Customer Reviews for

The Hunter (Highland Guard Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    THE HUNTER by Monica McCarty is an exciting Scottish Historical

    THE HUNTER by Monica McCarty is an exciting Scottish Historical Romance set in 1310 Scotland. #7 in the "Highland Guard" series, but I found it can be read as a stand alone, with some re-appearing characters. For a complete list and special offers,of the "Highland Guard" series, visit the author's website. First there is, Ewen “Hunter” Lamont,Chieftain of a minor clan,loyal,and is one of an elite team of warriors trained to help Robert The Bruce. Than you have, Sister Genna/Janet,one of Bruce's missing couriers,an Italian nun, feisty, and determined. Getting her back to The Bruce could not only be dangerous to their health, but when their passion ignites their hearts could be involved also. With a dangerous but crucial mission, betrayal,secrets, passion and so much more will capture your heart as you turn pages. Fast paced, action filled adventure for these two strong-willed, determined people that could lead to treason, and death. If you have never read one of Ms. McCarty's stories, you are in for a treat, if you have, than you know how strong, and engaging her characters are and how intriguing her plots become. If you enjoy Scottish warriors, their feisty, strong, ladies than don't miss "The Hunter". A great read! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Edelweiss.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I have enjoyed all the books of the series and this is no except

    I have enjoyed all the books of the series and this is no exception. Great beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm a fan of this series. I've read 4 books from it so far (all

    I'm a fan of this series. I've read 4 books from it so far (all out of order) and highly enjoyed every one of them. I love that the stories can be read out of order because their individual stories don't build throughout the books. However, the story of King Robert the Bruce does develop throughout the books but these stories primarily focus on the main characters with the Bruce in the background.

    Janet has been disguising herself as a nun to not only hide from the English but to pass messages to King Robert the Bruce about what the English are up to. It isn't until she ends up with 2 warriors for bodyguards that things seem to go downhill. She finds herself in more hot water with them around then when she was on her own.

    When Ewen was tasked with escorting the nun safely to deliver her message, he had no idea that the nun he kissed was non other than Janet, Lady of Mar. She's also the presumed dead sister of one of his brethren wives of the Highland Guard. He's upset that not only had he thought he committed a grave sin by kissing a nun (and she never corrected him) but King Robert the Bruce is allowing her to be in danger every day so that she can be a courier while everyone else presumes her dead, even her sister. However, now that he knows that she's not a nun, he can make her his but the Bruce squashes his hope. He has intended to have Janet marry the son of the man who took Ewen in. With loyalty like that, Ewen will do everything in his power to bring back Janet so that she can wed another man.

    I really liked these characters. Both of them were strong characters in the regards that neither bowed down easily to orders. They liked to be in control and take charge. Neither are used to being told what to do, and that is exactly what goes on here. Ewen decides not to tell Janet about the plans that the Bruce has for her, so she's under the illusion that she can pick up with Ewen where they left off before with the kiss. So throughout the book there is a lot of sexual tension. There is also a lot of action as well. Janet and Ewen are being chased throughout the entire book. Ewen of course with his warrior looks, stands out like a sore thumb and his way with words, or lack there of, doesn't help him blend in either. So, there was never a dull moment in the story.

    I will definitely be continuing the series as well as going back and reading the books that I missed. I'm a suck for highlander books and this one is no exception. I usually lose interest in a series by the 3rd book but this one is fresh and new with every book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Hunter has arrived and is not to be missed. The Hunter by M

    The Hunter has arrived and is not to be missed.

    The Hunter by Monica McCarty is the seventh book in her Highland Guard series.  This book focuses on Ewen “Hunter” Lamont and Janet of Mar.  It is a riveting story about damaged characters you want to succeed in their personal journey as well as to find their way to each other.  




    All of the books in the series are about a different member of Robert the Bruce’s secret band of elite warriors know as the Highland Guard but Robert’s bid for the Scottish throne is difficult one and a long battle to be won.  Learning about the journey from each of his warriors is an excellent way to experience all of the difficult aspects of this part of Scotland’s history.




    Even though the book can stand on it’s own the story is much richer an experience if you read them in order.  We are introduced to Janet of Mar in the previous book in the series, “The Recruit” and you just knew there would be more about her in the future as well as about Hunter who is also mentioned in previous books.




    I could repeat what the publisher tells you about the book but you can only say the same thing so many different ways.  What I would say is that if you love to read about characters who are not perfect, who try to make a difference in their world and who willing to sacrifice everything for a cause they believe in then this book, as well as all of the books in the series are for you.




    You will laugh, you will cry, at times you will even hold your breath, but in the end, the journey that you take with Janet and Ewen will be one you will not forget and you will be glad you were able to “share” it with them by reading the book.




    Monica McCarty writes such rich historical stories and one of my favorite things about her books is that in the back of each of them she tells you exactly what was historical in her book and where she took some license to make the story work better.  Don’t skip the Author’s Notes in the back of the books, you will appreciate the story even more after reading them.




    I can’t wait for the eighth book in the series which is about Robert “The Raider” Boyd, due out in 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Hunter by M

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Hunter by Monica McCarty
    Book Seven of the Highland Guard series
    Publisher: Ballantine Books
    Publication Date: June 25, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    The war for Scotland’s freedom continues as King Robert the Bruce battles on. At his command is an elite army of trained warriors, soldiers dedicated to their king, their country—and to the remarkable women they love.

    Prized for his unbeatable tracking skills, Ewen “Hunter” Lamont accepts a dangerous assignment: locate a missing undercover courier. But this is no ordinary target. Ewen has met his prey before as “Sister Genna,” a fiery, forbidden woman forever etched in his memory after one stolen, sinful kiss. Now that he knows her real identity, he’s more determined than ever to keep her safe. But without the protection of the veil between them, fighting the allure of the beautiful lass may be the toughest battle this extraordinary warrior has ever faced.

    After her ill-fated attempt three years ago to rescue her twin sister, Janet of Mar has found salvation acting as a royal messenger—until she surrenders to a darkly handsome warrior whose rough, sensual kisses stir feelings the woman in her can’t deny. But when betrayal leads to danger, and a crucial communiqué is put in jeopardy, Janet has no choice but to put her faith in the hunter who can find anything—perhaps even her heart.


    What I Liked:

    Okay, so, I'm not exactly sure what kind of historical fiction this book is, but it is dubbed "Highland", so I'll go with that. It's not the typical historical fiction I've been reading - like, Regency London, and that sort. This seems like medieval historical fiction, in Scotland. But whatever. This book was FANTASTIC.

    I didn't know what to expect from this book, since it isn't the same era of history that I am used to reading, but I loved it! Ewen and Genna really dazzle readers in this book, as they run and chase and fight their way to the King, and to themselves.

    That being said, the plot of this book is outstanding. I was never very bored in this book, as there was constant action throughout the book. I was a bit confused in the beginning, with Ewen's history, but I read on, and could see how that history came into play in the novel.

    The characters were very, very well-written. I was impressed by how three-dimensional the characters seemed, and how much depth even the secondary characters had. Genna (Janet) is such an awesome heroine - believe me, she is truly an excellent messenger. She got herself out of sticky situations time after time after time. Ewen is incredible as well. It's remarkable to see why he earned his title as "the hunter".

    The romance is wonderful! It was not instant and earth-shattering, but the chemistry is pretty sizzling. Genna (Janet) is a fabulous heroine, and Ewen really complements her. Both of them are very clever and intelligent, and they constantly try and outsmart each other. It's adorable and endearing to "watch" the two of them struggle within themselves, to discover what is best for themselves and each other.

    I loved the ending of this book! Even when I thought the climax was over, and the falling action had fallen enough, and everything was smooth sailing, it wasn't! Ms. McCarty had readers interested up until the very last word of the very last page - because everything didn't wrap up all at once. 

    Overall, I loved this book! I wish I could have started at the beginning of the series (this book is book SEVEN), and perhaps I will!


    What I Did Not Like:

    This is really a small thing, but I feel like this book was so long. I usually love long books, but some scenes and descriptions could have been cut down. There's nothing like non-stop action, and then a huge description to kill the buzz. 

    But it wasn't a big deal. I skipped some of the longer descriptions (like in the very beginning), and I was fine while reading the book!


    Would I Recommend It:

    Totally! If you like medieval fiction, this is definitely one for you! 


    Rating:

    4 stars. Now let me go back and read the previous six books :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1