Customer Reviews for

The Hunter

Average Rating 3.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lescroart DoesIt Again !!!!!!!

I love the way that Lescroart develops Wyatt Hunt's character in this book. He makes you feel like you know him and are rooting for him as the plot develops!!!!! Wyatt opens himself up and lets you feel his frustrations and successes as the plot develops. John Lescro...
I love the way that Lescroart develops Wyatt Hunt's character in this book. He makes you feel like you know him and are rooting for him as the plot develops!!!!! Wyatt opens himself up and lets you feel his frustrations and successes as the plot develops. John Lescroart keeps you involved and emotionally connected throught the entire book.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Two Words.... Soap Opera

Two words... SOAP OPERA. So disappointed. I use to love John's books and was hoping that this would be a good one.

posted by Carol-G on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Lescroart DoesIt Again !!!!!!!

    I love the way that Lescroart develops Wyatt Hunt's character in this book. He makes you feel like you know him and are rooting for him as the plot develops!!!!! Wyatt opens himself up and lets you feel his frustrations and successes as the plot develops. John Lescroart keeps you involved and emotionally connected throught the entire book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Two Words.... Soap Opera

    Two words... SOAP OPERA. So disappointed. I use to love John's books and was hoping that this would be a good one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Recommended, but with reservations

    Good story, but too long and tortuous plot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    a good read

    always good characters, and a puzzle to solve. One of my favorite authors

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seeking the Past

    The Hunt Club, the private investigative agency in San Francisco headed by Wyatt Hunt, has been the focus of several novels prior to this one, exciting mystery-thrillers. While the present volume is both a mystery with some elements of thriller, the reader has to painstakingly plod through a lot to find them. It basically is more of an introspective look at Hunt, his birth and his development as a mature person.

    Hunt’s mother was murdered when he was three, his father twice tried for the deed but not convicted because of hung juries. While on trial, he let Hunt go through the system, passing through several adoptive families before hitting success with the Hunts. Then one day, now a middle-aged man, he receives a text message: “How did your mother die?,” thus setting him on a journey to rediscover his routes, with almost no memories or information to guide him.

    Uncovering strange and unexpected information along the way, Hunt follows a trail, often led by additional text messages, not to mention additional murders. Too often, there is much repetition, and the physical reaction by Hunt to the pressures seemed superficial, leaving one wondering if there is some basic physical ailment or just plain old anxiety affecting him. Perhaps some judicious editing, or even a rewrite, could have improved the novel, which in its present form is quite interesting but to this reader lacks the spark of the predecessors in the series. Perhaps that’s what the author strove to achieve - - who knows? With that caveat, the novel is recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    Always enjoy John Lescroart's books. I appreciate the way he develops his characters from book to book, the believable plots, and fresh story lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    MYSTERY / THRILLER

    ENJOYABLE READ. RECOMMENDED.
    JOHN LESCROART. WHAT MORE TO SAY?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Greenshadow

    Sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Hooked on John Lescroart

    As always a fantastic read! You will not be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Definitely Recommend

    Excellent writing as usual... a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Definitely a Page Turner

    The best parts of Lescroart,s character driven books are the relationships the reader maintains with the characters. I was thrilled to see Wyatt Hunt return and loved the idea of delving into his past with him. The book centers around the questionable death of Wyatt's birth mother. Of course it turns out to be a murder to be solved, and of course Wyatt and his "band of merry men and women" are on the job. Enter a mysterious texter and ties to Jim Jones, and a great story unfolds. Upon following his adventures we learn more about the characters we want to share a dinner with, so all in all this was a successful venture for a top author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    A Struggle Through a Muddle

    The biggest reward of this reading experience was getting through it.There are sections you can skip and there is nothing compelling in the plot that feeds on being so repetitive its annoying. I won't bother with his next work. He must have been paid by the word in this one as he used alot of them to tell us the same thing over and over again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Highly recommended !!

    Enjoyed all the John Lescroart books I've read and this one did not disappoint !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Disappointing

    While John Lescroart remains one of my favorite writers, this book wasw a little disappointing. I felt that someone was there with a whip telling him to get this book written. His characters still are likeable and interesting, but this was less so and I found myself getting impatient.

    Waiting for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Firey

    Fierce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Eclipse

    Prays a wolf will come as the leader paces
    <p> Luner sits behind her father

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Starrysky

    *she yawns and stretches lazily, looking up into Greenshadow's eyes.* "Can we go back to camp?" she whispered softly. ~Starrysky

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Free books

    Free books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Worst Lescroart Ever

    I have read nearly every other Lescroart novel and this is, without a doubt, worst ever. Minimal mystery, no suspense, predictable outcome, and way, way too much soap-opera "emoting". And were we not supposed to notice same last name of the rich-lady in Chapter 1 to the suspect unveiled just a a short while later ? What a pretentious un-compelling soap-opera. Publisher, author, and Dismas Hardy should be ashamed of this one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved John Lescroart"s DAMAGE and was excited to learn he had a new book out. The Hunter is not near as exciting and riveting as other novels by this author. In fact, The Hunter is down right BORING. It tediously drags along without real suspense or pathos. Not a good sign when I begin skimming - just to get through the book. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3