, not with hatred and vengeance but with good will, still seeking to help and not compete with Habitat For Humanity. The Lord is a God of justice, and He will deal with the ones who treated the Fullers unjustly and ungratefully. My husband and I have been friends of the Fullers since 1969 and have read most of Millard's books, but in this book we discovered many more interesting things about them we did not know. This book reveals what we have always known, that Millard's character is impeccable, and his actions spring from a deep love for the Lord Jesus Christ and for his fellow man. Sadly, the lives of more and more Christian leaders in today's world are tainted with scandal. The House That Love Built is a book that helps restore confidence in Christians in public ministry. The book shows that true Christianity works. Forgiving your enemies can be a stepping stone to greater fruitfulness. I predict that the new Fuller Center for Housing will eventually eclipse the work of Habitat For Humanity, maybe not in the number of houses built, but in the number of changed lives for the kingdom of God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2