Customer Reviews for

The Hunt (Hunt Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Intense dystopian

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the v...
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the vampires that sparkle! In Fukuda’s dystopian world we hide among these vicious killers. This tale was fast paced, horrifying and delicious! When the tale begins we meet seventeen year old, human protagonist Gene. He is in high school and trying to blend in. He knows the rules, his father taught him well. One slip and he will be devoured. Gene lives in a vampire world, where the day begins at dusk and ends at sunrise. He has been on his own since his father was bitten years ago. He is brilliant, but is careful not to stand out. Everyday is a challenge and only during daylight hours can he be himself. While at school it is announced that the ruler will address the nation. This causes immediate salivating and mass speculation amount the vampire students. The last time the ruler address the nation was ten years ago, when he announced a Heper Hunt. This is a huge event. Several heper’s (humans) are released into the wild, and a select few chosen by lottery get to hunt and devour them. *Gulp* You guessed it, there will be a new Heper Hunt and Gene as well as Ashley a young girl from his school are chosen to participate. Before Gene can even think, he is whisked away and taken along with seven others to the Heper Institute. Here they go through training, attend galas and prepare for the hunt. The tale that unfolds is splendid, steeped in horror and riddled with tension and fear. I was captivated from page one, quoting the book by chapter three and running to the computer to check for book two’s release date by the end. The ending wasn’t really a cliff-hanger but the last sentence just about blew my friggin mind. I absolutely without a doubt loved the human characters. Fukuda does an extraordinary job of giving them depth and believability. The complications that arise from living in a vampire world are astronomical and his attention to all these quirks was quite enthralling. His depiction of this particular species of vampires and their habits was entrancing. The scene where an adolescent vampire gets her first kiss was both creepy and mind-boggling. Fukuda created a complete language for the vampires. The way they expressed emotions and communicated with each other was fascinating. The vampires themselves are incredibly creepy and at times behaved in an animalist way that I found terrifying. The romance that develops is secondary to the tale, but sweet and genuine. I really connected with these characters. Their hopes, fears and desires became mine. We are giving very little detail about how the world came to be populated almost entirely by vampires and quite frankly I didn’t really care. The world Fukuda creates is unique, original and detailed. Parts of it were horrifying and others made me laugh. I found the education on why Heper’s sing absolutely hilarious. His perception of how another species would perceive us was totally amazing. The Heper’s in captivity emulate humanities ability to survive and adapt. The choices Gene and Ashley must face are extraordinary and kept me completely engrossed. I love when a book consumes you, and this one left me spent and wanting more.

posted by kimba88 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. P

The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. Perhaps it will be, it has had many a 5 star review. For me, however, it is not. After I finished reading, I went onto Goodreads and read some of the 5 star reviews, and some of the 2 star reviews. As it tur...
The Hunt - dubbed the next big thing for fans of Hunger Games. Perhaps it will be, it has had many a 5 star review. For me, however, it is not. After I finished reading, I went onto Goodreads and read some of the 5 star reviews, and some of the 2 star reviews. As it turns out, all the people who posted 2 and 3 star reviews had the exact same problems with the novel as I did.

Vampires dominating a human world. This is not a story about romance, this is a story about survival. But holy smokes, it is ridiculously unrealistic. Now that may sound silly, considering it is a novel about vampires but here is why.

Gene, the main character, has been hiding all his life in among the vampires. He can't sweat, he can't clear his throat, he can't get smelly, he can't even have hair on his body or the vampires will discover he is human. How on earth, would anyone be able to pull that off for 17 odd years of their life? I really think that isn't humanly possible.

Put that aside, I felt there were so many question left unanswered. Are these vampires dead or alive? They must have a heart-beat or they would have noticed Gene's straight away. They must age right? Do they reproduce? Or did I miss all these important points in my skimming of the seemingly boring parts?

Then there are the super weird bits - don't get me wrong, I love to seem how authors portray things differently, but this just seemed even too weird for me. Scratching your wrist instead of laughing? Yeah, maybe. Armpit/Elbow sex? That is just too weird for words. Plus the vampire drool A LOT. Like every other page. That's just gross.

But don't take my word for it. I seem to be part of the minority that just didn't enjoy it as much as I should have. Check it out for yourself, and then let me know your thoughts!

posted by ClaireFrith on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intense dystopian

    The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda is the first in a brilliant new series. Fukuda has created a terrifying world in which vampires rule and humans are almost extinct. I consumed this dark tale in a few hours and it quickly became one of my favorite reads for 2012. Gone are the vampires that sparkle! In Fukuda’s dystopian world we hide among these vicious killers. This tale was fast paced, horrifying and delicious! When the tale begins we meet seventeen year old, human protagonist Gene. He is in high school and trying to blend in. He knows the rules, his father taught him well. One slip and he will be devoured. Gene lives in a vampire world, where the day begins at dusk and ends at sunrise. He has been on his own since his father was bitten years ago. He is brilliant, but is careful not to stand out. Everyday is a challenge and only during daylight hours can he be himself. While at school it is announced that the ruler will address the nation. This causes immediate salivating and mass speculation amount the vampire students. The last time the ruler address the nation was ten years ago, when he announced a Heper Hunt. This is a huge event. Several heper’s (humans) are released into the wild, and a select few chosen by lottery get to hunt and devour them. *Gulp* You guessed it, there will be a new Heper Hunt and Gene as well as Ashley a young girl from his school are chosen to participate. Before Gene can even think, he is whisked away and taken along with seven others to the Heper Institute. Here they go through training, attend galas and prepare for the hunt. The tale that unfolds is splendid, steeped in horror and riddled with tension and fear. I was captivated from page one, quoting the book by chapter three and running to the computer to check for book two’s release date by the end. The ending wasn’t really a cliff-hanger but the last sentence just about blew my friggin mind. I absolutely without a doubt loved the human characters. Fukuda does an extraordinary job of giving them depth and believability. The complications that arise from living in a vampire world are astronomical and his attention to all these quirks was quite enthralling. His depiction of this particular species of vampires and their habits was entrancing. The scene where an adolescent vampire gets her first kiss was both creepy and mind-boggling. Fukuda created a complete language for the vampires. The way they expressed emotions and communicated with each other was fascinating. The vampires themselves are incredibly creepy and at times behaved in an animalist way that I found terrifying. The romance that develops is secondary to the tale, but sweet and genuine. I really connected with these characters. Their hopes, fears and desires became mine. We are giving very little detail about how the world came to be populated almost entirely by vampires and quite frankly I didn’t really care. The world Fukuda creates is unique, original and detailed. Parts of it were horrifying and others made me laugh. I found the education on why Heper’s sing absolutely hilarious. His perception of how another species would perceive us was totally amazing. The Heper’s in captivity emulate humanities ability to survive and adapt. The choices Gene and Ashley must face are extraordinary and kept me completely engrossed. I love when a book consumes you, and this one left me spent and wanting more.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Great!

    I got the sample and I loved it. If you love the Hunger Games and Twilight, you will love The Hunt.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    If you like the hunger games

    Well, i got the sample, and it is awrsome! Get the sample from how to survive the hunger games. If you like the hunger games, then this book is perfect.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-crafted perfection of vampire dystopia

    Oh, holy butter, THE HUNT is such a smooth and unputdownable read that I hardly know where to begin with this review. If our world was set in THE HUNT, Andrew Fukuda is like the master of all vampires, and I would gladly crack my neck with excitement because I am absolutely salivating for the next installment! I had said earlier this year that DRINK, SLAY, LOVE was absolute love-at-first-sight, and comparitively THE HUNT rises up to the challenge and proves to be true-love-at-first-bite. Vampires, your comeback is nigh – and I totally LOVE what these authors have done with them!

    THE HUNT will immediately suck readers into a world where vampires come out on top in regards to survival of the fittest, and Gene may be the last free-roaming human left - although he cannot exactly announce that to the world. The vampires may love humans, but their love is not strictly in the platonic sense. I cannot imagine how hard it is for Gene to hide his humanity and train himself to be unnoticeable among his predators. Gene is quite the intelligent young man, but he realizes that any misstep means certain and unpleasant death. As a person who tends to wear her emotions on her sleeve, I would probably fail epicly in maintaining a cool façade. I do wonder what exactly Gene expects for his life since it seems that he may have a lonely future ahead of him with no particular desire to stir any trouble. Until he gets selected to join the Hunt and comes into contact with the human captives.

    What Andrew Fukuda brings to the table is a strong and cohesive world where night becomes the new day, and all the characters definitely help to create such an interesting dilemma where readers constantly wonder if there are others like Gene who have lived under the radar and also if higher powers DO know about Gene but choose to keep it quiet. Who exactly is the man behind the curtain? Who is vampire, and who is human? Who can be trusted, and who will stake you in the back? THE HUNT deftly buildS up the suspense into a satisfying yet game-changing conclusion that will leave readers anxious to find out where the series will go in Book 2 – and who will prove fit enough to survive.

    Deliciously innovative, wholly addictive, and solidly dystopic, fans of LEGEND, The Hunger Games, and DIVERGENT are sure to devour THE HUNT in one sitting, drool to the point of embarrassment, and immediately demand seconds. NOW. Andrew Fukuda has delivered an impressive debut that brings all the tricks to the table, and something tells me that the next installment will be just as well-crafted to perfection.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Loooooooooovvvvvveeeeeee iiiitttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

    I heart it if u liked the hunger games u will love the hunt

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    GAWD I WANNA READ THIS

    Get "how to survive the hunger games" and read the gigantic sample of The Hunt at the back...I WANNA READ THIS SO BAD!!!! its hunger games meets Twilight. (Im in sixth grade and i know a good book when i see it)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Sweet

    Scary

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say that this is probably one of the best books I've r

    I have to say that this is probably one of the best books I've read about vampires ever. Not that I've read a lot but it takes a lot for me to like a vampire book & this one I loved. First, it's somewhat of a dystopia because society has completely become vampires & humans (or "hepers" as they're referred to in the book) are pretty nearly extinct. Drop in a human boy pretending to be a vampire to survive & the entire premise of this book was like pure candy.

    The main character, Gene, whose name we don't actually find out until about half way through the book, is very believable. He grew up with a father, also a human pretending to be a vampire to survive, who drilled into his head all the rules he needed to follow to survive. He follows them so meticulously that he has almost convinced himself in some ways that he IS actually a vampire. Though that's not something he fully realizes until he meets other humans. Then he spirals through conflict between what he's all but been brainwashed to think & feel about "hepers" & remembering who he is - a human.

    What absorbed me most was not Gene or even his fascinatingly enigmatic girl friend, Ashley June. No, it was the action sequences that hooked me in & kept me tuned in until the very last page at which point I went, "What? No more?!" Mr. Fukuda is a wordsmith, using words brilliantly to create timing, tempo, & terror in bright flashes like sunlight in the otherwise necessarily dark setting.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys vampire novels, dystopians, or horror in general. While it's not too blood & guts-y as you might expect from this sort of novel, it does have some grisly parts to it. As a horror movie buff they didn't bother me but they may not be for the faint of heart. Otherwise this is a fantastic read & I cannot wait for the continuation!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    This unique new vampire book, has an awesome world is full of va

    This unique new vampire book, has an awesome world is full of vampires, who live every night with no reason to hide. Behind the closed doors are the heper(humans) who try to adapt or die. Andrew Fukuda builds a strange vampire world containing the customs, language and eating habits of this world populated by vampires. This dystopian fantasy series is not only heart stopping usual but sets the structure for the next part(s) of this series. I will surely recommend this book to my fantasy reader in the fall.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Hunt isn't your gorgeous, sparkling vampires. Andrew Fukuda

    The Hunt isn't your gorgeous, sparkling vampires. Andrew Fukuda has definitely given us a vampire version hunger game with these blood-sucking, flesh-eating vampires. The Hunt is eerie, weird (good weird) and one of the creepiest novels I have ever read. Fukuda has created an unusually weird way of kissing and laughing when it comes to these vampires, it definitely freaks me out. The Hunt is an awesome novel and Fukuda has packed it to the max with action, and I love action. Gene is another reason I love The Hunt. Gene is a beautiful character, I love that The Hunt is told from a guy's POV seeing Gene's feelings really made this story for me. As you can see from all the "loves" in this review, I really enjoyed The Hunt. Andrew Fukuda has written an awesome, creepy story, and these vampires will definitely not have you gushing over them.

    Gene is a human pretending to be a vampire in this vampire world, and he's done a good job at keeping himself alive until he's chosen to be one of the few vampires for The Heper Hunt, it becomes almost impossible for him to hide his human identity and not become the main dinner course. This heper hunt has it upside. For the first time since his family died, Gene will meet humans (Hepers) that haven't lived among vampires. Gene will see humans aren't the stupid animals that he been taught his whole life that are just raised to be food for vampires.

    Gene will finally get closer to the girl he has been crushing on since middle school, but never would take Ashley June up on any of her advances for fear that she would find out he's human and become her lunch. Fukuda surprised me with Ashley’s character, but I'm still not sure I have figured her out. There are still some things that hasn’t been answered, and I will have wait until the next book to see if I'm right. Ah, love the mystery!

    The Hunt is a freakishly awesome, action-packed novel with these fiendish vampires. It definitely rid me of the image of the Twilight vampires. I recommend The Hunt as a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Fantastic

    I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Questions

    What ages should be able to read this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Hunger games meets twilight

    DO NOT THINK ABOUT TWILIGHT!!!!!!! IT RUINS EVERYONES PERSPECTIVE OF VAMPIRES!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Hunt

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Read this for stop bulllying

    Ok here i go! Well this is going ti be weird. So here i go there are many people that needs our help so please help those people stop from bully today . You tell a teacher or an adult that you see aomeone getting bullyed so plaese speak up help those people who are getting hurt today!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    will this book turn into a movie? i think it should because it w

    will this book turn into a movie? i think it should because it will do as good as the hunger games and divergent.  if it came out in the theaters, i will go see it. pls make it into a movie.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Bandi the book-o-holic

    GREAT BOOK! BEST VAMPIRE BOOK WITHIN THE LAST THREE YEARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    .

    Best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Awesome

    Hunger games but waaaay better. And im a huge hunger games fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    Is Ashley June the girl he first falls in love with? Does she die?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5