BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The House on Blackstone Moor

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great read from Carole Gill!

I relaxed in my chair Christmas Day after all the excitement of presents had calmed down and started The House on Blackstone Moor. I couldn't put it down. The story is told in the first person by Rose, who after the death of her family and a stay in a mental hospital in...
I relaxed in my chair Christmas Day after all the excitement of presents had calmed down and started The House on Blackstone Moor. I couldn't put it down. The story is told in the first person by Rose, who after the death of her family and a stay in a mental hospital in what I assume is turn of the century England, becomes the governess of the children of the house on Blackstone Moor. From here a mystery unravels. The story had a tone like a Sherlock Holmes tale, or even of Sarah Waters's The Stranger, but turned completely different from either of those types when vampires and ghosts and vampire hunters appear. Gill's book has romance and light erotic parts mixed with the horror and made for a great read on Christmas afternoon!

posted by JulieJJJ on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I liked it!

First thoughts when I finished the last page: "Wow, this book didn't end at all how I thought! I wonder what happens next!" (luckily there is a sequel coming) What I liked about this book: I am a big fan of vampire/horror books! I haven't read one in a while, so this wa...
First thoughts when I finished the last page: "Wow, this book didn't end at all how I thought! I wonder what happens next!" (luckily there is a sequel coming) What I liked about this book: I am a big fan of vampire/horror books! I haven't read one in a while, so this was quite a change in genre for me from what I have been reading lately! The first few sentences in this book were shocking! Rose came home to find out that her father killed her mother and siblings by slashing their throats. Rose goes on to tell her story of what happens after that. It seems like since Twilight there have been so many new vampire books. The House On Blackstone Moor really had it's own unique style. It had a really gothic feel to it. I really had no idea what was going to happen next in the story either. It was not predictable at all. The end was quite a surprise! What I didn't like about this book: The font was very small. I downloaded the pdf file to my Kindle, and I had to enlarge the text and turn my Kindle to landscape mode to read it. I did read part of it on my computer though, and the text was much easier to read there. There were a few errors, but nothing that made the book hard to read. Sometimes there was just so much going on with all of the vampires and demons. At other times, it was slow and I found my mind wandering. So for me, the book did not have a constant flow to it. Would I recommend? Yes. This is not at all like Twilight. Don't get me wrong-I loved Twilight-but I don't like reading books that are trying to be like Twilight. Carole Gill has her own writing style and you will not feel like you are reading something familiar. Even though I thought there could have been a little better flow to the book, I am still glad that I read it and look forward to reading the sequel.

posted by cherylbaryl on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Great read from Carole Gill!

    I relaxed in my chair Christmas Day after all the excitement of presents had calmed down and started The House on Blackstone Moor. I couldn't put it down. The story is told in the first person by Rose, who after the death of her family and a stay in a mental hospital in what I assume is turn of the century England, becomes the governess of the children of the house on Blackstone Moor. From here a mystery unravels. The story had a tone like a Sherlock Holmes tale, or even of Sarah Waters's The Stranger, but turned completely different from either of those types when vampires and ghosts and vampire hunters appear. Gill's book has romance and light erotic parts mixed with the horror and made for a great read on Christmas afternoon!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    By: Carole Gill

    Reviewed By: Crystal Trent Dotson

    Rose Baines ia a pretty nineteen year old , that finds her father has murdered her family including himself , after finding this tragic scene she is taken to Marsh , a lunatic asylum . She is taken in by Dr. Bannion, who she learns to trust. He offers her to live with him before becoming a governess to his friends children. She takes the job and moves to the House on BlackStone Moor. Mr & Mrs. Darton seem nice enough, but as time goes on , Rose soon begins to notice odd happenings, she trys to pass it off as dreams, until she is face to face with the evil that lives in the house. She never imagined the man she was falling in love with was also undead, but once that secret is unveiled, all Hell breaks loose. Rose endures being raped , bitten , tore , and losing so many she dearly loved. No one is who she thought they was and she finds that no one can be trusted. While trying to figure out Good and Evil , demons attack her and try to drag her through the gates of Hell. She is forced to make the decision to sacrifice herself , her blood , to save the ones she loves , and leave the world forever , or watch them die.

    This is a terrifying and evil filled book. Rose endures so much pain her 19 years of life that most don't experience in a lifetime. Full of demons , spirits , fallen angels , and Satan himself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it!

    First thoughts when I finished the last page: "Wow, this book didn't end at all how I thought! I wonder what happens next!" (luckily there is a sequel coming) What I liked about this book: I am a big fan of vampire/horror books! I haven't read one in a while, so this was quite a change in genre for me from what I have been reading lately! The first few sentences in this book were shocking! Rose came home to find out that her father killed her mother and siblings by slashing their throats. Rose goes on to tell her story of what happens after that. It seems like since Twilight there have been so many new vampire books. The House On Blackstone Moor really had it's own unique style. It had a really gothic feel to it. I really had no idea what was going to happen next in the story either. It was not predictable at all. The end was quite a surprise! What I didn't like about this book: The font was very small. I downloaded the pdf file to my Kindle, and I had to enlarge the text and turn my Kindle to landscape mode to read it. I did read part of it on my computer though, and the text was much easier to read there. There were a few errors, but nothing that made the book hard to read. Sometimes there was just so much going on with all of the vampires and demons. At other times, it was slow and I found my mind wandering. So for me, the book did not have a constant flow to it. Would I recommend? Yes. This is not at all like Twilight. Don't get me wrong-I loved Twilight-but I don't like reading books that are trying to be like Twilight. Carole Gill has her own writing style and you will not feel like you are reading something familiar. Even though I thought there could have been a little better flow to the book, I am still glad that I read it and look forward to reading the sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gothic Dark & Deadly ~ Must Read!

    Without a moment's delay, I was hooked into "The House on Blackstone Moor" from its opening lines. I soon discovered this as a book written after the style of Bram Stoker's "Dracula;" that is, gothic, romantic, rich in bloody detail and situated in an all encompassing, overshadowing of hellish gloom.

    Unlike the sometimes "wimpish" and often light-hearted vampire novels of comtemporary authors, Ms Gill harkens back to the real stuff. She reminds us that these creatures of darkness come from Satan and his dark minions...that, though some are enchanting and loveable, they all are ungodly and evil.

    Throughout this novel I thought of Mina and her sweetheart, of the doctor who wanted to save her, and of the devilish Dracula and his poor fly-eating slave, Renfro. There was a true vampire who was after the blood of humans and up to evil. There also are the vampires of Carole Gill's book, mostly.

    Along with her vampires, I thoroughly enjoyed her depictions of Marsh Asylum and its residents. I happen to crave novels in this sort of setting...and in gothic format, so this was particularly fun to read. It's a scary premise to be emotionally upset by a horrible incident and to be thought insane by virtue of that...then to be sent to an asylum only to wonder how you'd ever be let out. That's one of my nightmares! Ms. Gill touches perfectly upon it.

    The writing technique seems ancient and fitting for this novel/genre. While the story continues from one "happening" to another; one small climax to the other, we are caught in a web that won't relent until the end. As I've mentioned before, not only is it set in 19th c. England, but it harkens back to writers of a time frame such as Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, and even Edgar Allen Poe.

    "..Blackstone Moor" doesn't seem to want to end, however, and that may be its biggest flaw. I think a good editing might have been useful in this case; and, although I enjoyed the continuing scenarios, I felt as if too much was enough. Perhaps an ending well done and a couple of sequels would have been a better way of handling the novel.

    Character development is solid and compelling. I was fully involved in Rose, the primary character, and her experiences. I did feel her many "attacks" were a bit overdone, though, and might have been better handled with more variety and less frequency. Rose's love of the handsome and irresistable Mr. Darton had me craving a kiss from him, too!

    All in all, I found this book engaging and entertaining. I highly recommend it for a weekend whilst a tropical or thunder storm blows through!

    Deborah/TheBookishDame

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    AN ENGAGING VAMPIRES,DEMONS,GOOD VS EVIL STORY! THE HOUSE ON BLACKSTONE MOOR BY CAROLE GILL....

    RATING: 4/5)THE HOUSE ON BLACKSTONE MOOR by Carole Gill is an exciting Gothic/paranormal/fantasy set in Regency England. It is well written with depth and details.The characters,while some are pure evil others including minor characters and the hero and heroine will capture your heart. This story is written in first person from the viewpoint of Rose Baines,the heroine.She has been abused,assaulted numerous times,placed in a mental hospital,found her parents and siblings butchered to death,falls into the hands of pure evil and will fall in love. The hero,Louis Darton, is a demon,vampire who was fathered by a fallen angel and a human.While he is struggling for normalcy and some kind of justice he is falling in love with Rose. This story has demons,magic,vampires,good vs evil,fallen angels,fate, secrets, madness,devil worship,Gypsy,fortune tellers,horror,tragedy,a dark other world,horror than nightmares are made of,and lunatics.The House on Blackstone Moor has more secrets and darkness than anyone could guess.While this author captures the heartbreak and horrors of good vs evil,she also captures the love and sacrifices that some make.This is a story with so much darkness,but it pulls the reader into the story while fragile,young Rose tries to keep her sanity,and her soul.This is a twist on vampires,demons and fallen angels.Where fallen angels are either evil or good.Thus evil vs good even in the fallen angel world.Only the strong of will can survive.Even the two vampire children that Rose has come to love,cherish and will give her soul to keep alive.It is fast paced and action packed from the beginning to the last page. A must read for all paranormal, fantasy, vampires, magic,and demon world readers.This book was received for the purpose of review from Nurture Book Tour and the author.Details can be found at Vamplit Publishing and My Book Addiction and More. **This book is recommend for age 18+ readers*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Brilliant captures the work of the masters: Mary Shelley and the

    Brilliant captures the work of the masters: Mary Shelley and the Brontes.
    I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    8 out of 10 stars!

    The House on Blackstone Moor by Carole Gill
    Release Date: December 17th, 2010 (Paperback release May 2011)
    Publisher: VampLit
    Page Count: 251
    Source: Received from author via NURTURE Virtual BOOK TourzT as part as the Carole Gill blog tour for review
    This is a tale of vampirism, madness, obsession, and devil worship as Rose Baines, only survivor of her family's carnage, tells her story.

    Fragile and damaged by the tragedy, fate sends her to a desolate house on the haunted moors where demons dwell.

    The house and the moors have hideous secrets, yet there is love too; deep, abiding, eternal, but it comes with a price: her soul.

    What Stephanie Thought: Unpredictability and sweeping romance excite in this emotional and action-packed Gothic horror novel. A fair warning: it's not for the weak at heart, as it includes the blood and guts of spine-tingling vampirism.

    I am charmed by illusion of it all; English Rose, whose entire family is brutally murdered by her father's hand, is sent to an asylum (for her own safekeeping, the doctors tell her), where she for the first time, encounters insanity at its finest. Here is where she begins to ponder upon the blurry line between dementia and evil, and later, unfortunately discovers what and how thin that line is.

    Luckily, she is saved from having to live in the appalling lunatic ward, by the generosity of a doctor who offers her a job at an obscure club, owned by an eerily beautiful couple, the Dartons. What this club is for, and how it functions, Rose does not know. But she does know that the Dartons have two peculiarly smart, beautiful children -- her job is to be their governess -- and live in a house near the creepy and deserted dock that contains a black stone: Blackstone Moor. The stone is rumored to have attained its color from blood stains; the children explain that it is an ancient sacrificial stone. Rose does not believe them. How foolish she is.

    Rose, nineteen and fresh-faced, is lovable and rather smart for her degree of innocence. Her whole life before her father's madness had been pure and plain, or at least we are led to believe. Her observant eye allows her to follow along quickly to the dangers and frights that approach her, but that doesn't mean she copes with them well. Hysteria blooms from an unforeseen part of her, in reaction to the unimaginably gruesome secrets that are revealed at the Blackstone House. Soon, this hysteria is diagnosed as none other, than the paranormal absurdity she's experienced with the Dartons all along.

    Usually, I find sub-plotted love stories within horror or crime novels (white virgin falls in love with handsome brooding hero) annoying, but Gill concocts such an unconventional, yet surprisingly enchanting, attraction between Rose and an unavailable party, that I can't help but swoon over their relationship.

    Rose's story is an adversity of sorts, because in the end, her fall of innocence leads to her emotional death. She does however, get an eternal happy ending, at least alongside her lover, which sparks the smallest of hope within me. That, and the fact that she speaks in the past tense throughout the story, gives me a sense of security, knowing Rose will end up okay. It means Rose has a story to tell. It means she survived to let her story be told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Dark, Twisted and Wickedly Awesome

    The House on Blackstone Moor by Carole Gill is a startling tale, filled raw and genuine emotions and numerous twists and turns. The narrative in this book is quite different from most books I have read, allowing the reader to feel all of the emotions and confusion that the main character, Rose Baines, is going through. The book opens with Rose making a brutal discovery that would forever change her life. Left alone in the world after the trauma her father subjected her to, Rose is forced to have a brief stay at an insane asylum. Determined to do whatever it takes to make it out into the real world, she accepts a job for Mr. and Mrs. Darton at their house on Blackstone Moor. Even with worries about it being a mistake to take the job, Rose is determined to show that she is strong enough to stand on her own. The Dartons are not your average people. They have secrets, dark and evil secrets, that will force Rose to come to terms with things she thought only exited in myths. Being torn between love and a world that she wants no part of, Rose must make the difficult decision as to whether or not she should listen to her heart or run while she is still able. I truly enjoyed reading The House on Blackstone Moor. Just when I thought all of the secrets were out, more were exposed to keep me hooked to the end, adding to the twisted darkness that Ms. Gill has created. If you like your fiction filled with horror, a touch of love and a unique twist on vampires, I strongly suggest you give The House on Blackstone Moor a try.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Ok

    I was really interested at first but, it became increasingly boring the further I read. I'm glad I finally finished reading it and have no desire to read any more of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Great Story!

    I came upon this story via the shop. I could not put it down! I so want to read the rest of the series if I could find them! Please give me the names of the other books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Warning....waste of time

    This has to be the worst vampire book i have ever read. Vampires, demons blah blahblah so stupid. Horrible just utterly horrible

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Don't believe the 4.5 stars. This book was awful.

    Don't believe the 4.5 stars. This book was awful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1