Customer Reviews for

The Hunter and the Hunted: Two Stories of the Otherworld

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

posted by sand7s on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Kelley Armstrong is fantastic, but her publisher needs to stop b

Kelley Armstrong is fantastic, but her publisher needs to stop being so greedy!
Apparently publishers are now trying to make money by previewing the first few chapters of each new book in a series, bundling it together with a few words from the author, and calling it an...
Kelley Armstrong is fantastic, but her publisher needs to stop being so greedy!
Apparently publishers are now trying to make money by previewing the first few chapters of each new book in a series, bundling it together with a few words from the author, and calling it an "especial." This sort of thing used to be published for free on the author's website, but I guess the publishers are just too strapped for cash to give away even a single word for free. Whatever - I'm getting tired of the money grubbing.

However, unlike other authors, Kelley Armstrong at least went to the trouble to add an original short story (not just an "outtake") to this special. And it is a pretty decent short story, so I guess I won't complain too much. I just wish the publishing industry wasn't so intent on nickle and diming their customers.

posted by Karina13 on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Kelley Armstrong is fantastic, but her publisher needs to stop b

    Kelley Armstrong is fantastic, but her publisher needs to stop being so greedy!
    Apparently publishers are now trying to make money by previewing the first few chapters of each new book in a series, bundling it together with a few words from the author, and calling it an "especial." This sort of thing used to be published for free on the author's website, but I guess the publishers are just too strapped for cash to give away even a single word for free. Whatever - I'm getting tired of the money grubbing.

    However, unlike other authors, Kelley Armstrong at least went to the trouble to add an original short story (not just an "outtake") to this special. And it is a pretty decent short story, so I guess I won't complain too much. I just wish the publishing industry wasn't so intent on nickle and diming their customers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    It gives you a taste but..

    If you want to see if this is an author for you, then these short stories are great. I love this author but short stores rarely satisfy my desire for character deveopment etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A glimpse into the minds of narrators we don't get to hear from often

    The Hunter and the Hunted are two short stories from Kelley Armstrong's the Otherworld series. Penguin also threw in the first seven chapters of Thirteen, and let me just say that I cannot wait for that book. I've had it pre-ordered for awhile now, but reading these first few chapters really sold me on it. I'm counting the days until it's released. The two short stories are good, and I always love getting more Elena and Clay. While I enjoyed them, I enjoyed the sneak peek of Thirteen more.

    The first story in this novella is a short story about Elena and Clay, told from Clay's perspective. I love when Clay narrates because he has such a unique perspective. It's always like I'm reading from a wolf's perspective instead of a man's. I love Elena as a narrator too, but it's always interesting to see Clay's take on things. "Stalked," the story, is a cute story about Elena and Clay's honeymoon. It was interesting to see how they interacted and how much they tried to stick to human ideals while on their honeymoon. I'm going to miss those two characters when the series ends.

    "Off-Duty Angel" is told from Eve's perspective. It's also a cute story, and it was nice to get to know Eve better. Since she only had one book in the series, I don't feel like I know her as well as I know the other characters. She's not present as much as Jaime (who also only had one book) is. I feel like I know Eve more through reputation than through observing her behaviors, so I liked getting to see more of her. Both stories are only around 30 pages each and very light-hearted.

    The teaser for Thirteen blew my mind. I was already wishing July 24 would hurry and get here, and now it's a billion times worse. The final book in the Otherworld series is shaping up to be an intense and emotional thrill-ride. I have a feeling I'll laugh, cry, and be on the edge of my seat throughout the whole book. I'm literally counting the days until I can get my hands on this novel.

    Overall, I'd recommend this novella to any Kelley Armstrong fan. If you're a fan of the Otherworld series, then you'll love getting more looks into the characters' lives. It's also a nice edition to the series because we get to hear from characters who usually don't get to narrate their own stories. If you haven't read the Otherworld series yet, then you're missing out. Start with Bitten, though. You'd be completely lost with this novella if you hadn't read the other books first. The Hunter and the Hunted is available at Barnes and Noble and Amazon in e-book format. This is a novella you'll want to add to your e-reader library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Werewolves & witches, demons & angels, oh my!!!

    I fell in love with these Otherworld tales with Bitten and here we have stories about Claton & Elena and Eve, my fav.

    I like Paige, Jaime and Savanbah, but these two ladies are my preferences in this 'world'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    OMG

    This is not a book. There should be more to it. I liked it but there should have been more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Only 101 pages

    Good !love this author,but you need to buy the rest of the book-$1,99 promo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    As additional stories they work quite well. If you are not famil

    As additional stories they work quite well. If you are not familiar with the characters, I imagine they would be lacking. However, I always enjoy her writing style and love reading additional stories of some of my favorite characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    If you like Kelley Armstrong, then you'll love these stories.

    I have read so many book lately, but Kelley is one of my favorites. She makes you connect with the each story and you fall in love all over again. Thanks Kelley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    It's awsome;)

    I wish she could continue writing the otherworld, the book its awsome,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!

    The series keeps you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Omg

    I wish there would be more the characters are soo well developed!! I can never put these books down! Gotta make it cover to cover no breaks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2