Customer Reviews for

The Husband List

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

Excellent book. Thoroughly kept my attention. 

posted by bookholiday on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Really?

I have read over 20 books written by Janet Evanovich. I did not see any of her writing in this book. The story is only a fair historical romance. It is only worth $3, if that. Definately NOT worth the 14.99 I paid for it.

posted by 7076379 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Tedious. I love Janet Evanovich. I find no evidence of her havin

    Tedious. I love Janet Evanovich. I find no evidence of her having written any part of this book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    The mother was horrible and the story was unbelievable. If Jack

    The mother was horrible and the story was unbelievable. If Jack had been poor it would have been more understandable if Caroline had kept acquiescing. Ending was way too quick and totally anticlimactic.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I was disappointed that this was not at all a Janet Evanovich wo

    I was disappointed that this was not at all a Janet Evanovich worthy story. It was a mediocre love story at best and definately not entertaining as I have come to expect from Janet Evanovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Disappointing. I expect MUCH better from Janet Evanovich, even w

    Disappointing. I expect MUCH better from Janet Evanovich, even when she's paired with another author.

    The premise of the book is fun and didn't feel stale. Our witty heiress comes off as believable as she acknowledges the activities, gowns, jewels and society reviews attendant to her wealthy station but neither makes a big deal of nor disdains them. She is essentially a good girl, respecting the wishes and expectations of her parents while engineering just enough freedom for herself to be interesting and a bit naughty. She isn't melodramatic and Jack is very much an Evanovich man as he evolves - without intending to - from amusement to protectiveness to love.

    Those aspects of the book were enjoyable and made for a largely fun read. However, having just finished the book, I am ANNOYED enough that I'm compelled to write my first book review.

    The book starts right out and we spend the first 271 pages leading inevitably to Caroline being trapped like the quintessential heroine-tied-to-the-train-tracks in need of rescue. She's a strong-willed woman able enough to protect herself physically, but is bound by filial duty to follow her parents' intent that she marry the villain. On page 272 we get the first real move toward changing the circumstances as Jack confronts her father. However, the actual rescue takes place in the last 13 pages when dad announces the perfect husband is a cad and Jack is their sort after all. Voila, she's released from the marriage. Really? This isn't a murder mystery where the reveal is the end. It's a romance but we're left with absolutely nothing except a tied-up villain and 1 page epilogue. Where is the closure? You know, the part when they finally come together as a couple, reveling in the wonder and satisfaction of their now-secure bond. The book may be as rated-G as a romance gets, but at least spend a few pages before or after the wedding concluding their happy story. Leaving that whole part out, leaving it implied and unsaid, leaves me feeling cheated. We might as well have had: Tie him up, dear. Marry me. Happily ever after. The end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Big fat meh.

    This book is just all right. A good romance book would be EITHER dramatic, funny, or suspenseful. This book wasn't dramatic enough, funny enough, or suspenseful enough to be good. Sure, it had a few cute scenes, but this book was just really bland in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Slow to develop - not the best work

    this book was slow to develop, almost boring. Usually I can read one of these books in a couple of hours, this book took me 4 days of on and off reading.....I just couldn't get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Nothing what you would expect.

    This was definitely not your usual Evanovich novel. I think I have read all of her books and have enjoyed each and every one (with the exception of her graphic novel). This book is a typical historical romantic novel...not at all her usual style. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Not enough of janet

    Just a nice little story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    hmmm, I absolutely love Janet but she has to drop Dorien. The b

    hmmm, I absolutely love Janet but she has to drop Dorien. The book would of been better written w/out her, I'm so sure. Also, given the fact that it's the first time that Janet Evanovich writes in that timeline... at least I suppose. Sometimes I also wonder if she let the other author write the book and just to help her out she also put her name on the book too. If so bad move. But, I just don't know how the other author could be a romance writter, I mean really...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1