Customer Reviews for

How to Tame a Willful Wife

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE by Christie English is an exciting Re

HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE by Christie English is an exciting Regency Historical romance set in 1816 England. It is re-telling of Shakespeare's "Taming of The Shrew" and what a re-telling. A battle of wits between Anthony Carrington, Earl of Ravensbrook,an old...
HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE by Christie English is an exciting Regency Historical romance set in 1816 England. It is re-telling of Shakespeare's "Taming of The Shrew" and what a re-telling. A battle of wits between Anthony Carrington, Earl of Ravensbrook,an older friend of Caroline's military father and Caroline Montague,promised in marriage by her impoverished father to his friend. Caroline is most definitely not your everyday gentle bred lady,why she wears breeches,rides a wild stallion,shoots arrows, practices with swords and throws daggers. Anthony is determined to tame is wife,but when passion,lust and love intervenes what follows is anything but taming. Is Anthony taming his feisty wife and would he have her another way? Or is Caroline taming her domineering,autocratic husband? A witty,emotional,with a bit of danger,a secret or two,and lots of passion you will not go wrong with "How To Tame A Willful Wife". A must read anyone who enjoys historical,romance, Shakespeare,Regency,and passionate couples. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley. Details can be found at the author's website,Sourcebooks Casablanca and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: MILD

REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eh

I simply do not like the hero at all. He is a bully and he thinks that he can treat his wife any way he wants and his excuse is that she needs taming since she doesnt take his high handedness. I like strong heroins but in this book it seems if she doesnt fight back she ...
I simply do not like the hero at all. He is a bully and he thinks that he can treat his wife any way he wants and his excuse is that she needs taming since she doesnt take his high handedness. I like strong heroins but in this book it seems if she doesnt fight back she has to deal with a husband who will push and pull and discard her. I dont like books that bring the heros past relationships in full force against the wife specially when the hero wants to have both his mistress and wife together. This is not a sweet romance. It is full of tension and I will not read it the second time. When there is Paula or Julia Quinn or Lisa Kleypas who give love stories a new meaning or even Grace Burrows with her sweet heros I have no patient for bullies.

posted by 8651717 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE by Christie English is an exciting Re

    HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE by Christie English is an exciting Regency Historical romance set in 1816 England. It is re-telling of Shakespeare's "Taming of The Shrew" and what a re-telling. A battle of wits between Anthony Carrington, Earl of Ravensbrook,an older friend of Caroline's military father and Caroline Montague,promised in marriage by her impoverished father to his friend. Caroline is most definitely not your everyday gentle bred lady,why she wears breeches,rides a wild stallion,shoots arrows, practices with swords and throws daggers. Anthony is determined to tame is wife,but when passion,lust and love intervenes what follows is anything but taming. Is Anthony taming his feisty wife and would he have her another way? Or is Caroline taming her domineering,autocratic husband? A witty,emotional,with a bit of danger,a secret or two,and lots of passion you will not go wrong with "How To Tame A Willful Wife". A must read anyone who enjoys historical,romance, Shakespeare,Regency,and passionate couples. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley. Details can be found at the author's website,Sourcebooks Casablanca and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Eh

    I simply do not like the hero at all. He is a bully and he thinks that he can treat his wife any way he wants and his excuse is that she needs taming since she doesnt take his high handedness. I like strong heroins but in this book it seems if she doesnt fight back she has to deal with a husband who will push and pull and discard her. I dont like books that bring the heros past relationships in full force against the wife specially when the hero wants to have both his mistress and wife together. This is not a sweet romance. It is full of tension and I will not read it the second time. When there is Paula or Julia Quinn or Lisa Kleypas who give love stories a new meaning or even Grace Burrows with her sweet heros I have no patient for bullies.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Coulda been

    This book had potential but Anthony was unlikable and Carolina did things just to do them..... seemed like lazy writing. Angeliques story was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    How to tame a willful wife

    A little to long good plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    1-29-13

    Well written. It was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not one of her better books

    don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Nothing spectacular

    It was an ok book. A bit lacking as far as plot goes and a bit unorganized. All of the "love making" bits were redundant and lacked creativity and diversity. It feels like the book was written on a high school level. BUT it was a decent quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    BRAVO

    I am military spouse! I read to get away from reality......I get that enough in real life! This author made me forget I had 103.5 fever, 4 children, a cranky husband and 2 hyperactive fur balls. Anyone who can take me away from my house forget the rest of the world has my devotion! The book was fantastic BUY IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Good but hard to stumach

    I like Charoline but not Anthony all that much. He did not redeem himself enough to deserve her. She had to make all the compromises. There were so many places this story could have gone. It seems the author was in a hurry for a happy ending. The only conflict in this story was Anthonys ego. This author is worth reading. I just hope she takes more time with her next story. Too many hints and not enough follow through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I trully loved this book. The characters were great, well round

    I trully loved this book. The characters were great, well rounded and the book held my interest. I like a woman who refuses to be totally submissive to a man. Without spoiling the story, I'll just say it was well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    This book was really great. I kept flowing from the beginning t

    This book was really great. I kept flowing from the beginning to the end & never got boring. Two very strong willed people who butt heads through the whole book just made you laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    This was such a good book!! It will make you laugh out loud. I l

    This was such a good book!! It will make you laugh out loud. I loved it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Suprisingly good for author's first historical romance

    This book was quite good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2