Customer Reviews for

The Hunt (Hunt Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Intense dystopian

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the v...
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the vampires that sparkle! In Fukuda’s dystopian world we hide among these vicious killers. This tale was fast paced, horrifying and delicious! When the tale begins we meet seventeen year old, human protagonist Gene. He is in high school and trying to blend in. He knows the rules, his father taught him well. One slip and he will be devoured. Gene lives in a vampire world, where the day begins at dusk and ends at sunrise. He has been on his own since his father was bitten years ago. He is brilliant, but is careful not to stand out. Everyday is a challenge and only during daylight hours can he be himself. While at school it is announced that the ruler will address the nation. This causes immediate salivating and mass speculation amount the vampire students. The last time the ruler address the nation was ten years ago, when he announced a Heper Hunt. This is a huge event. Several heper’s (humans) are released into the wild, and a select few chosen by lottery get to hunt and devour them. *Gulp* You guessed it, there will be a new Heper Hunt and Gene as well as Ashley a young girl from his school are chosen to participate. Before Gene can even think, he is whisked away and taken along with seven others to the Heper Institute. Here they go through training, attend galas and prepare for the hunt. The tale that unfolds is splendid, steeped in horror and riddled with tension and fear. I was captivated from page one, quoting the book by chapter three and running to the computer to check for book two’s release date by the end. The ending wasn’t really a cliff-hanger but the last sentence just about blew my friggin mind. I absolutely without a doubt loved the human characters. Fukuda does an extraordinary job of giving them depth and believability. The complications that arise from living in a vampire world are astronomical and his attention to all these quirks was quite enthralling. His depiction of this particular species of vampires and their habits was entrancing. The scene where an adolescent vampire gets her first kiss was both creepy and mind-boggling. Fukuda created a complete language for the vampires. The way they expressed emotions and communicated with each other was fascinating. The vampires themselves are incredibly creepy and at times behaved in an animalist way that I found terrifying. The romance that develops is secondary to the tale, but sweet and genuine. I really connected with these characters. Their hopes, fears and desires became mine. We are giving very little detail about how the world came to be populated almost entirely by vampires and quite frankly I didn’t really care. The world Fukuda creates is unique, original and detailed. Parts of it were horrifying and others made me laugh. I found the education on why Heper’s sing absolutely hilarious. His perception of how another species would perceive us was totally amazing. The Heper’s in captivity emulate humanities ability to survive and adapt. The choices Gene and Ashley must face are extraordinary and kept me completely engrossed. I love when a book consumes you, and this one left me spent and wanting more.

posted by kimba88 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. P

The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. Perhaps it will be, it has had many a 5 star review. For me, however, it is not. After I finished reading, I went onto Goodreads and read some of the 5 star reviews, and some of the 2 star reviews. As it tur...
The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. Perhaps it will be, it has had many a 5 star review. For me, however, it is not. After I finished reading, I went onto Goodreads and read some of the 5 star reviews, and some of the 2 star reviews. As it turns out, all the people who posted 2 and 3 star reviews had the exact same problems with the novel as I did.

Vampires dominating a human world. This is not a story about romance, this is a story about survival. But holy smokes, it is ridiculously unrealistic. Now that may sound silly, considering it is a novel about vampires but here is why.

Gene, the main character, has been hiding all his life in among the vampires. He can't sweat, he can't clear his throat, he can't get smelly, he can't even have hair on his body or the vampires will discover he is human. How on earth, would anyone be able to pull that off for 17 odd years of their life? I really think that isn't humanly possible.

Put that aside, I felt there were so many question left unanswered. Are these vampires dead or alive? They must have a heart-beat or they would have noticed Gene's straight away. They must age right? Do they reproduce? Or did I miss all these important points in my skimming of the seemingly boring parts?

Then there are the super weird bits - don't get me wrong, I love to seem how authors portray things differently, but this just seemed even too weird for me. Scratching your wrist instead of laughing? Yeah, maybe. Armpit/Elbow sex? That is just too weird for words. Plus the vampire drool A LOT. Like every other page. That's just gross.

But don't take my word for it. I seem to be part of the minority that just didn't enjoy it as much as I should have. Check it out for yourself, and then let me know your thoughts!

posted by ClaireFrith on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intense dystopian

    The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the vampires that sparkle! In Fukuda’s dystopian world we hide among these vicious killers. This tale was fast paced, horrifying and delicious! When the tale begins we meet seventeen year old, human protagonist Gene. He is in high school and trying to blend in. He knows the rules, his father taught him well. One slip and he will be devoured. Gene lives in a vampire world, where the day begins at dusk and ends at sunrise. He has been on his own since his father was bitten years ago. He is brilliant, but is careful not to stand out. Everyday is a challenge and only during daylight hours can he be himself. While at school it is announced that the ruler will address the nation. This causes immediate salivating and mass speculation amount the vampire students. The last time the ruler address the nation was ten years ago, when he announced a Heper Hunt. This is a huge event. Several heper’s (humans) are released into the wild, and a select few chosen by lottery get to hunt and devour them. *Gulp* You guessed it, there will be a new Heper Hunt and Gene as well as Ashley a young girl from his school are chosen to participate. Before Gene can even think, he is whisked away and taken along with seven others to the Heper Institute. Here they go through training, attend galas and prepare for the hunt. The tale that unfolds is splendid, steeped in horror and riddled with tension and fear. I was captivated from page one, quoting the book by chapter three and running to the computer to check for book two’s release date by the end. The ending wasn’t really a cliff-hanger but the last sentence just about blew my friggin mind. I absolutely without a doubt loved the human characters. Fukuda does an extraordinary job of giving them depth and believability. The complications that arise from living in a vampire world are astronomical and his attention to all these quirks was quite enthralling. His depiction of this particular species of vampires and their habits was entrancing. The scene where an adolescent vampire gets her first kiss was both creepy and mind-boggling. Fukuda created a complete language for the vampires. The way they expressed emotions and communicated with each other was fascinating. The vampires themselves are incredibly creepy and at times behaved in an animalist way that I found terrifying. The romance that develops is secondary to the tale, but sweet and genuine. I really connected with these characters. Their hopes, fears and desires became mine. We are giving very little detail about how the world came to be populated almost entirely by vampires and quite frankly I didn’t really care. The world Fukuda creates is unique, original and detailed. Parts of it were horrifying and others made me laugh. I found the education on why Heper’s sing absolutely hilarious. His perception of how another species would perceive us was totally amazing. The Heper’s in captivity emulate humanities ability to survive and adapt. The choices Gene and Ashley must face are extraordinary and kept me completely engrossed. I love when a book consumes you, and this one left me spent and wanting more.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Great!

    I got the sample and I loved it. If you love the Hunger Games and Twilight, you will love The Hunt.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. P

    The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. Perhaps it will be, it has had many a 5 star review. For me, however, it is not. After I finished reading, I went onto Goodreads and read some of the 5 star reviews, and some of the 2 star reviews. As it turns out, all the people who posted 2 and 3 star reviews had the exact same problems with the novel as I did.

    Vampires dominating a human world. This is not a story about romance, this is a story about survival. But holy smokes, it is ridiculously unrealistic. Now that may sound silly, considering it is a novel about vampires but here is why.

    Gene, the main character, has been hiding all his life in among the vampires. He can't sweat, he can't clear his throat, he can't get smelly, he can't even have hair on his body or the vampires will discover he is human. How on earth, would anyone be able to pull that off for 17 odd years of their life? I really think that isn't humanly possible.

    Put that aside, I felt there were so many question left unanswered. Are these vampires dead or alive? They must have a heart-beat or they would have noticed Gene's straight away. They must age right? Do they reproduce? Or did I miss all these important points in my skimming of the seemingly boring parts?

    Then there are the super weird bits - don't get me wrong, I love to seem how authors portray things differently, but this just seemed even too weird for me. Scratching your wrist instead of laughing? Yeah, maybe. Armpit/Elbow sex? That is just too weird for words. Plus the vampire drool A LOT. Like every other page. That's just gross.

    But don't take my word for it. I seem to be part of the minority that just didn't enjoy it as much as I should have. Check it out for yourself, and then let me know your thoughts!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    If you like the hunger games

    Well, i got the sample, and it is awrsome! Get the sample from how to survive the hunger games. If you like the hunger games, then this book is perfect.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-crafted perfection of vampire dystopia

    Oh, holy butter, THE HUNT is such a smooth and unputdownable read that I hardly know where to begin with this review. If our world was set in THE HUNT, Andrew Fukuda is like the master of all vampires, and I would gladly crack my neck with excitement because I am absolutely salivating for the next installment! I had said earlier this year that DRINK, SLAY, LOVE was absolute love-at-first-sight, and comparitively THE HUNT rises up to the challenge and proves to be true-love-at-first-bite. Vampires, your comeback is nigh – and I totally LOVE what these authors have done with them!

    THE HUNT will immediately suck readers into a world where vampires come out on top in regards to survival of the fittest, and Gene may be the last free-roaming human left - although he cannot exactly announce that to the world. The vampires may love humans, but their love is not strictly in the platonic sense. I cannot imagine how hard it is for Gene to hide his humanity and train himself to be unnoticeable among his predators. Gene is quite the intelligent young man, but he realizes that any misstep means certain and unpleasant death. As a person who tends to wear her emotions on her sleeve, I would probably fail epicly in maintaining a cool façade. I do wonder what exactly Gene expects for his life since it seems that he may have a lonely future ahead of him with no particular desire to stir any trouble. Until he gets selected to join the Hunt and comes into contact with the human captives.

    What Andrew Fukuda brings to the table is a strong and cohesive world where night becomes the new day, and all the characters definitely help to create such an interesting dilemma where readers constantly wonder if there are others like Gene who have lived under the radar and also if higher powers DO know about Gene but choose to keep it quiet. Who exactly is the man behind the curtain? Who is vampire, and who is human? Who can be trusted, and who will stake you in the back? THE HUNT deftly buildS up the suspense into a satisfying yet game-changing conclusion that will leave readers anxious to find out where the series will go in Book 2 – and who will prove fit enough to survive.

    Deliciously innovative, wholly addictive, and solidly dystopic, fans of LEGEND, The Hunger Games, and DIVERGENT are sure to devour THE HUNT in one sitting, drool to the point of embarrassment, and immediately demand seconds. NOW. Andrew Fukuda has delivered an impressive debut that brings all the tricks to the table, and something tells me that the next installment will be just as well-crafted to perfection.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Loooooooooovvvvvveeeeeee iiiitttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

    I heart it if u liked the hunger games u will love the hunt

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    With a title like "The Hunt" and a description involvi

    With a title like "The Hunt" and a description involving the near extinction of all human life as vampires take over the earth, you'd expect an action-packed, wild ride of an adventure when you picked up this book.

    But that isn't what you get. I had such high hopes for this book, but it just didn't quite get there. It is, however, a book with a very intriguing background.

    Reasons to Read:

    1.A story shrouded in mystery:

    The Hunt kept me guessing the entire time I was reading it, and I literally had no idea in what direction it would head. It was such a creative world, one that hasn't been overdone in YA yet, that I found most of it to be very unexpected in terms of development and plot. I really like books with good twists and The Hunt has one at the end that I found to be VERY surprising! All of my guesses regarding that character turned out to be wrong, so that was refreshing to read about :) nearly all the characters ended up different than how I expected them to be, and the story didn't involve the events I thought it would...

    But that ended up being a great disappointment of mine. The Hunt largely features the build up and background of The Hunt rather than the event itself. I found that disappointing, because it lacked the action I was anticipating. The story was just frustratingly slow and uneventful. And I'm pretty much convinced that all the vampires who meet Gene in real life must be oblivious to not have picked up that he's human (which is even joked about. But seriously).

    I wasn't impressed with much of the writing either; it wasn't bad at all, but I found that the writing style combined with Gene's character didn't nail the desperation and emotion that the situation warranted. I mean, Gene's a human constantly surrounded by vampires and he has to hide who he is just to save his life- that's KIND OF a big deal, but he just seemed so casual with it. I know he's used to doing this on a daily basis, but not to the same extent. It just didn't feel real to me.

    Lastly, for a book that did do an excellent job of setting the stage for latter books I still felt that most of the world development was lacking. Things are thrown in (like hooking up with their elbows somehow) but they aren't explained. It's just accepted. But I kept wondering if I had misunderstood or misread something because I just didn't get it.

    I have to admit though that I think the next books could EASILY redeem this series. I was so disappointed in The Hunt, but I think it's only going to get better from here on out! Fingers crossed.

    E-galley received from publisher.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    While I know that unputdownable is not a real word, it pretty mu

    While I know that unputdownable is not a real word, it pretty much describes The Hunt. This book is compulsively readable from the very first page and never slows down. There are so many things to love about The Hunt, I will mention a few of them here:

    World building: In this dystopian future, vampires rule the world and consider themselves people. Humans, or hepers, are a vampire delicacy and are thought to be extinct except for a few that the government keeps in a facility to study. While some of the vampires mannerisms and lifestyle are familiar (sleeping during the day and awake at night, super fast and strong), Fukuda introduces some charcteristics that are completely different from what readers are familiar with and takes the time to really highlight their behavior (drooling and salivating excessively, scratching their wrists instead of laughing, making out by rubbing their elbows into each other’s armpits). These strange behaviors are one of the reasons that this book is so unique.

    Well developed characters: Gene is smart and strong but in his need to stay under the radar and blend in with the vamps, he under achieves in school. His real genius is living among the predators without being detected and it is really interesting to see the lengths he goes through to stay safe. While I liked Gene a lot, the most intriguing character is Ashley June, the gorgeous and popular vampire girl at Gene’s school that he has always been attracted to but smart enough to know to stay away from.

    The vampires: These vampires are the most vicious I have ever seen, working themselves into a slobbering frenzy at the mere mention of human flesh and blood. Yes guys, they eat flesh too and they attack like crazed animals in the wild. These are the scariest vamps I have ever read about.

    The suspense!: I cannot emphasize how much of a nail biting, edge of your seat read this is. I’m a squeamish reader and honestly, I was creeped out, grossed out and yet I could not put The Hunt down because I HAD to know what happened next. Despite my squeamishness, I raced through the book and am so ready for more!

    If you like horror, adventure, suspense, tons of action or just highly original and entertaining books, The Hunt is for you. There are some fantastic plot twists and a killer of a cliffhanger ending. I highly recommend it and cannot wait to read the sequel.

    Content: Kissing and violence

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    GAWD I WANNA READ THIS

    Get "how to survive the hunger games" and read the gigantic sample of The Hunt at the back...I WANNA READ THIS SO BAD!!!! its hunger games meets Twilight. (Im in sixth grade and i know a good book when i see it)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Le book

    All in all it was an okay book. Not a big fan of vampires and all. But it sort of seemed like she copied from the Hunger Games with the whole Lottery and hunt. Just my opinion here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    wish it started a wee bit better however... So The Hunt. The


    wish it started a wee bit better however...

    So The Hunt. The story itself was engaging and at times peaked my interest. However, those times were in the minority. I struggled to get through this book, which I did not expect going in.

    The Hunt is basically about a teenager (Gene), who has to pretend to be one of these "vampire" like things in order to survive. He believes he may be the last human or "Heper" as they call them, remaining on Earth. Gene has to do remarkable things like not show any facial expressions, not sweat, and not laugh in order to fit in. Things I could never dream of not doing. Eventually Gene gets thrown into this "hunt" where the vamp like things are supposed to chase down some Hepers and devour them for national TV. Gene who is a part of the vamp side, has many issues trying to fit in and keep himself concealed before this event. More things happen and Gene is left to decide to survive or help his own kind.

    One thing I noticed about the book, that mysteriously annoyed me was how there just weren't exciting characters. By far the characters I was most interested in were "The Hepers" and they were hardly in the book,and when they were, it felt rushed. I had a hard time cheering for Gene or anybody else because they just weren't the type of characters I normally feel anything towards. For books to be successful for me, they need to have at least one character (normally the main one) to either: cheer for, relate to, try and understand, or thoroughly love. I didn't necessarily feel any of that for Gene, and at times cheered against him, based on what he wanted to do. He even disregarded the Hepers as savage like creatures...which didn't make sense to me since he WAS a Heper..I think he was having an identity crisis or something. I know this book is a series so next time around, I'm hoping to meet characters that spark my interest and make me care for the book.

    Because of Gene's "situation" there was a lot of built in suspense however. I mean I did feel bad for him at times. (There's no way I could not sweat or laugh in some situations). It was just his way of thinking and his mind frame at times that utterly annoyed me.

    I HATE when books put on their covers things like, "The Hunger Games meets Twilight," or other phrases using other popular books. This book does not have that, but it does have eerily similar paths to some other books. The whole concept of "The Hunt" reminded me of a "Hunger Games" for vampires. Of course in reality, it didn't end up anything like it, just the idea kept popping in my head while reading. At one time, I asked my friend, when are the "games" going to start...so it was clearly messing with me.

    Thank goodness for the action and the suspense though, without it, I'm not sure I would have made it through the book. This really felt like a "boy book." I say that because it was less romantically inclined, and the characters were very ruthless. I'm sure the hunt would make a great movie, so they probably should of just done that instead, I mean I'd see that movie.

    I'm not the most critical person when it comes to reviews, and I wasn't exactly feeling this one, so take that in mind if you decide to pick it up when it comes out in May.

    One more note, there is this really weird sexual technique used once or twice in the book,and it REALLY creeped me out. Like creeped out as in, if that's the way we did things I would avoid pretty much all contact with anyone and anything. Ick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Wow! Please read!

    This is an amazing novel about the challenges of living in a world full of people that could kill you in the blink of an eye. It is full of surprises and will keep you "hungry" for more. A great read. If you like romance, action, adventure, and/or mild violence (not terrible or really all that graphic), then you will love this book! Highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    VERY Disappointing, not worth all the hype. I was told that T

    VERY Disappointing, not worth all the hype.

    I was told that The Hunt was The Hunger Games with vampires. This sounded perfect for me, loved The Hunger Games, couldn't put it down. And have loved vampire stories since before the whole Twilight mania. I started reading The Hunt on a 2 1/2 hour plane ride. Didn't pick it up again till the plane ride home. It was a way to pass the time, that was all. I couldn't get into the story, couldn't feel any empathy or anything at all for the characters, and at times was bored out of my mind. There were times when I almost hoped the vampires would discover who Gene was, just to end the tedium.

    There are so many inconsistencies in this book, it's hard to remember them all. The ones that stand out the most are about water/swimming, vampire lack of names and/or habits, Ashley June being on her own for so long, and the disappearance of Gene's father. Gene describes swimming during phys ed in school. And yet, the vampires chasing the hepers on the boat stay on the shoreline. If they are so strong and fast, why don't they swim to the boat? Instead they impotently chase the boat, never leaving land, till they are forced to leave by the rising sun. Gene starts getting dehydrated because he can't find a water source while hiding in plain site with the vamps. Again, makes no sense. Even if vamps don't drink water, they need it for other things. Washing themselves, washing their clothes, cleaning, cooking food for the hepers, and water for their animals. I only remember horses being specifically mentioned in the book. But horses do need water to live, so where does their water come from? It was clearly just a way to get Gene to the hepers' pond so he could interact with them.

    Vampires not having names? Scratching their wrists instead of laughter? Rubbing armpits instead of kissing? Sorry, too bizarre for me. And I usually like bizarre. I can only guess that the author wanted to show the vamps as mostly animal, with no humanity in them. I just couldn't get into it. Ashley June being on her own since she was seven years old? Again, completely unbelievable. Think of a second grade child suddenly thrown into a pit filled with lions and tigers. Gene's father disappearing after being bitten by a vamp, but then turning up years later as "the Scientist". Now he's interesting in saving unknown hepers' lives, but never returns to his son, his only surviving family member, to see if he's okay? Not Father of the Year material.

    The ending of the book isn't really an ending, it's an intro to the next book. I will not be waiting breathlessly for its release. I won't be buying it at all. I have no interest in what happens to anyone in this book. It's a cheap rip off of The Hunger Games and current vampire popularity. Actually not so cheap. This book wasn't worth $10, it wasn't worth $1. Don't waste your money.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Sweet

    Scary

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Gene is a freak.  He has emotions, sleeps in a bed, and can go o

    Gene is a freak.  He has emotions, sleeps in a bed, and can go outside in the daytime.  And he is alone.  All his life he just wanted to be like the other people.  Instead he must pretend.  And watch.  And be careful.  He survives by staying in the shadows and avoiding attention.  But when he is chosen as a hunter in the very last heper hunt, he no longer knows how he can continue to follow the rules.  The rules of survival must change because if the other hunters discover he is a heper, his life is over.




    On the story...
    The Hunt is a gritty and dark tale of a world where humans are becoming extinct.  I expected adventure and heroes, but this one is a little bit deeper than what you would expect.  While I found myself intrigued and disgusted by both Gene and the "people," I fell in love with the complex characters.  I found the presumptions and view of the heper humans fascinating and found the people  twisted.  It is amazing how different the view is when they aren't vampires or monsters but "people."  It took me a while to realize that I really didn't like Gene because I found him selfish.  But understand, this isn't a case of an unlikeable character but that of one who has learned that it hard to survive and survival is the utmost importance.  At the same time, it was emotional and dark at times and I was certainly sitting at the edge of my seat and gripping my steering wheel.  This is most certainly a must read for those who enjoy darker dystopia novels. 




    On the narrator...
    Okay.  Let me start off with a story.  During bar prep we had this lecturer for Oil and Gas who was very informative but gave many of us the case of the giggles because he had a serious downward inflection when he spoke.  It made everything he said sound extremely sad and depressing.  Think of Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh.  I know that doesn't sound funny but it was funny because the downward inflection didn't fit the mood and tone of the lecture.    I think he was my favorite lecturer of the entire horrible experience.




    Okay fast forward to Mr. Sean Runnette... He gave me a serious case of the giggles.  I'm sure you have guessed by now that Mr. Runnette has a case of the downsies.  While his downward inflection wasn't quite as bad as the professor I'm referring to, he is very much in line with Eeyore.  The book is a bit darker but the inflection is present  during both good times and bad times.  When the downward inflection wasn't present, Mr. Runnette had a monotone delivery.  It seriously made me laugh though that wasn't the point.




    That's not to say that I wouldn't recommend the audio.  If you only have time for the audio, go for the audio because the book is well worth it.  I found the downward inflection to be more funny that annoying. 




    Overall...
    This is a must read.  The Hunt grabs your attention and drags you into a world where things just seem quite impossible.  I think Mr. Fakuda managed to create a story that stands out from the rest.  It wouldn't matter that it was so different if it wasn't so well done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well, this is def an interesting take on vampires, elbow sex,

    Well, this is def an interesting take on vampires, elbow sex, wrist scratching and all. It is so creepy the way the remaining humans (hepers) are treated it gave me goosebumps. There were a few issues I had with the plot (how are vamps made in this world if a bite kills hepers/humans) but they may be resolved in the next book. Issues aside, I couldn't put this book down.
    Gene, the main character is a human pretending to be a vampire. I don't see how he could pull it off-no facial hair, no expressions, no smell, no laughing, being able to see perfectly at night, etc. but it did make for some edge of your seat situations.
    There is some very unexpected romance, but it just added to the appeal and mystery of what will happen next, and how they will get there.
    I enjoyed being in Gene's head, he had a voice that pulled me in, and it was refreshing to read from a male point of view.
    This is fully violent, totally consuming, and there are plenty of twists and lots of action that kept me glued from start to surprising finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say that this is probably one of the best books I've r

    I have to say that this is probably one of the best books I've read about vampires ever. Not that I've read a lot but it takes a lot for me to like a vampire book & this one I loved. First, it's somewhat of a dystopia because society has completely become vampires & humans (or "hepers" as they're referred to in the book) are pretty nearly extinct. Drop in a human boy pretending to be a vampire to survive & the entire premise of this book was like pure candy.

    The main character, Gene, whose name we don't actually find out until about half way through the book, is very believable. He grew up with a father, also a human pretending to be a vampire to survive, who drilled into his head all the rules he needed to follow to survive. He follows them so meticulously that he has almost convinced himself in some ways that he IS actually a vampire. Though that's not something he fully realizes until he meets other humans. Then he spirals through conflict between what he's all but been brainwashed to think & feel about "hepers" & remembering who he is - a human.

    What absorbed me most was not Gene or even his fascinatingly enigmatic girl friend, Ashley June. No, it was the action sequences that hooked me in & kept me tuned in until the very last page at which point I went, "What? No more?!" Mr. Fukuda is a wordsmith, using words brilliantly to create timing, tempo, & terror in bright flashes like sunlight in the otherwise necessarily dark setting.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys vampire novels, dystopians, or horror in general. While it's not too blood & guts-y as you might expect from this sort of novel, it does have some grisly parts to it. As a horror movie buff they didn't bother me but they may not be for the faint of heart. Otherwise this is a fantastic read & I cannot wait for the continuation!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    This unique new vampire book, has an awesome world is full of va

    This unique new vampire book, has an awesome world is full of vampires, who live every night with no reason to hide. Behind the closed doors are the heper(humans) who try to adapt or die. Andrew Fukuda builds a strange vampire world containing the customs, language and eating habits of this world populated by vampires. This dystopian fantasy series is not only heart stopping usual but sets the structure for the next part(s) of this series. I will surely recommend this book to my fantasy reader in the fall.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Hunt is an awesome start to what I'm sure will be an action-

    The Hunt is an awesome start to what I'm sure will be an action-packed and thrilling series.

    Our main character Gene was a character that took me awhile to warm up to. I wasn't too sure how I felt about him at first and sometimes he seemed a little too focused on his own self-preservation but considering his circumstances I could understand why he was like that. Gene is the only human or 'heper' in a society of bloodthirsty creatures. He has to take desperate measures to hide what he is and to make sure he never gets found out. This year they have decided to have another Heper Hunt which is basically where some of the people in the society get chosen by way of a lottery to chase after and kill the humans or hepers. Gene by a stroke of bad luck gets chosen to be one of the hunters in the Heper Hunt. The winners of the lottery then get taken to a facility where they will be trained for a few days prior to the hunt. Gene then has to be even more careful as he is then surrounded by the other hunters that will immediately kill him if they find out he's human.

    Another person that wins the lottery to be a hunter in the Heper Hunt is a classmate of Gene's, Ashley June. Ashley June and Gene have a somewhat complicated past and more in common then they know. I wasn't sure what to make of Ashley June at first. She's one of the popular girls so she seemed a little annoying to me at first. As the story goes on though you get to see a different side of Ashley June and while I was suspicious of her at first because she seemed sneaky and like she was up to something my attitude toward her changed towards the middle of the book. I started to feel sympathy for her and we also find out that she's hiding a huge secret and when her secret is finally revealed I can honestly say I was so shocked. While I grew to like Ashley June quite a bit I still feel like there's something slightly off about her and I still don't fully trust her yet so I'm interested to see what we find out about her in the future.

    This book definitely had my attention right from the start and if I hadn't had school work to do I definitely would have finished this book in one day. The story really sucks you in right from the start and while at first I was a tad confused as to what was going on as it seemed you're kind of just tossed into the story it didn't take long for me to get the gist of what was happening. One thing I will say is this book is definitely not for the squeamish. There are many scenes throughout the book that are described in gory detail so if that is not your thing then I would definitely caution you about reading this book. I found the society that was in this book so fascinating. The way humans have become the prey and these creatures have become the ones ruling everything was a scary but thoroughly gripping idea. This book is mainly an action book and I had no problem with that. While I do love romance and there is a touch of it in this book it was mainly a lot of action scenes which I actually really enjoyed. This book ended on a total cliffhanger so obviously I'm dying to know what happens next and of course I can't wait for the next book.

    Final Verdict: The Hunt is a great start to what I'm sure will be an amazing series. I recommend this book especially to people who like male protagonists, action books, or both.

    *This review is also posted on my blog and my other social media profiles.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Hunt isn't your gorgeous, sparkling vampires. Andrew Fukuda

    The Hunt isn't your gorgeous, sparkling vampires. Andrew Fukuda has definitely given us a vampire version hunger game with these blood-sucking, flesh-eating vampires. The Hunt is eerie, weird (good weird) and one of the creepiest novels I have ever read. Fukuda has created an unusually weird way of kissing and laughing when it comes to these vampires, it definitely freaks me out. The Hunt is an awesome novel and Fukuda has packed it to the max with action, and I love action. Gene is another reason I love The Hunt. Gene is a beautiful character, I love that The Hunt is told from a guy's POV seeing Gene's feelings really made this story for me. As you can see from all the "loves" in this review, I really enjoyed The Hunt. Andrew Fukuda has written an awesome, creepy story, and these vampires will definitely not have you gushing over them.

    Gene is a human pretending to be a vampire in this vampire world, and he's done a good job at keeping himself alive until he's chosen to be one of the few vampires for The Heper Hunt, it becomes almost impossible for him to hide his human identity and not become the main dinner course. This heper hunt has it upside. For the first time since his family died, Gene will meet humans (Hepers) that haven't lived among vampires. Gene will see humans aren't the stupid animals that he been taught his whole life that are just raised to be food for vampires.

    Gene will finally get closer to the girl he has been crushing on since middle school, but never would take Ashley June up on any of her advances for fear that she would find out he's human and become her lunch. Fukuda surprised me with Ashley’s character, but I'm still not sure I have figured her out. There are still some things that hasn’t been answered, and I will have wait until the next book to see if I'm right. Ah, love the mystery!

    The Hunt is a freakishly awesome, action-packed novel with these fiendish vampires. It definitely rid me of the image of the Twilight vampires. I recommend The Hunt as a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7