BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2161)

4 Star

(185)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(114)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1165 out of 1275 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

The book makes you feel like everything you read should be real! Say yes if you Rick Riordan is the brst Auther!

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Anonymus

Its the 8th and I don't have it! Where is it?! I preordered it months ago! Why does the nook hate me? Come on Barnes and Noble or I'm switching to a kindle fire! Get your act together!

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Ugh, so what if Nico is gay?

    Ok, Nico is a gay. Big whoop. People are allowed to like who they want to like. If you have a problem with gays, stay away from them. And all you other boys have no problem with lesbians, which is pretty much the same thing. And I'm a christian, too, but I have no problems with gays. I am not gay myself, but I don't care if other people are. Mr. Riordan probably put that in for sales. Now gays are going to want to buy this book and R.R. is going to have more money than ever. So shut up about gays not being a good thing. Maybe someone gay came on here, and saw your comments. You might have really hurt their feelings. If you don't like yhis book for one little thing that is so stupid to argue over, don't read it and stop making this into an even bigger problem. This space is for reviews, not arguing ove stupid little contraversial crap.
    -Ironfire

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    To all

    Stop. Seriously. If you don't like in the book how it said Nico was g<_>ay, thats your problem. People have the right to choose who they love. I don't understand why people are so against this stuff? I mean seriousy! What happened if you fell in love with someone and all of a sudden tons of people start telling you that your not alowed to love each other? Hurts right? Im cristian but I believe God wanted us to be happy, if being happy is tearing love apart- ga<_>y or straight- there is sonthing seriously wrong with this world. I have a friend who is le<_>sbian, there are rumors that go around saying she ra.ped one of my other friends. This hurts! She can't change! She gonna love other girls because she cant help it! If you believe in god I wouod hope you believe in hapienes... if so, try to make all people happy. Not just yourself. Thank you for your time. -Jay* if you agree reply 'To jay'

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Help?

    I can't get it is stuck on pre-order and people say to aharcive it but I cant please I really want to read it how can I I want help ppppllleeeaaassse. I put it on home and it still didn't open some please help

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Listen gor a minute pls

    Ok people have been writing alot of hate and people are arguing about. I think people should stop writing bad things. Make peace, not war. Anyone elese?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Not impressed

    Not impressed this time
    I liked all of ricks books but this one i was disapointed
    The whole thing with nico was stupid

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Disappointed

    All of the Percy Jackson books were moving along so well. I guess I should have seen the homosexual content ahead with Nico and his moodiness. I am frustrated that this topic needed to be in the book at all. I can handle it, but I'm really frustrated for the younger readers. There is no reason for it. Rick Riordan attracted young readers from the very first book. My son being one of them at 9 years old. While I realize he was trying to bring up issues that some teens go through...to give a well-rounded and possibly more realistic look at teen life as a super-hero, I'm still frustrated and am not really excited to read the next book, like I was for all prior ones.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Good but......

    Love the series....but did not like how homosexuality was handled in the book

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    After one long year of waiting the House of Hades is finally on

    After one long year of waiting the House of Hades is finally on shelves for Percy Jackson fans to read! As much as any reader, or in my case Fangirl, wants to know about the fate of Percy and Annabeth *spoiler alert* in Tartus the book is not up to my expectations for a talent such as Rick Riordan. Situations are constantly getting repeated, the old trick-a-god-into-showing-off-its-skills card is pulled out in almost scene in the story, and it’s not only by Annabeth and Percy. Even Piper uses Annabeth’s tricks to save her friends. As much as this repetitive solution appears in the story, the portrayal of the seven in the House of Hades were the best yet and left me excited to get to know the character more! To me the characters weren’t fragments of Riordan’s imagination, they were real people with real emotions. Even characters I once though were one dimensional such as Nico &quot;came out&quot; in the story.  However, yet again in the House of Hades there is the classic last second rescue, where our heroes are on their deathbeds and someone unexpected comes sweeping in to save the day. From goddesses to friendly titans everyone runs to help the seven, and after a while you start to expect it. The House of Hades is a great book, and coming from a long time Percy Jackson fan it's just what fans need, but it is far from being a fan favorite. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Disappointing

    I am a huge fan of p.j. series, but this heroes of olympus book just fell flat for me. None of the charcters were developed further, out of the blue Nico is gay, and the plot seemed to be miising that awsome urgency, along with the funny, sarcastic comments from Percy and less from Leo as well. Overall, I was pretty disappointed, but I d like the fact that they brought back calypso. I probably will read the other book, but I am just not as excited, and am hoping rick doesnt rush it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    WHAT?

    it supposed to be out on nook today,thats what the site says

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    realy

    The bn help is no help with this they told me it was fixed it isn't

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Almost there!

    Awesome plot line! I'm hooked on the Percy Jackson books. I was a little disappointed to see some of the values drop for a few chapters, but overall a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Duke tip

    All you duke tip kids that are reading(I am too) this book is not going to help you with the SAT or ACT! I could not help it, but I read the book! Review helpful if you think that Rick should make a Norse/Scandinavian god & goddesses series! I forgot what the god of doors is, can someone post something about that? I think it begins with a J and is in "Battle of the labrinth." WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY?

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Raele

    V

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Great book but ending sucks

    Book is good and all but the end sucks and a new book is being made and we have to wait again. Just make it end in this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Full of surprises!

    I am a fan of Rick Riordan’s work. If you haven't read the other, Percy Jackson books please go back and read them. You won’t regret it. After reading his latest installment, I now want to go back and reread the earlier stories to pick up on some of the references. I thought I knew how this book would end. I was wrong. You won’t see this end coming. This is a trip definitely worth taking. Now I am wondering how the series will end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    To piper

    Good job write some more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    ...

    Really wish Rick hadn't brung something so controversial into one of his books... I hear enough of that in rl, I don't want to read it too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Nico

    If you think that Nico is gay ou have a sick mind because im sure tha you girl or boy have though tha another girl or boy is cute and thats probably wht Nic thought about Percy. Either way it said the book that nico fpund percy as his role model kinda because he was like him game mythomagic or whatever in real life;) so hes not completely gay and i dont think it should change how you se him. It should add something new to the book and i think that it makes him more likeable.;)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Wrong

    I pre ordered it and then i accidentally deleted it. So no i want to buy it but is says i already purchesed it. I checked my library and nothing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4