Customer Reviews for

The House of Grey: Volume 3

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    J'aisme les cheveux de Cody Simpson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Well written but not going anywhere anytime soon.

    Enough already! I've read three of these books now and with each one comes greater mystery and more and more questions without a single hint as to were this story and it's characters are going. I'm starting to wonder if the author even knows. I understand the literary imperitive of an author creating mystery and building suspence but you have to throw the reader a satisfying bone every once in a while. These books are very well written and the author makes you care about the characters but after a thousand pages I'm still waiting for a story. I'm afraid i'm calling it quits at this point. These books just seem to be a never ending story and there is a world of books out there i'd like to read and in some of them i'll actually get to finally see the wizard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By now, your just as curious as I am about Monson and the happenings. Keep going!

    The above synopsis is a wonderful overview of the whole serialized series. In this volume we touch on the man in the mirror, looking back at Monson. We see of what happened at the Bridge accident and how relates to his haunting images. Monson starts to wonder if what's buried in his mind could be something someone doesn't want out. But what is it?

    The homecoming football game is a hit! They won and Monson found himself, unexpectedly, with a catch and touchdown that wins the game. Monson doesn't play football, yet magically he played like he had for years. When leaving the stadium Monson is saved by one of his best friends, Arturious, who takes his place. Monson has lived through another 'near-death' moment, making him wonder if someone is after him. However, there is another who doesn't make it. Monson then takes on title of cursed... Monson remembers nothing of his past, let alone that dreadful day that he solely survived and left him scarred, but pieces about and videos are starting to surface, showing parts of what did happen.

    This volume felt as the story was slower at the beginning as Monson is learning things with action packed happenings, making him wonder about himself. Along with making you curious too. In the end, it picks up steam and brings all you've learned together.

    Monson is seriously starting to wonder what he knows of that sad day that stole his memories and so much more. Could there be something there that some one would kill him for, to keep him quiet? However, he remembers nothing. But can there be someone out there not willing to take a chance of his memory returning?

    These are questions posed and make me wonder as well. Poor Monson feels he's going crazy with these thoughts and those of a mirror Monson that appears to be evil. Monson's inner self seems ready to surface and have Monson question who he was before the bridge accident.

    We start to learn pieces of what happened on the bridge and in the world around what the bridge meant.

    There is one thing with this volume that I want to warn you about. There are editing errors present with words and punctuation. They might be fixed now, maybe some of it is from formatting, I don't know. But in all I still loved the story told and the boys. They make me relax with their humor.

    I have to say I continue to enjoy Monson, Cassius, and Arturious. They are a great crew and make me smile. I do enjoyed their good humor and jokes with each other. We've even added a few girls visiting more. Who add to the banter splendidly. We start to see the deeper connections all these kids have in the adult world as well. However, Monson still seems to be a blank, like his memory.

    So many new hints dropped here. More mystery and questions. Yet as the end comes Collin feeds us a few answers. I'm looking forward to learning about Monson as things unfold in the last three books. And I'm glad they are all out and available now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Check it Out

    This book is geared more towards teens than young adult in my opinion. It's about a boy named Monson Grey who doesn't remember his past or what happened to him on Baroty Bridge. He is enrolled into the very prestigious school Coren University where all the well to-do kids go, including a teen pop star and actress!

    He is named Horum Vir due to winning the Knowledge bowl, something he does not remember winning. But this seems a big deal on campus and brings a lot of unwanted attention to Grey. Life on campus isn't what it seems as Monson struggles with his newfound popularity and trying to come to terms with his memory loss.

    The writing is simple and I don't know if I'd read other books by Collin Earl but if you like mystery this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1