Customer Reviews for

The Hurricane Sisters

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another stellar tome!

(I received this book from a GoodReads/First Reads giveaway, and I thank the author and publisher for their generosity. This in no way influenced my opinion, which is ,as always, 100% mine)

I will never regret being hit in the head by a falling copy of Sullivans Island...
(I received this book from a GoodReads/First Reads giveaway, and I thank the author and publisher for their generosity. This in no way influenced my opinion, which is ,as always, 100% mine)

I will never regret being hit in the head by a falling copy of Sullivans Island a couple of decades ago. With that, I was catapulted into the low country world of Dorthy Benton Frank. And her latest work lives up to her reputation.

Another fun look at a multi-generational family full of lies,secrets and innuendo balanced with love, generosity and characters you either want to kick to the curb or promote as saints.

Ashley and Ivy, the two children of Liz and Clayton, their proverbial loves, losses, wins and paradoxical lives. On the Barrier Islands, it is an adventure living in Hurricane Alley, but those who do, love the tumult and the quiet of being off the beaten path. Their homes may be stable, but their lives, for good or for I'll, may be as roiling as the ocean right outside their doors

posted by rokinrev on June 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Always lots of laughs with the sassy southern gals!

As always, Dorothea Benton Frank keeps you laughing for hours; combined with hilarious narrator, Robin Miles—what a dynamic duo! (I always buy the audiobook, when Robin is reading)!

The one liners, the sarcasm, and wit ---priceless! These sassy, classy, crazy, smart...
As always, Dorothea Benton Frank keeps you laughing for hours; combined with hilarious narrator, Robin Miles—what a dynamic duo! (I always buy the audiobook, when Robin is reading)!

The one liners, the sarcasm, and wit ---priceless! These sassy, classy, crazy, smart, and charming Lowcountry Southern ladies, find their way through some tough storms of life, for the ultimate lazy summer day read--- keeping you smiling, engaged, and satisfied.

Having read twelve of Frank’s novels, The Hurricane Sisters does not disappoint. The girls are back, this time around, featuring two younger Southern belles.

Faithful fans, do not panic, the mom and grandmother are still in the mix, with their wise cracks, wisdom, gin and tonic, entertaining tidbits, and lots of mischief.

Ashley Ann Waters (mid-20s) and Mary Beth Smythe are enjoying a season rent-free leisure in Ashley’s parent’s Sullivan beach home with a view to die for. One problem – they need money. Ashley is a gallery assistant who aspires to become an artist. Mary Beth, a gifted cook from Tennessee, works for a caterer while searching for a good teaching job. Though they both know what they want out of life, their parents barely support their dreams, and they both need income.

Meanwhile, their parents and grandmother have issues of their own. There is trouble brewing with Ashley’s dad Clayton. Clayton is a very successful and wealthy investment banker. He has a pied-a-terre in Manhattan and up to no good with another woman.

Liz (Ashley’s mom), is busy raising funds for her non-profit business, helping women from abusive men and domestic violence---protecting them with shelters, counseling, safe houses, and other resources. However, she suspects Clayton is up to something, and begins a plan to reel him back in. Has she been blind to all the clues?

It would not be a party without Liz’s mom (Ashley’s grandmother), Maisie – the family matriarch, who has just turned eighty and is dating a younger man (her driver and owner of a llama farm)—they announce to the family at dinner, they have just moved in together. Let the fun begin!

During the summer, Ashley begins dating the local Senator; however, she suspects he has issues. Good-looking and charming; however, he is not as he appears—so controlling. What will Ashley tolerate in order to catch this politician?

Abuse and domestic violence--ongoing theme throughout the novel—Ashley/Senator, Mary Beth’s dad, Juliet’s former relationship, and the reason Liz is so focused on helping these victims.

Will this family get back to the way they were before the death of Liz’s dead sister, Juliet, and weather the storm in the charming southern Lowcountry?

As long as these belles have their cocktails, gourmet meals, pearls, and gloves, and make a good show of it -–they will pull it off!

posted by quaintinns on June 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Another stellar tome!

    (I received this book from a GoodReads/First Reads giveaway, and I thank the author and publisher for their generosity. This in no way influenced my opinion, which is ,as always, 100% mine)

    I will never regret being hit in the head by a falling copy of Sullivans Island a couple of decades ago. With that, I was catapulted into the low country world of Dorthy Benton Frank. And her latest work lives up to her reputation.

    Another fun look at a multi-generational family full of lies,secrets and innuendo balanced with love, generosity and characters you either want to kick to the curb or promote as saints.

    Ashley and Ivy, the two children of Liz and Clayton, their proverbial loves, losses, wins and paradoxical lives. On the Barrier Islands, it is an adventure living in Hurricane Alley, but those who do, love the tumult and the quiet of being off the beaten path. Their homes may be stable, but their lives, for good or for I'll, may be as roiling as the ocean right outside their doors

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Hurricane sisters

    Love love loved this book!!"

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Another great one

    Dorthea Benton Frank delivers another great read!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Feel like this one was phoned in. Little or no character develop

    Feel like this one was phoned in. Little or no character development, stilted dialogue, and very little plot. Very disappointing. I have read all of her books, and loved them for many years. Feels like she has lost her passion. I sincerely hope not.  She has given me many hours of reading enjoyment. However, this time I kept looking at the page numbers wondering how much longer it was going to take for me to get through this book. Hoping for better next time.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Always lots of laughs with the sassy southern gals!

    As always, Dorothea Benton Frank keeps you laughing for hours; combined with hilarious narrator, Robin Miles—what a dynamic duo! (I always buy the audiobook, when Robin is reading)!

    The one liners, the sarcasm, and wit ---priceless! These sassy, classy, crazy, smart, and charming Lowcountry Southern ladies, find their way through some tough storms of life, for the ultimate lazy summer day read--- keeping you smiling, engaged, and satisfied.

    Having read twelve of Frank’s novels, The Hurricane Sisters does not disappoint. The girls are back, this time around, featuring two younger Southern belles.

    Faithful fans, do not panic, the mom and grandmother are still in the mix, with their wise cracks, wisdom, gin and tonic, entertaining tidbits, and lots of mischief.

    Ashley Ann Waters (mid-20s) and Mary Beth Smythe are enjoying a season rent-free leisure in Ashley’s parent’s Sullivan beach home with a view to die for. One problem – they need money. Ashley is a gallery assistant who aspires to become an artist. Mary Beth, a gifted cook from Tennessee, works for a caterer while searching for a good teaching job. Though they both know what they want out of life, their parents barely support their dreams, and they both need income.

    Meanwhile, their parents and grandmother have issues of their own. There is trouble brewing with Ashley’s dad Clayton. Clayton is a very successful and wealthy investment banker. He has a pied-a-terre in Manhattan and up to no good with another woman.

    Liz (Ashley’s mom), is busy raising funds for her non-profit business, helping women from abusive men and domestic violence---protecting them with shelters, counseling, safe houses, and other resources. However, she suspects Clayton is up to something, and begins a plan to reel him back in. Has she been blind to all the clues?

    It would not be a party without Liz’s mom (Ashley’s grandmother), Maisie – the family matriarch, who has just turned eighty and is dating a younger man (her driver and owner of a llama farm)—they announce to the family at dinner, they have just moved in together. Let the fun begin!

    During the summer, Ashley begins dating the local Senator; however, she suspects he has issues. Good-looking and charming; however, he is not as he appears—so controlling. What will Ashley tolerate in order to catch this politician?

    Abuse and domestic violence--ongoing theme throughout the novel—Ashley/Senator, Mary Beth’s dad, Juliet’s former relationship, and the reason Liz is so focused on helping these victims.

    Will this family get back to the way they were before the death of Liz’s dead sister, Juliet, and weather the storm in the charming southern Lowcountry?

    As long as these belles have their cocktails, gourmet meals, pearls, and gloves, and make a good show of it -–they will pull it off!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    The Problems are Hidden Dorothy Benton Frank writes novels

    The Problems are Hidden Dorothy Benton Frank writes novels primarily set in the Low Country of South Carolina, usually around Charleston. Typically, they are interesting and enjoyable stories. This novel, The Hurricane Sisters A Novel, touches on many social problems through several different characters. The writer has ingeniously infused the characters with problems, all of which lead to the surprising conclusion. The book begins slowly, but when the “family secrets” begin to be revealed, the story picks up and begins to move along. I do not recommend this book to young people. In my opinion, it touches on problems about which young people need not be reading. Unfortunately, many young people have seen these problems all too often. Frank, through this book, seeks to help with these issues and try to put an end to them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    This book about Author's cause..

    I, as a rule really like this authors work.
    I was anticipating her latest book.
    But, she was writing about a cause that meant a lot to her,
    Not to me.. I didn't find it a good read.
    Very disappointed..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    hurricane sisters

    Excellent lowcountry story. it does include some real life information that does make a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    You can always count on Dorothea Benton Frank to deliver a terri

    You can always count on Dorothea Benton Frank to deliver a terrific summer read to hunker down with on the beach. Her contribution this year is The Hurricane Sisters, which once again features a gorgeous cover.
    We meet eighty-year-old Maisie Pringle, celebrating her birthday with her driver-turned-boyfriend Skipper, who is a much younger (65!) man. He and Maisie are very happy together, much to the chagrin of Maisie's daughter Liz, who at first glance is kind of a stick-in-the-mud.
    Liz's twenty-something daughter Ashley lives in the family's somewhat rundown beach house on an island off of Charleston, South Carolina. Ashley works in an art gallery for ten dollars an hour and aspires to be an artist and visit Rome, Paris and New York. Her college friend Mary Beth can't find a teaching job, so she works for a caterer and lives with Ashley.
    Liz is married to Clayton, who works in finance and spends most of his week in New York City. They also have a son, Clayton, called Ivy because he is Clayton IV in the family. Ivy lives in San Francisco with his business and life partner James, and though his parents had a difficult time with the fact that he is gay (they sent him to a conversion camp when he was a teen), they all seem to have made their way back to each other.
    Ashley has a crush on a state senator, Porter, who is a bit John Edwards/John Kennedy-ish. She dreams of being his Jackie Kennedy, and when she meets him at an event and they start dating, it seems that her dreams may come true.
    But Porter proves to be very controlling. He tells Ashley how to speak, how to act, and is generally very critical of her. Mary Beth and Maisie warn Ashley about Porter, but Ashley makes excuses for his behavior. When one of Porter's ex-girlfriend's tries to warn Ashley, she chalks it up to jealousy until the situation worsens.
    Frank tackles the issue of domestic violence here, in a manner that may surprise people. South Carolina has the highest rate of women murdered by their husband/boyfriend, and Frank shows us how insidious domestic violence can be.
    It doesn't just happen to women who are trapped, have children to support and nowhere to turn. It can happen to an intelligent, educated woman from a good family who should know better because her mother works for a domestic violence program. Frank definitely gives the reader something to think deeply about, and even offers the reader a way to help at the end of the book.
    Of course, she still has her fabulous sense of Southern humor. I cackle at her one-liners, like this one from Liz, who says "Let me tell you, my friend, the gene pool is a mighty big place and like they say, there's literally no lifeguard."
    Frank also again has an interesting take on marriage, and how difficult it can be and how much care you must take to stay connected, like she did in her last book, The Last Original Wife.  And again, I got lots of great restaurant suggestion for my Charleston Pinterest board.
    There is so much in this fantastic book, told from the alternating perspectives of Maisie, Liz, Ashley and Clayton, that I would love to read a prequel, telling us more about Maisie, Liz and Liz's sister Juliet who died young. I feel there is an amazing story there as well.
    The only problem with my Dorothea Benton Frank novels is that they all have sunscreen on the pages from turning them so quickly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Good book

    Easy read. Well written. Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    I had never read any books by this offer and, based on some of t

    I had never read any books by this offer and, based on some of these reviews, will probably try one of her others. I didn't like this book. It had promise, but it almost seemed like the domestic violence theme was an afterthought - coming in late in the story and then becoming the story. The bit about the dead sister Juliet was really out of left field - almost like the author decided at the last minute that would be the fate of the dead sister. It just seemed very contrived. Liked the llamas, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Hooked on my nook

    Great book cant say enough about it It touches on a subject that needs more support and funding Bravo Ms Frank for shedding light on a topic still hiden in the shadows Could put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    great book

    i have enjoyed all her books would recommed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Good book, nice read.

    Although I enjoyed the book, I did not think it was up to Ms. Frank's usual high standards and that was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Anonymous

    Horrible book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Not worth the price

    So disappointed in this book. The book's premise and characters had potential but she couldn't make it come alive. Flat, uninteresting characters. Predictable storyline. Dialogue unrealistic. I just got aggravated reading it because it was so poorly crafted. How did this get published!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    Great book!!  Recommend Very Highly!!!

    Great book!!  Recommend Very Highly!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Not one of her better books

    Just not interesting. A chore to get thru. Characters annoying and not believable. Her other books are much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    A great summer read!

    This book kept my interest from the very first paragraph. The issues that confronted the sisters and their family were relevant to today's world. Reading about their approaches to these issues and how they worked to solve them resulted in a real "page turner" for the reader. I could hardly put down the book! This is another of Frank's terrific novels. I think everyone will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    She's back, great read.

    DBF has another winner. She just gets better and better. Love following the lives of the "sisters" as they prepare/repair their lives. Of course the setting is wonderful too. One of those books that you won't want to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3