BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2600 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2194)

4 Star

(187)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(114)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1168 out of 1279 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

The book makes you feel like everything you read should be real! Say yes if you Rick Riordan is the brst Auther!

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Anonymus

Its the 8th and I don't have it! Where is it?! I preordered it months ago! Why does the nook hate me? Come on Barnes and Noble or I'm switching to a kindle fire! Get your act together!

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Waiting

    Ok seriously?!? I preordered this hoping I could get it before others and have something to read for the day. Its been almost 12 hours and I still dont have it. Loosing respect for nook really fast!!

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Ughhhhh

    I waited all night for this book and now i find out the kindle users got it........lame!!!!!

    17 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Why can't I read it?

    I got an email saying its available, and I preordered it, but it won't let me read it.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Upset

    Can not read my favorite book yes I also heard kindle people had the book since midnight

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    What the crud

    I've waited months for this stupid book and it keeps saying preorder even though it is the 8th

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Where rhe Where is it?

    I've waited a year for this day, didn't expect to wait longer. It is october 8th!!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    To: to all of you who think gay is wrong

    Thanks for your point. The thing is, God doesn't create people gay. People are not born that way, they choose to twist they way God has designed them because we are all sinners. How can I defend this position? Well, you said it yourself: because God condemns homosexuality, He wouldn't make people that way. But don't just take my word for it. You can read about this topic in the Bible, in Romans 1:20-32. So, after reading that, here is some hope: John 3:16, 1 John 1:9, and Romans 10:9-10 .
    (By the way, my review of House of Hades is earlier and is titled Disapointing in themes and writing quality).

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Trying to please everyone never works well.

    I don't know why it should surprise me that this author, who has a wonderful mix of an African American, a Native American, an Oriental American and a Hispanic American, would feel the need to make a character gay, but it really felt out of place if you've read the rest of the stories and the character's background. I was disappointed for this distracting character development to be added to a series targeted to a young audience. I have discussed this topic with my teenagers, but parents may not be ready to deal with this topic with younger readers.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    I am a parent.  This review is coming from an adult who reads th

    I am a parent.  This review is coming from an adult who reads these books with my children.  All of his other books in this series, and the previous Percy Jackson series have been kid-friendly.  But, without warning, this book has a section with a homosexual relationship.  
    First of all, WHY?  Why i this necessary in a children's book?  Can't parents discuss these types of things in our own time.  I am very disappointed that Rick Riordan has subjected children to his "agenda".  
    The publisher, at least, should have labeled the book with a warning that this book is a young adult level.  
    It is bothersome, as well, that children's series are appropriate until the last book or two in the series.  That is wrong to hook the kids, then finish a series with a book above their level.
    Had the homosexual chapter not been in the book, it would have been fine for kids.  Unfortunately, I let my ten year old read it without knowing that it was not appropriate for him.  So, thanks for that Rick!!!  

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Not as great as think

    This book is great but has horrible ending

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    The House of Hades, a book full of adventure and action. It star

    The House of Hades, a book full of adventure and action. It starts with a group of demigods trying to make their way to Greece, where they will meet up with another duo, making an equally perilous journey from the depths of Tartarus. Rick Riordan weaves another stunning tale in the Heroes of Olympus series; which is sure to grab all action loving readers, and not let them go until they finish. The series shows all of Riordan’s skill in making epic novels and amazing books. It is a must read for any reader craving adventure novels. Indiana Zhu

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Im not even done with the book yet, but its loosing my attention! What happened to all the cool funny moments like in percy jackson? This book is a complete rip off!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Wasnt as good

    I loved all the other books hes written for geek roman and egyptian mythology but the lack of action from the demigods and how much percy and annabeth have to.rely on their friend that comes later in the book the fact that they couldnt do crap about some of the stuff just made this book worse and at the end hazel just uses magic to defeat the sorceres wich isnt very exciting and i think that rick is holding everything back so he can do a final epic conclusion in the next book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Not Mr. Riordan's best effort.  This is by far, the weakest of t

    Not Mr. Riordan's best effort.  This is by far, the weakest of the series.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    TO ALL

    DOES ANYONE KNOW AN ACTIVE ROMAN OR EGYPITIAN CAMP PLZZ RESPOND IF YOU KNOW ANY THX!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Not rick's best work

    The pacing and dialog both seemed choppy and unnatural in this book. The action wasnt very exciting and the drama not very moving. I dont mind having a gay character in a book im actually for it, but this seemed like an after thought and an attempt to stir either controversy or some additional interest. So far i would say this is in the bottom 3 of riordan's olympian series (bottom 2 if im being honest). Not a terrible read, but also not a great one. As a huge fan of mr. Riordan and of greek mythology id say i was dissapointed but not crushed with the result of this installment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Why is this $3.81 more than the same thing on the Amazon Kindle

    Why is this $3.81 more than the same thing on the Amazon Kindle Store?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Sun

    You're not locked out, theres just a lag.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Just Plain Disappointing in light of Previous Books!

    I am personally a big fan of the original Percy Jackson series! I just want to get that across to you since I am about to hammer this book!
    First of all, this book was much worst than the last, and I considered the last to be... well adequate. The main reason I have such a problem with this new book is that for one, the character of Percy continuously loses the "prestige" he had in the original series. In this book he seems to lack a spine, which is obviously contrary to the original character sketch. I will spare specific details as I don't want to spoil anything. However, know that there are many examples. The second reason, is that Rick Riordan shoves his political ideas and agendas in your face! To put it so that there are no spoilers, let us just say that a character (not necessarily a main character) is found out to be gay. After that, Rick goes on to write pages and pages on how some are "born this way" and can't help it. B*#$ S^&*!!!
    Anyway, this really turned me off, and I probably won't be buying another book in this series. I am severely disappointed with the gradual character change... and with the gay/lesbian agenda, I am done.
    This is not merely my opinion. All of what I said is based on quotes from the book. Had I honestly known the direction the book was taking when I bought it, I would not have.
    Either way, it is not my decision but yours. I am sure you will all buy it anyway just to find out what happens. But trust me, it is not worth it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    This book is good and I like the storyline. However, we bought

    This book is good and I like the storyline. However, we bought the audiobook version so we could listen to it on the way to and from school like we had done with the other 8 books. The powers that be decided for some reason to switch the person narrating the book to someone new, and he is awful. The last two readers both read the book with different voices for each character so you could tell who was speaking and read the book like they enjoyed it. This person plods along like he's dragging a heavy load and every character, including the females, all basically sound the same. I hoped it would be better as he got comfortable with the role but alas, it has not. It's just painful to listen to. Too bad, this could have been such a good audio book too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2