Customer Reviews for

The Husband's Secret

Average Rating 4
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(432)

4 Star

(278)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

The lives of three women who casually know one another are about

The lives of three women who casually know one another are about to collide in ways none of them could have ever expected.




Cecilia Fitzpatrick is happily married with three beautiful daughters, runs a successful Tupperware business and leads the parent organization ...
The lives of three women who casually know one another are about to collide in ways none of them could have ever expected.




Cecilia Fitzpatrick is happily married with three beautiful daughters, runs a successful Tupperware business and leads the parent organization at the local elementary school. Cecilia seems to be one of those ‘perfect’ women who appear to flawlessly juggle it all with poise, grace and a smile. 




Tess Curtis has returned to her mother’s home in Sydney, after receiving devastating news from her husband. Tess is not sure what comes next, but she was not prepared to run into her old flame, Connor Whitby. When things begin to heat back up between the two of them, she learns of his secret past.




Rachel Crowley is consumed by grief over the loss of her daughter twenty years ago. She has found her only real joy is being a grandmother, but when her son and daughter-in-law surprise her with news –it’s just too much. Rachel is again filled with bitterness and heartbreak. Hasn’t life already cheated Rachel enough?




The novel begins with Cecelia holding an envelope with the words, “For my wife, Cecilia Fitzpatrick. To be opened in the event of my death.” The thing is her husband, John-Paul, is still very much alive. When she asks him about it, he tells her he wrote the letter after the birth of their first daughter. He explained the letter is full of silly sentimental stuff. Believing him, she puts the letter away.




When Cecilia’s husband suddenly returns home early from his business trip and begins frantically searching for the letter, she realizes there is much more to the letter than what he led her to believe. She knows she needs to find out what he is keeping from her. With a quick slice from a letter opener a Pandora’s Box explodes!




A secret is revealed so shocking it causes the lives of the women to spiral out of control. As Cecelia digests what she learns, her perfect world begins to crumble all around her.




There are secrets: big secrets, little secrets and there are choices. This is a novel about secrets and what we chose to do with them. Truly the most heart-wrenching stories I’ve read. I was able to connect with Cecilia, Rachel and Tess, the characters were so vulnerable and their feelings so raw. At times I had to remind myself I was reading a novel. I was not sure what I would do in any of their circumstances, and that bothered me. Usually I come away with a pretty strong opinion of how characters should have responded, but this novel digs a little deeper goes a little darker.
As the story unfolded, I found myself grappling with questions like: What I would do? Is it better to know the truth? Should you always tell the truth? Can you live with a lie?




The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty tells an amazing story of three women as they deal with unforeseen truths. The novel is written with alternating perspectives of all three women. Be ready to sit down with a phenomenal book that is fast paced and emotionally driven—you will not want to put it down! Be warned, just when you think it’s all over the epilogue begins and it is so powerful it blew me away! I am highly recommending.

posted by anovelreview_blogspot_com on September 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

SERIOUSLY?

Worst book I have ever had the displeasure to lay eyes on. Absolutely ridiculous. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

posted by 17541138 on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Great Start, Melodramatic Ending

    I was hooked from the beginning of the book. No spoilers here, so forgive me if this sounds vague...but I was even happy that the secret was revealed early on. It added to the dramatic tension. The book connects the lives of three women whose lives are static in different ways until life-changing experiences rock their worlds and connect them to each other's lives. The book is best when the connections and complications are building and interweaving in complex and suspenseful ways. It's fascinating to become part of Cecilia, Tess, and Rachel's interior lives. I was absorbed as they reacted to the challenges life threw their way. That said, the last third of the book, and particularly the ending, is so melodramatic that it let me down with a thud. I understand that it's a best-seller, not literature, but really! Some creativity in the resolution of these women's problems would have made this a great read. So, to make an analogy, I'd say it starts out as a good indie movie and ends up as a bad Saturday night cable rerun. I say "rerun" because I felt I had seen it before even though it actually was my first time experiencing it. I did love the Australian setting and the cool Aussie word usage, though. Since this book is about how women face challenges that change their lives in a moment and who develop and change with these life-altering events, book clubs who like to focus on characters and the way they handle challenges would love the complexities of this book. As for reading another book by Liane Moriarty, I would be sure to read reviews that commented on the ending of the book before I spent my time and money on it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Recommended

    While some may consider this Chic lit, I thought is was more than that and it held my interest. Definitely worth reading by men and women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another overrated hyped up "must read" book. It was o

    Another overrated hyped up "must read" book. It was ok....it reminds me of the tv series Desperate Housewives. I wasn't bored but it wasn't all that interesting either. I found it predictable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Not as good as I thought it would be. I knew what the secret was

    Not as good as I thought it would be. I knew what the secret was almost immediately. The epilogue was very good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    A little disappointed.

    An o.k. read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Very good read

    I really enjoyed this book it was an easy read but still kept my interest and at times I didn't want to put it down. First time I have read anything by this author and am going to check out her newest book next.
    Avid Reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Slow to start

    It was slow to start and you don't find out how everyone is connected till many chapters in. I didn't care for the subjects changing so frequently but overall it was a good book. It does make you think about how your actions affect others. The secret blow me away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    The title of the book itself sparked my interest. However the bo

    The title of the book itself sparked my interest. However the book overall is not what I expected. Its not a bad read, but I was expecting a jaw dropping secret.(Something extremely intense) Needless to say I did enjoy the book but it was not as "great" has others mentioned. In my opinion, Big Little Lies has the drama the action and the suspense that The husband's Secret lacked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    The Husband's

    This book brings to mind the saying," What goes around comes around" . As for how it was written I thought there was too many subject changes too fast. I would get interested in a story line and then there was another subject change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Read for book club

    The first 3 chapters all introduce a different family group. I had a hard time following it but did eventually realize that they would all be interconnected. Wasn't sure if I was liking it but had to keep reading to see what the husband's secret was. When you finally do find out it is a shocker. Not sure if I liked the ending though. I did like the last chapter with the break down of what might have happened if things had been just a little different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Fear of commitment has always prevented me from joining a book c

    Fear of commitment has always prevented me from joining a book club. The idea of obligating myself to finish a read by a time certain unnerves me, mainly because I have enough obligations and one involving my me-time, de-stress pleasure always seemed to defeat the purpose of reading.

    Nevertheless, when the non-threateningly named Goodreads group, Casual Readers, chose The Husband’s Secret to read, I thought it might be a good time to give book club reading a whirl. This was an easy read with a positively attention-grabbing  premise, but for me it was a tad too predicable and the story a bit padded with unnecessary, uninteresting storylines.

    While there are several storylines featuring different characters, the glue holding everything together is St. Angela’s Catholic School, where Cecilia and John-Paul Fitzpatrick went to school as do their children. Of course, the Fitzpatrick’s story is the most compelling and dynamic , and I was immediately hooked by the dilemma Cecilia found herself in, and I couldn’t help but wonder what I’d do in a similar circumstance.  My answers (like Cecilia) were not easily come by, and Ms. Moriarty did a fine job fleshing out all the issues and Cecilia’s torment. I could feel what this character was feeling, and what more can a reader ask for?

    Another storyline that engrossed me was Rachel’s, an elderly woman working at the school. Without giving too much away, she is wracked with seething anger and sadness over a tragedy that befell her years ago. Rachel cannot let go, particularly because she does not know whom to blame for her misfortune.  I could also feel this character’s pain and anger quite easily and was quite interested in seeing if and how she resolved it.

    Unfortunately, there was one storyline that didn’t impress me as much.  Tess, a former classmate of the Fitzpatricks, comes home to help her ailing mother and flee marital woes. Lord knows, I am a fan of parallel storylines, but Tess’ character and her dilemma really did not hold my interest and felt more like a somewhat clumsy contrivance to introduce the character of Connor, who helps add to the main mystery of the story. This wouldn’t be so bad except Tess’ story takes up quite a bit of time for someone not very integral to the tale, and it is a rather boring story. I simply didn’t care about her or her marriage.

    So, if I liked 2 out of 3 storylines, what’s my beef, you might well ask. In a nutshell, predictability. It didn’t take a genius to figure out John Paul’s secret. It didn’t take a genius to figure out the source of Rachel’s pain. As I read, I simply felt I know how the story would unfold, and I was not proved wrong.

    Still, because Cecilia’s and Rachel’s stories were so compelling, I did enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Entertaining

    This was a quick read. Entertaining with some food for thought that lingers after the final page. I might have preferred any one of these women to be the central character and to feel more connected to her, to delve more deeply into her psyche and her struggles. But jumping among the three did keep things moving along. Would recommend for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Interesting story

    It took awhile to get to know the characters in this story, and to see how they were inter-related. Eventually is all came together and was worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Husband's Secret - Quite Thought-Provoking For a more in de

    The Husband's Secret - Quite Thought-Provoking

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals! 




    I wouldn't really say that I struggled this book, but I certainly didn't see all the hype and why I was on a hold list for at least three months at the library to get this book. Well, I can understand the hype, what...with a Synopsis like that? Laine Moriarty and her publishers definitely didn't go wrong when they wrote that! It certainly drew me in and made me feel like I just HAD to read this book.




    Since completing The Husband's Secret, I can't say that I am disappointed that I read this book. There were parts of it that drug on a little bit for me, but mid-way, the story really picked up, especially when the big secret was revealed. I was actually quite shocked that the secret was revealed as early as it was in the story, and even though it was revealed mid-way through the story, I was happy to see that there was plenty of questionable items and ah ha moments that kept the story going throughout the end.




    I did find, at least listening to the audio version, that the characters were a little hard to follow for most of the first half of the book until finally I just repeated the names and what was going on with them over and over until it was ingrained in my mind!




    I don't usually like audio books that have a foreign accent, but I found the Australian accent of Caroline Lee to be very charming. I thought that she did a great job personifying the characters of the story. I also thought that she did well switching between the story lines of the different characters.




    I can tell you that the big secret wasn't at all what I was thinking! It did surprise me quite a bit. I also have to say that some of the story with Tess, Will and Felicity was irritating to me, just to some of the absolutely outlandish things that were said by Will and Felicity!




    I think that Liane Moriarty really captured what she meant to capture with this book, and that was to make the reader's really see and think about what secrets can do to themselves, their families, and other people involved around them. I have to sit and ask myself, what would I have done if I would find out secrets such as these characters were keeping, and I honestly can't say that I have an answer to what my reaction and what the outcome would be. They certainly were all difficult situations!




    Overall, I am glad that I read this book. It was quite thought provoking throughout the entire story and made me feel engaged while I was listening. I enjoyed the narrator and respect the thought process that occurs within the text. They hit a grand slam with the Synopsis and capturing the audience's attention...how utterly clever! I would most likely read another book by Liane Moriary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Good read

    Fast read. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    The verdict is still out....

    I thought this was a pretty good read but was disappointed in the ending. The author weaves the stories of the characters together in a way that kept me reading.

    I did, however, feel like the epilogue had more action than the book....as if the author hit 375 pages and then realized she needed to wrap everything up in the remaining 2 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Big disappointment.   I found it very bland and was surprised ho

    Big disappointment.  
    I found it very bland and was surprised how ALL the characters were 
    so passive and self-pitying (maybe that is true to life, but makes for a
    depressing and boring story).  One small part of the book (the twist at the end)
    was thought provoking, just wish the rest of the book was as interesting.  I gave three stars because I did finish instead of ditching, which I kind of wish I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Intriguing plot line

    I thought this was a unique plot for a book. Certainly believable enough to be a true story! Not sure I liked the end but don't really know what would have improved it. Guess you can't expect a tidy ending to a messy situation. I have recommended this book to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Pretty good

    Pretty good book. The epiloge was the most thought provoking part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    interesting

    Makes me glad my life is semi-simple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6