Customer Reviews for

The Hunger Games Trilogy Boxset

Average Rating 4.5
( 7133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5707)

4 Star

(751)

3 Star

(289)

2 Star

(137)

1 Star

(249)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

197 out of 233 people found this review helpful.

Love this series!

First of all, the price is reasionable for three books. Whether you would like to buy them seperately or the entire collection in one ebook. If I did not already have all three ebooks, I would by this. If you have any doubts about reading this series, you should get ...
First of all, the price is reasionable for three books. Whether you would like to buy them seperately or the entire collection in one ebook. If I did not already have all three ebooks, I would by this. If you have any doubts about reading this series, you should get rid of them right now. Both adults and teens will find this series entertaining. It is packed with action and romamce. Teens who just aren't into Twilight will find relief in this series.

posted by hermionerules1844 on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

273 out of 418 people found this review helpful.

This price is ridiculous for ebooks

It's cheaper to buy the individual books.

posted by ornerylibrarian on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Over priced,, but good

    Ive read all three books paper back, so i dont neccesarily know how good this particular book is. The series is excelent and i would recomend it to anyone because between my brother and i (who are extremely picky readers) we loved it! My brother doesnt read much to begin with, but he loved this series. And although the books are great, i would recomend not buying this one. It is very pricy and you could get each of the books individually for a LOT cheaper.

    47 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Over priced but good

    Would give five stars ifnot WAY overpriced. books are vood would recomend u buy them induvisualy

    16 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Prices keep changing

    Well now its 28.29

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    j

    books are good but u can buy real books cheaper

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Keep an eye on the price

    Depending on when you go to purchace the trilogy, it may or may not be more expensive than getting the books individually.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Starts great, ends weak

    Book 1 is a pretty good book, by itself maybe 4 stars. Book 2 gives some more insight into the protagonist and her world, bot good and bad. Book 3 is disappointing and the only time I was painfully aware I was reading a series for young adults. The teen angst (which starts slowly in book 1, but is acceptable) ramps up to an intolerable level in book 3. My advice: Read The Hunger Games, then stop.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    What happened?

    I love the first two books and then the third, it just felt like a copout. I don't want to spoil anything for anyone so I'll keep it simple, the first two books are amazing the story the characters, everything. The third just felt like the writer was trying to please every audience and instead just left a bad taste in my mouth. It feels like such a washout ending to a great series.
    Three stars almost feels generous but hey the first two books almost never left my hands so I can't be too critical.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Freshboy2566

    This book was amazing i recomend you people out there to read this book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Best Trilogy I've read so far

    My cousin first recommended The Hunger Games to me, and I looked at the cover as if to say "It looks kinda boring." But once I started reading, I really got into it. These books make you feel like you are apart of the games and you are fighting for your freedom. Me, being a 16 year old girl, and having an 8 year old sister, I could really relate to Katniss and Prim. My father did pass away and my mother wasn't really there for us so I was left to look out for my sister. I just imagined how terrified I would have been if my little sister's name was pulled. Without a doubt, I'd give up my life for her. The characters are more realistic than what most books make their characters. Katniss, Rue, Peeta, Gale, Prim, Finnick, all of them. They all have realistic personalities and make you feel like you could relate to them. Definetely sad that they are over but I'm so psyched for the movie. Hopefully they don't screw it up like they did with the Twilight series, which I never read. These books are a must read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Cheaper

    It is cheaper to buy these book individually. But still great books

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great start but draws out too long

    Had this trilogy simply ended with the first book I would rate this as an outstanding piece of literature. Sadly the Author loved her story too much and tried to make it something more than what she had already managed to establish with the first book. The fist book enthralled me, the second sated my appetite, and the third made me feel lethargic and wishing I had not continued to engorge this in the few days it took to read. All in all it is an interesting read however I fear that the fame this trilogy has garnered rests solely on the first book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Great book

    Exllent movie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Violent

    The books were good, but I think the violence is more commonly mentioned than it should be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Sam

    Scary if you watch the movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fortunately, I also have an Amazon account. The Kindle Version

    Fortunately, I also have an Amazon account. The Kindle Version is $10.00 cheaper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    The best series ever

    The absolute best series ever! I recomend this to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Book lover

    1st book was great! 2nd predictable but your hooked so you keep reading. 3rd, I wish I had stopped at one. Ending is terrible. Anticlimatic, without a clear explaination of why everything happened, why she does what she does and the motives behind some of the other major characters moves in the books.

    The main character never seems to understand the emotions and actions of others, or come to concise decisions. Which is frustrating when You want it all to make sense in the end. The ending left me feeling blah. I ended up wishing I hadn't invested so much time into them. I also had a hard time remembering she is only suppose to be
    16, and her love interests teengers as well.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Honestly [SPOILERS]

    I read the entire series in a week. Considering that I'm a college sophomore who also happens to be an English major, this wasn't a difficult feat. Especially since this was one of the most captivating, enthralling series I have ever read. The plot line is fantastic. Many people have serious complaints considering the second book's return to the Hunger Games. However, it makes logical sense. The leaders who created the Quarter Quell WOULD include this challenge. And if the Katniss had not gone back in, she never would have been recruited by District 13.

    But there are some gaping holes. First, the character development is awful. I cannot think of a single character, excepting perhaps for Peeta, who was any type of dynamic. Even though this series is written in first person point of view, Katniss NEVER changes. She never has a problem with simply being a figurehead for the rebellion and manipulated by the camera crews/District 13. She has no logical reasoning for assassinating Coin. And she never, NEVER believes in the rebellion itself, that the world can actually be changed for the better. Isn't that the whole point for the leader/figurehead of a cause? To believe in it? Of course, she would be completely susceptible to PTSD, but if she had believed in the cause itself, she never would have been as manically depressed as she was, wouldn't have been content with being shipped to District 12 at the end, to spend the rest of her days withdrawn from the politics of the new government she helped establish.

    Secondly, the ending of the series. Just as Katniss is reaching the President, just as the climax commences, our heroine is hit by a bomb. And her sister Prim, the entire reason why Katniss has been fighting, unnecessarily dies. The entire falling action is horrendous and seemingly thrown together, as though the author didn't feel like writing out an extra 100 pages for a good/closure-ridden ending. Collins NEEDED extra pages. All the loose ends are tied up, sure, but in too rapid a pace, like she was rushing just to finish the novel. Katniss killing Coin, drudging about her home in District 12 for months, finally falling in love with Peeta...it all happens too quickly, doesn't give the readers the closure they deserve. For three books, we have been waiting to discover how the rebellion would end, where Katniss would end up--and especially who with. And it's suddenly over in twenty quick pages.

    Third, the epilogue. Unnecessary as well. Very cliched. Truly not much to elaborate on.

    And yet I give this series three stars. Because it did have me on the edge of my seat, ignoring homework, dying with anticipation for an entire week. Though the ending was a let down, though the heroine was the epitome of static and a nonbeliever, though the love triangle of the three books is brought to a too-rapid close, I want to buy the series. This series has an amazing concept, one that has been untried before, and is not too inappropriate yet just gory enough for middle school through adulthood. I recommend it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Price

    Guys, yea u have to pay more, but thats because YOUR FREAKING BUYING MOBILE BOOKS that fit in one easily accesible 2 pound electronic machine!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Good story, but very violent, exhibits a dark morality

    The story was engrossing- didn't put it down for 3 days and finished the trilogy... but it was very violent, children graphically killing other children, and generally amoral - you find yourself cheering for a heroine who kills civilian refugees without thinking, who becomes nonchalant about murder and unfeeling about deaths of people she doesn't personally know. It's all justified by juxtaposing her to more evil villains. I wouldn't feel comfortable letting a 12 year old read this, since their moral perspectives are still forming, and the moral perspective offered in this book are those of veterans who have committed atrocious war crimes... valuable to understand as adults, but inappropriate for children.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15