Customer Reviews for

The House of Velvet and Glass

Average Rating 3.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Not on sale...

Says 2.99 but when you go to buy it says 13.00

posted by 9376962 on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What’s left of the Allston family of Boston’s Back B

    What’s left of the Allston family of Boston’s Back Bay is still reeling from the loss of Matriarch Helen and youngest child Eulah who had the misfortune of being on the Titanic. Each remaining member is dealing with the loss and going about life in their own way. Sybil, the oldest has taken over running the house and furthering her spinster lifestyle, but it’s in the séance parlor of Miss Dee where she finds the most solace and closest to her lost family as she deals with the guilt she can’t seem to shed and knows that speaking of it to her stoic father Captain Lan Allston does no good. In the midst of all this it seems her younger brother Harlan has gotten himself kicked out of school, returned home only to get into deeper trouble. The troubles with Harlan also brings back an old family friend of the Allston’s, Benton Derby who was once much more to Sybil than just a friend and who is now in the position as a professor to help Harlan back in the classroom and out of trouble, but the complications continue as Harlan’s paramour Dovie arrives on the scene. Sybil joins forces with Ben to help her wayward brother but also turns to her faith in the occult for succor which has she and Ben butting heads. And as they seek answers journeying through the mystical psychic world they find only more questions and deeper puzzles, and some of those puzzles are leading back to a deep dark family secret.
    Katherine Howe burst on the literary scene with her debut novel The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and now brings us another blockbuster in The House of Velvet and Glass. She took me on board the Titanic, through the streets of Shanghai and the elegant and eclectic Boston of early 20th century America and as she did so I could see in my mind’s eye the scenes, the people and the happenings around them. As she spun her tale of misfortune and of catastrophe she showed me also the lengths that we will go to find comfort, she showed me the strength it takes to go on in the light of loss and she once again went into the preternatural world and did it with aplomb. She introduced me to some amazing characters that will stay with me for a long time with Sybil, Ben and the Captain leading the cast but not foreshadowing her co-stars, Harlan and Dovie and finally her cameo appearances by Helen and Eulah and we can’t forget Baiji. Her narrative is all reminiscent of the era she’s portraying and done beautifully and vividly expressive with such attention to detail that her research is obvious not only in the industrial miracles of the times but also the costume and attitudes brought out in her characters. And finally this is a love story, of familial love and romantic love, it’s a story of the right thing to do in the face of opposition and the love of oneself.
    If you’re a fan of historical literature, family drama, or just a great story this is a novel you should read. If you like just a little woo-woo with your big dose of reality you’ll also find what you’re looking for between the pages of this novel.
    Ms. Howe thank you for another wonderful all expenses paid trip with your wonderful storytelling and imagination and I can’t wait for the next one.

    16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Reading this book is akin to time travel. A page turner. If hi

    Reading this book is akin to time travel. A page turner. If history class used books like this, I would have done so much better. Inciteful. Masterfully written.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Loved her first book -- currently devouring this new work -- can

    Loved her first book -- currently devouring this new work -- can't wait for whatever comes next!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    l was fortunate to read an advanced copy of Katherine Howe's deb

    l was fortunate to read an advanced copy of Katherine Howe's debut novel in the First Look book club here on B&N. So I was anxiously awaiting her follow up. I'll be honest, I wasn't sure about the Titanic theme. Now that I have finished it, I can tell you that she exceeded my expectations.

    Based after the Titanic sunk, this novel follows one particular family who lost loved ones on the Titanic. Flash backs take you to the Titanic but Katherine does a wonderful job of making it the magical experience it was without getting too in depth on the horror that happened. This actually is what makes the ending so amazing. As you grow to know these people, you know what is coming, and your heart breaks for them & the people they leave behind. Katherine really captures the emotional wreckage that is often left behind after a tragedy. In that tragedy, there is hope, love & lives that keep moving on.

    Katherine does a magnificent job of capturing the time and even uses real people that were passengers on the ship. She truly does her research & it shows. I couldn't put this down & the next day, I felt myself wanting to pick it up again and felt a twinge of grief knowing I had finished. This is always an indicator of a great novel for me. I am so glad she shared these wonderful characters with us & her talent continues to blossom. I can't wait for her next novel already!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Loved it

    Katherin Howe is a gifted story teller, I couldn't stop reading it. I think it was even better than her first book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Don't miss it

    Beautifully written and historically accurate but I missed the connection with a contemporary first person narrator.Terrific twist! Looking for more from Ms Howe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Loved this book! I highly recommend it!

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns of this book. There is a perfect mix of reality and fantasy. The main characters are well-developed and likeable. Katherine Howe spins a good yarn. I would definitely read more books written by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Velvetstars Kits

    All kits are taken, this is the final draft of all their bio's! <p> Goldenkit [Named after Goldenstripe] <br>
    Silver and white tabby with golden coloured eyes. More like Nightfang, calm, quiter, loyal, likes to learn. <br>

    Seakit [Named for a reason no one can know!] <br>
    Black tom with white paws and half white tail. Green eyes Thoughtfull, cheerful, very loving and loyal, the most like Nightfang <br>

    Pridekit [Named after a now deceased friend, and one of Velvets favorite names] <br>
    A white tom with one silver front leg(left) and silver ears. His eyes are toasty golden colored. Very outgoing, adventurous and often gets into trouble. <br>

    Halfkit [Named for her appearance] <br>
    Front half white and back half black. Bright green eyes. Most like Velvetstar, stubborn, spirited, but cheerful and happy, loves her family more than anything. <br>

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Goldpaw

    Goldpaw \_/
    She \_/
    10 moons...? \_/
    Black pelt with one golden foot \_/
    Sparkling golden eyes \_/
    Single \_/
    Crush is Rainsplash \_/
    No mentor yet.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Velvetstar's Kits

    (Updated info, kits with names next to them have rpers, the others are up for grabs!) <p>




    Goldkit~ Silver and white tabby with golden colored eyes. She is calm, quieter than most, very loyal and loves to learn. <p>

    Moonkit~ Black tom with white paws and a half white tail. His eyes are green. The most like Nightfang, he is kind, loyal, loving to all, and very thoughtful. <p>

    Storkkit~ A white tom with a front silver leg(left) and silver ears. His eyes are toasty gold, darker than Goldkits, and he is very outgoing and often gets into trouble exploring where he shouldn't.(Rose) <p>

    Halfkit~ Her front half is white, and her back half is black. She has bright green round eyes. She is the most like Velvetstar, tends to be stubborn and dosn't care to be told what to do, but loves to be with her family and always makes sure to take care of them. (Mistyrose I think, not sure...)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Loved

    I love this author and she develops the plot and characters and blends them together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    It's been months since I've read this, with several books read s

    It's been months since I've read this, with several books read since, and I still think about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Lilacs

    I read the physic book of deliverance dane and loved it. The house of velvet and glass even surpassed the first and i totally enjoyed it! Cannot wait for ms howe' s next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Another success for Katherine Howe

    An engaging tale of family and history, intuition and science, love lost and found - all swirl through this well-written work. The questions raised of personal honor and life well-lived are intriguing! This book makes me a continuing fan of Katherine Howe's work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Summer Must Read

    I loved Katherine Howe's first book, The Physics Book of Deliverance Dane, and could not wait for her next. This book did not disappoint. It was a book that grabbed me from the start and kept me wanting more. I can not wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Must read!

    <3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised!

    When I started this book, I felt the plotline dragged just a little bit. But, knowing how much I loved Katherine's last book, I decided to persevere and I am SO glad I did. I don't want to spoil the theme of the story for those of you haven't read it, but the story had a depth to it that I didn't expect. I'm also glad the Titanic's role didn't overshadow the story. I highly recommend this book for you beach goers and vacationers this summer. Also, don't forget to read the author's notes in the back that summarize Victorian life in Boston - very enlightening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Is the House of Velvet and Glass a good book? You bet! It is a nice book. So good. I was hanging off the edge of my seat with this book. I love this book soo very very very much. It is just amazing. You wouldnt be wasting your money. Just trust me.

    Everything i saad is true.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2