Customer Reviews for

The Husband List

Average Rating 3.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

posted by bookholiday on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Really?

I have read over 20 books written by Janet Evanovich. I did not see any of her writing in this book. The story is only a fair historical romance. It is only worth $3, if that. Definately NOT worth the 14.99 I paid for it.

posted by BarbT1 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Really?

    I have read over 20 books written by Janet Evanovich. I did not see any of her writing in this book. The story is only a fair historical romance. It is only worth $3, if that. Definately NOT worth the 14.99 I paid for it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Tedious. I love Janet Evanovich. I find no evidence of her havin

    Tedious. I love Janet Evanovich. I find no evidence of her having written any part of this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

    Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I would rather read the dictionary than anymore Evanovich books.

    I would rather read the dictionary than anymore Evanovich books. The whole genre has been ridden to death!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Love it!

    Just read sample! I am a fan of Janet evanovich and fan of historical romance. And put them together is awesome!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    If you like Janet Evanovich do NOT buy this book. The character

    If you like Janet Evanovich do NOT buy this book. The characters were 1 dimension, the book was slow paced. This is what happens when the publisher tries to push a mediocre book by slapping the name of a popular author on it. If Janet Evanovich even wrote a chapter heading I would be very much surprised!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Loved this love story!

    Loved this love story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    LOVED IT! Stayed up till 2am to read it all in one sitting, I ha

    LOVED IT! Stayed up till 2am to read it all in one sitting, I haven't done that in a while. Hoping this will turn into a series

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    This was as bad as a Harliquin Romance novel.  My husband and I

    This was as bad as a Harliquin Romance novel.  My husband and I are a big Janet Evanovich fan and we love the Stephanie Plum series.  She should stick to what she does great.  This book was boring and not worth the time to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    BORING !!!! OK so here we go again..... I had hoped with an addi

    BORING !!!! OK so here we go again..... I had hoped with an additional writer, a new book of hers would be better than the last FEW of the S. Plum series....... WRONG. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Ebor

    Boring.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Simple and Boring

    Almost ridiculous. I would not have finished reading it except I paid for it and cannot get a refund.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    The mother was horrible and the story was unbelievable. If Jack

    The mother was horrible and the story was unbelievable. If Jack had been poor it would have been more understandable if Caroline had kept acquiescing. Ending was way too quick and totally anticlimactic.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    This has everything, comedy,romance,intrigue and set in the 1800's.

    Not the typical Janet Evanovich, and it was excellent. Highly recommend this book if you love inrigue, romance and comedy. The characters are her typical quirky people and catch your interest and keep it. Loved, Loved, Loved it!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Greatly disappointed! I read "Love in a nutshell" and

    Greatly disappointed! I read "Love in a nutshell" and enjoyed it for the most part...my Grandfather had a cabin in that part of Michigan so it was 'old home week' for me...however "The Husband List" was boring!

    I didn't make it half through! I was expecting more Janet wit. Or zany characters or SOMETHING!!! I will not buy another of these combo books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I think this is the worst book I read in a while.  There is no J

    I think this is the worst book I read in a while.  There is no Janet Evanovich and is nothing like her other book she "wrote" with Dorien Kelly. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I was disappointed that this was not at all a Janet Evanovich wo

    I was disappointed that this was not at all a Janet Evanovich worthy story. It was a mediocre love story at best and definately not entertaining as I have come to expect from Janet Evanovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Out of sorts

    I have read all of Janet's books. This is the first time I just wanted to put the book down and never pick it up again. In fact I did put it down for at least 3 weeks. Sorry to say, it was boring, ridiculus thought processing, hard to keep reading. Even the title is misleading. Poor characters and whimpy descriptions plus the title of this book is way off. I comsume books as part of my daily routine and strongly wish I could regurgitate this one from my long list of readings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    I was one of the lucky winners in the Goodreads give away of an

    I was one of the lucky winners in the Goodreads give away of an ARC The Husband List. I wasn't sure what to expect as I have not read a historical romance of Janet Evanovich's before. It was something different from what I am usually reading which is present day romance or christian fictions. 




    From the start of the book I new that it was going to be good as I bonded quite quickly with the main Character Caroline. In many ways I was like her when I was younger which kept me interested to see how her story would work out and what gentleman would win her hand in marriage. 




    Without giving too much away with my review I would say that once again Janet did a great job of mixing mystery with romance and now has added an historical aspect to it. I found that after reading this book and not the first one I would like to go back and read the first one to see what more I could learn of Caroline's family. However, you do not have to read the first book to love this one. Can't wait to see what new book Janet comes out with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Another side of Janet

    My first thought was that somene stole our Janet but it wasn't too far into the book before her usual flair showed itself. Her humor and spirited heroine were there ......just in a different time. Fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5